We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

we stayed at positano but one day we want to visit ravello. we came there and we visit this hotel. there is beautiful interior and amazing gardens. they have pool with most beautiful view i ever see. if you can i think it is place to see. they have everything for relax. that is most romantic place in that area. very nice and interesting for couples. it is at center soo you can walk thrue the town and after that you can have your own piece and heaven. everything is full of flowers and everything is green. very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUNA0507KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    60
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
108
437
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a relaxing and beautiful place to stay. In our opinion the best hotel in the area, and Ravello the best place away from the crowds and traffic of Amalfi and the coast. Fantastic views from almost all the hotel with free courtesy bus to Amalfi and Portafino. Also appreciated the hotel's free boat trip along the coast (with chance to swim in the sea). Food excellent - breakfast and dinner outstanding - even 3 imaginative and different vegetarian options on the main evening menu which changed nightly - which we appreciated. Husband will not stay in hotel without free wifi which initially did not work in bedroom when we arrived, but within 30 mins this was rectified and worked perfectly the rest of our stay. Staff take ownership of problem and follow through. Well trained and very helpful and friendly staff who make you feel important without interfering or imposing themselves upon your privacy. Expensive but outstanding - great for that special or romantic occasion. Loved it! Thank you Hotel Caruso.

Room Tip: If it states Garden View and is a lot cheaper, make sure it is not in the annexe which is set the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juniperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

One cannot stay at the Caruso without mentioning the food, it is simply sublime!!! Fabulous robust flavours, all produce is sourced locally and herbs are grown in the hotel grounds. Every dish is faultless and presented beautifully - even the breads are irresistible! The maitre d is exceptional a lovely mix of utter professionalism along with expertise. I simply could not wait for dinner!! Even the cocktails are served with passion - it's all in the detail - anything less than perfection will simply just not do!!!

Now: why the title of my review? Why not: utter perfection? However, there seems little point in writing a review and avoiding those thorny issues. The property is without doubt beautiful, the staff are exceptional, the pool is pretty but my goodness I was shocked by the lack lustre wellness centre. Surely a hotel that strives so hard for perfection ( and succeeds ) cannot allow such a poor offering to remain ??? Now to be fair I didn't have a treatment but nor would I want one in such surroundings. I hope it's on the agenda of " things we have to do " marked urgent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marchmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on the second leg of our holiday to two Orient Express hotels in Italy. We had booked a sea view room suite. In the first room we were given you had to walk to the end of a long balcony to get a glimpse of the sea and in the second room we had a sea view but the balcony was overshadowed by a huge concrete overhang so didn't get the sun. Maybe just unlucky but at the prices charged felt let down. However despite this the pool is beautiful and enjoyed the restaurants but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband I recently joined some close friends for a week at the Hotel Caruso to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. We thought twice about the cost when we booked but decided you only live once! I am happy to say the visit to Hotel Caruso was worth every cent. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff attentive and the dining was great. I miss sitting on the outdoor dining room balcony over looking the ocean in the morning...sipping a great cup of expresso and enjoying the tremedous breakfast buffet. The hiking and attractions in the area can keep you busy for days. What a fabulous experience!! I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Breathtaking views of the mountains, ocean and amalfi landscape. Te infinity pool and gardens are magical...

Attentive service by everyone hired by the hotel.

Great food: breakfast, lunch and dinner (all while enjoying the above mentioned views)

Spacious room, balcony/ terrace and bathroom. Very well decorated and clean room (we stayed in a Junior suite sea view)

Reception manager (Carlo Soldani) went out of his way to please us.

Note that this on the expensive side but worth every penny.

It was my first stay but certainly will not be the last.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc0b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were married here on 9/18/2013. Absolutely wonderful and luxurious! Can't wait to come back. Staff, service, food, facilities, views, rooms...everything was fantastic. The best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msb3536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing