We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“LOVED THE CARUSO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“LOVED THE CARUSO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is our first time staying at an Orient Express property and for hotel snobs, we were really impressed. Check in was efficient and was given a tour of the entire property which was a nice touch. The gardens are beautiful. While our room was not a suite, we felt it was large and met our needs perfectly. We received a great rate from platinum concierge which included breakfast and a spa credit, so I suggest checking with them before you book directly. Besides the wonderful breakfast, the hotel provides complimentary transportation into Positano and Amalfi along with a complimentary boat ride daily along the Amalfi Coast. We did the boat ride twice and enjoyed it each time. The hotel does not advertise the boat ride so you need to inquire on the times. Lunch at the pool was excellent and as expected expensive. We had the antipasto buffet that was fresh and light and my husband had the pizza. It was nice to spend half a day at the hotel as it is very relaxing and scenery is spectacular. The town of Ravello is charming and did not feel as touristy as Sorrento. We cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstclass-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    59
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
100
400
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First ravello and surroundings are stunning. The hotel is up to a good level very classic and traditional but not outdated. It fits the environment but i prefer a slightly more modern touch. Finally a top hotel with friendly staff good service and no arrogance. Internet included (and working). I prfer the jr suite over the suite. The suite does not have great views and a borring bedroom.

Room Tip: As always check the room to see if you like it. Ie 31 and 41 are both jr suites but one is larger wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcoVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Caruso is a beautiful hotel in beautiful Ravello, Italy. We stayed in a junior suite with a terrace and sea view. The room was nice, terrace small and dark. Management told us on check in that they would show us other rooms the following day but they never did. Food in restaurant was mediocre. We had the meal plan and this did not include the casual poolside restaurant. We ate lunch twice in restaurant- both times I was given the incorrect menu item. My husband's dinner appetizer had an ant crawling in it one night. When these issues are brought to the staffs' attention, the inital reaction is that we were wrong, then it would be handled but never apologized for.Breakfast was good. Housekeeping was excellent.
Concierge made us restaurant reservations that did not exist when we arrived at restaurant. Shuttle never arrived to pick us up in Amalfi- when I called I was told that I wasn't in the right spot!
A drink at the hotel bar is 28 euros.
Our room was over 1700
euros/day. Just not worth it for the level of service they provided. If you are going take least expensive room and do not take half board option. The times we dined outside hotel in small local restaurants were much more enjoyable.
The pool and lounge areas were beautiful .,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have traveled the world for the past 35 years, and this Hotel is one of the best I have ever experienced. Not only because the view of the Amalfi coast is breathtaking, not just because the property is amazingly well kept, not even because the food is divine. It's mostly because of the human factor. The staff is warm and welcoming, very professional without being overbearing or intrusive. The people at the Hotel Caruso make you feel like you are family, you are welcome to their home. My wife and I stayed in room 23, interesting layout, with a wonderful view from the balcony. We loved the sunlight in our room in the morning, the smiles of the waiters and the maitre d' at breakfast, the same smiles that followed us in the magnificent infinity pool, the hallways and that had greeted us at our arrival. The food was superb, the service was impeccable and the atmosphere so romantic, it would place a smile on the face of the grumpiest person. I read some of the comments, and can't believe anybody would rate this hotel less than excellent. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel and thank all the staff for being so wonderful during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massimo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful views and an idyllic setting make this a great "place to be". The gardens are immaculate, interesting to explore and great to look at. The pool and adjacent lawns and pool bar/restaurant make it easy to spend relaxing days here. The rooms are classic and excellently maintained, with generous bathrooms and several with private terraces.

The staff is always warm, professional and knowledgeable.

You can easily spend the days here and exploring the small town of Ravello, but venturing to nearby Amalfi, and from there taking the ferry to Positano are definitely worthwhile diversions.

Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LF3Wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partridge Green
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Caruso , located a very short walk from the village centre of Ravello, is a top end and very professionally run hotel. The service ethos is clearly second nature to all its staff, and is delivered with a sense of genuine warmth, with any mild hiccups dealt with immediately - service and service recovery were great. The facilities were very good, including pool, good eating (especially at the pool restaurant) and gym. The complimentary shuttle transport to Amalfi and Positano was efficient and timely. Ravello itself was a perfect destination for us, with choice of places to eat , good local shopping, and especially with the music festival in full swing,

Room Tip: We had a garden room, which was discrete and quiet. AC was efficient and quiet. Housekeeping was exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin - Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Caruso from the 24th - 25th of June. On the 24th, it was our 20th wedding anniversary. On checking in, we were surprised with a nice bottle of sparkling wine and a selection of wonderful fruits. Furthermore, we were upgraded to a garden suite with beautiful views of the Amalfi Coast. Overall, our stay was excellent and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be coming back next year

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatoNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
6.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#2 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing