We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The rooms are fabulous, most with incredible views. For breakfast there is a great buffet but you can order off the menu as well. Housekeeping is perfect and discreet (pet peeve of mine). The concierges were extremely helpful. We had some issues with reservations-- we were supposed to get to Capri after our stay in Ravello, but the seas were so rough ferries were cancelled. They were so helpful getting the issues worked out! The hotel offers a boat ride along the coast that goes as far as Positano. Don't miss it! Nothing like seeing that coast from the water (or from the infinity pool)....

Room Tip: Views are wonderful from most rooms but if you are a light sleeper avoid a room with windows facing...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesBocaRaton_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel Caruso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 764 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although myself and my husband didn't stay here as we stayed in Villa Fraulo we had breakfast in The Caruso. It was fab. The service was excellent (although the manager seemed to be a bit grumpy!), the views were amazing and the breakast was yummm, well worth the price. I had a walk around during breakfast and I would stay here in a heart beat, that pool... wow. This is on my list of places to return to.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beirt_Opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Caruso on 5/30. Thru my travel agent I upgraded to a large suite at additional expense. The large suite does not have the views of less expense ones-205 is outstanding- plus my desk area and sitting area have had ants for the last 3 days. While I discussed with the management as well as my travel agent, they could not fix the problem despite putting ugly ant traps out in the room. While they offered to move us we declined because we were out touring all day, each day and neither my wife nor I wanted to take the time to repack ourselves and we are uncomfortable for hotel employees to move us unless we repacked ourselves(we are in Europe for a month so we have plenty of luggage being Americans:)).
Second issue, do not eat dinner in the main dining room. Expensive, poor service, mediocre food, sommelier who was not helpful. A major disappointment at high prices. Since it was raining we could not eat on the balcony and sitting in the back of the restaurant- there are 6 of us- with no view and mediocre food made for a very disappointing evening. The next day it was raining so we went to Positano and had lunch at Le Sirenuse- great food- fresh and wonderfully prepared, great service, and a beautiful view.
Breakfast is wonderful, great buffet and nice service. The lounge is nice- but why have dining tables in a lounge/ bar area vs. low seats like most lounges? The piano music, while too loud, is nice. Service in lounge was god but no Vin Santo in Italy???
Last time we were here we stayed in Palasso Sassoon, now called Palasso Avimo. I would recommend checking it out prior to booking Caruso.
Finally, although the GM knows we are disappointed by the ants and the experience at the restaurant, he has not taken the time to search us out to discuss in 3 days. Not great service or it shows a lack of caring from the top person.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
8  Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Though we had the opportunity to talk whilst you were still at Hotel Caruso, I want to thank you very much for taking the time to review the first two days of your 5-day stay with us.

You were travelling with two couples and had such a "tight" daily programme arranged that - you are right - I was barely able to meet with you. On the second evening of your stay with us, for example, I was at the Front Desk waiting for you to come back from your daily excursion to thoroughly discuss the issues you were experiencing but you were not able to stop since you were running late for dinner.

We finally met and spoke and I have to thank you very much for your feedback no doubt a way for us to try to always improve the standard of service we aim to deliver at Hotel Caruso.

I was happy to hear on your departure day that you liked the destination and enjoyed your time with us as well.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

stayed 3-6 2013 may just top notch from start to finish very friendly felt very welcome not too stuffy like some upmarket hotels all the staff remembered our names from the start which i think shows some skill the property is just stunning from the pool to the incredable gardens the food i thought is also faultless other than that the menu does not change, it is all done to a very high standard my advise would be to go bed and breakfast as there are some nice bars and resturants in revello within walking distance if you fancy something more basic and not so pricey? it all comes down to how deep your pockets are i think for me it was a special treat for a wedding anervirsary as one other reviewer put it it is eyewateringly expensinve but worth every penny, if you can afford it and not sure i would say go for it it truly is as good as it looks

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cliff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A short 45 minutes from the Naples airport, this property sports one of the most famous infinity pools in the world and a beautiful Wellness Centre. The rooms all have a view of the sea (only 45 rooms) and most have decks & terraces. My hideaway was the lone suite at the very top of the hotel. I walked out on my terrace on moonlit nights and gazed up & down the full Amalfi Bay.

The breakfast served each morning is the most extensive fresh buffet of cheeses under a glass case, sliced meats, fresh fruits and about 15 types of fresh bread, I've ever seen. If that were not enough, you can order a full breakfast and all the Café Lattes you can drink, the best coffee I ever tasted.

The service was impeccable, the staff all knew my name. The rooms were attended with perfection, although I never saw maids anywhere. The pool attendants kept our water bottles full and moved my chaise several times. The pool buffet was to die for with fresh tomato dishes, a pizza oven, fish dishes and full lunch service.

Its a short walk over cobble stone streets to Plaza del Duomo square, where café shops and quaint restaurants take up most of the square, where you can sit back and let the Mediterranean magic wash over you.

Hotel Caruso will arrange a complimentary boat excursion along the coast where you can even dive into the blue waters and dine aboard the vessel. This was a highlight of my trip. The boat staff was friendly and accommodating.

I long to return to this elegant castle of unrivalled beauty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Romantic_Traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Caruso during our honeymoon to Italy last September and it was out of this world in every sense. The staff and service is flawless, the views from practically every spot in the hotel to the Mediterranean or to the mountains are unreal, and the incredibly fresh food at the breakfast buffet and for lunch by poolside are both to die for. By far, the BEST part of our honeymoon. A real dream come true.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMBonati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location was stellar(5) the Views are exqusite. The staff beyond helpful the breakfast was fresh fruit at peak of ripeness and plentiful. Full breakfast prepared for you and great cappaccinos. The room was fantastic. No complaints, except I made a call from the room and it cost $180.00. They did not back off on the charges. There should be a warning. I will hopefully return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfromeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: $837 - $2,840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing