We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Near perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Near perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Faultless service and stunning facilities including one of the most incredible views from a pool that you will find anywhere. We also had an incredible dinner here that remains one of my culinary highlights of Italy. Without a doubt, you get what you pay for... a lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    59
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
100
400
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our family of 5 enjoyed a wonderful 3 nights in September at this magnificent Hotel. The highlights are the most delicious wood fired pizza beside the beautiful infinity pool, the gardens, the immaculate rooms and the service. We were greeted by name at breakfast and by the pool every day with truly genuine smiles. We also recommend the free boat cruise along the Amalfi Coast. The skipper stopped so we could jump off and have a swim, which our teenage children loved. A great hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Infact. It is the perfect reason to go to Ravello.

Room Tip: We had interconnecting suites which was perfect with the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPK2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Luxury at its best. The location is peaceful, elegant and refined. Front desk Service up to its reputation as one of the best hotels in the world. The decor is clearly old-world style but impeccably updated to include every amenity. The location is perfect for day trips or local city walks. Concierge will happily arrange tours, taxis, reservations or whatever you require- even free boat shuttles to nearby Capri!

There is a Jazz bar with live music for after dinner drinks- in a lovely drawing room setting. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the sea is memorable. Dont miss the pool side dining- not only for the sea & mountain views (and celebrity watching), but also the well prepared food and especially friendly,welcoming service.

The Caruso is a must for anyone venturing to the Amalfi coast. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our recent trip to the Amalfi Coast of Italy was to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. As is the case many of the times when I ‘explore’ new travel destinations for my wife and me, I actually DO search through TripAdvisor, along with Travel magazines and referrals of friends.

With hundreds of credible ideas to consider, one of the most frequent suggestions - from those who are aficionados of the Italian Amalfi Coast - is to visit the small, quaint town of Ravello. I can without hesitation add my support to this great advice. I would furthermore suggest that one actually stay in Ravello for several days rather than take it in as a day visit. There are several reasons which I will expand upon in this review.

We elected to stay at the Hotel Caruso, mostly upon the reference of our Virtuoso Travel Agent along with the reviews of TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed!!

The road up to Ravello from the lower coastal drive is very curvy and absurdly small in width. While many people seem to find this disconcerting, our hired driver made it feel like he could drive it in his sleep. Mind you, you may never see a car on the coast with its side view mirrors extended. The reason becomes evident when you come across one of the wide vans or buses which come within what seems fractions of an inch to the side of the passing cars and the cliff walls. In fact, our driver said that, despite the constant passing of motorcycles and small vehicles along the drive, there are very few accidents... and those are usually just 'scratches'. For those who are squeamish… just close your eyes! The end of the uphill drive to Ravello will make the journey well worth it!

The Hotel Caruso sits at the top of a hill (one of countless hills in the Ravello countryside) and overlooks north-easterly over the magnificent blue Tyrrhenian Sea and the surrounding mountains. When you drive up to the Hotel entrance, it is almost indistinguishable from the many pastel colored wooden ‘doors’ on the cobblestone street, yet when we entered the Caruso we knew we were in a very special place indeed. We were greeted by the most beautiful smile of ‘Ella’, one of the Hotel’s gracious guest service staff, who warmly welcomed us and facilitated the very quick registration process. We were then offered a glass of chilled fresh squeezed lemonade, after which Ella toured us around the property, showing us the areas of the pool, restaurant, and grounds of the once magnificent 11th century private palace. We were then taken to our Junior Suite where the doors were opened to the stunning views of the Sea and the mountainside together. A gorgeous king sized canopy bed and ceiling arches framed the oversized glass doors and private garden, where lemons grew fresh on the bushes. The bathroom was incredible; large, spotless, with nary a speck of dirt or mold. There was beautiful large natural wood closet space, and stunning marble floors. An enormous Jacuzzi tub dropped in to a marble case was set before a beautiful window overlooking the Sea. The separate shower was powerful and … oh so marvelous. And yes, there was that token bidet next to the toilet. I have just never understood the attraction of this European bathroom staple, but for those who want it… the Caruso’s is shiny and white!

The bathroom also had a wonderful abundance of fine hair and body toiletries - and if we even unwrapped - or yes, stowed away - one of the soap bars or unique oils, they were immediately replaced in the next maid service. I might add, I am a sucker for beautiful hotel stationary, and the Caruso’s unique water-colored scenes of the Ravello countryside on folded cards were spirited away into my suitcase every morning… and refilled each evening. The Caruso skimps on nothing!

A couple of thoughts on the Caruso’s amenities; first of all, we both agreed that the enormous infinity pool is one of the most stunning and breathtaking we’ve ever encountered. It truly appears as though the pool is an extension of the Tyrrhenian Sea below. The pool deck is adequately provided with comfortable chaise lounges, where the pool attendant will reserve your spot promptly at 9:30am. No worries about being obsessive in the securing of a ‘spot’, however. We found that the pool was not overcrowded, there were always chaises available, and the service was courteous and prompt. The pool area Bistro serves a wonderful array of pizzas, pastas, and fish fare, along with specialty drinks and carbonated or still waters. One suggestion: the food charges at the Caruso are indeed exorbitant, whether eating at the pool bistro or at the beautiful Belvedere Restaurant. Yes, if you stay at the Caruso, you are already paying a small fortune for this experience, but one shouldn't feel guilty about a little reality check on the costs to eat here. Two small thin crust pizzas with two specialty cocktails and water cost us nearly €85, enough to stimulate a 'gag' reflex. After spending over €9 (approximately $12.25) for a single medium sized bottle of Pellegrino water, we found that the market in the village of Ravello sold bottled effervescent water for €1.25 that we simply put in our pool bag along with our books. You can also hit one of the small village trattoria’s which offer marvelous pastas, focaccia sandwiches, and assorted Italian specialties which allow for enormous savings over the Ravello’s high food fare. That said, the Belvedere Restaurant offers not only an excellent menu, but a splendid wine list as well. Along with the manager, Giovanni, (who is a dead ringer for Robert De Niro), and the Belvedere sommelier - who is the youngest, most lovely wine steward I have ever learned from - the view at night is a Ten Star experience; and yes, while overpriced, the cuisine was excellent. We ate at the Belvedere for the first of our five nights at the Caruso. The other nights we ate at local Ravello spots, our favorite being Victoria’s and Salvatore’s.

While many people flock to the seaside towns, such as Amalfi, Positano, and Minori, Ravello offers a much quieter, but no less special experience. There are far fewer tourists, and yet there are still many wonderful specialty shops to appease the credit card companies! Also, if you are inclined to look for pottery ware - we purchased our first full set of 12 new dinner settings in 30 years this trip here - Ravello is a secret windfall; there are 3-4 primary shops, ALL who declare they are the BEST, and yet prices that we saw from the North, such as Capri, Positano, and Amalfi, were exorbitantly higher than in Ravello. The artistry is beautiful!!

Perhaps the best experience of our five day stay in Ravello was our day spent at Mama Agata’s Cooking School. While I was highly skeptical of the 600+ 5 Star ratings for “Mama Agata’s”, the truth is… it really IS that good. I will discuss Mama Agata’s Cooking experience under a separate review.

Room Tip: Request that your room is not directly under the Belvedere Restaurant, as the chairs can be heard sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After some disappointing hotel experiences in recent weeks in Bellagio, Venice, Rome, Paris, (especially Paris), finally a truly great experience in beautiful Ravello at the Hotel Caruso (Orient Express group). The setting is spectacular (if you haven't been to Ravello any attempt at describing the setting will understate it's attributes). The hotel itself is very comfortable and the rooms, I am told, replicate in part those at their sister property, Villa San Michele at Fiesole, near Florence.
What makes a good hotel great however is the staff, and here, from the minute we arrived up until our departure, the service was efficient, friendly, generous. A pre-dinner drink is a meal (see my review of the Fullerton Bay Hotel for further comment regarding this feature of the Caruso), a post dinner coffee becomes just a small part of a dessert degustation menu.
I have previously stayed at a Orient Express property (now the Langham, but then The Observatory Hotel, Sydney), which also achieved similar results through the contribution of exceptional staff. I have no hesitation in recommending the Caruso to anyone contemplating a trip to Ravello (or even if you're not)! NB We didn't use the spa so please ignore my rating below.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wmpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After a scary drive up to it the Hotel was all that I'd hoped and more! we had a junior suite with sea view which took your breath away. A once in a life time experience that you don't want to end. Everything about it was truly wonderful. The weather also made it as it was lovely and hot so the boat trip was just fabulous too. The staff were excellent, and the food was sublime! OMG, I just have to go back as soon as possible. The view from the pool is just breath taking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel, along with three other hotels in Italy and France (Le Sereneuse, Hotel Du Cap Eden Roc, Plaza Athenee). While our friends said this was one of their favorites, we found it not to be on par with other fine hotels of similar price in Europe. Our room, a suite, had scent diffusers throughout the two floors, apparently as an attempt to hide the dank smell that permeated the rooms when we removed them (they smelled awful as well). The bed was hard and all of the fabric decor was cheap and not to the standards of other fine hotels. The toiletries were unmatched brands (shampoo was different brand from conditioner), the "rose" petals placed in our room were fake (despite the abundance of flowers throughout the property). The service was acceptable, but not anything special. We had to wait at the desk for someone to come up front every time we had a question. There were crumpled cigarette boxes on the stair case and other trash visible. The restaurant food was reasonably good, but the plates were in such a mix of patterns and styles, it took away from the fine dining experience. It seemed as though they were using some leftovers from yesteryear, along with contemporary pieces that were also mismatched. I realize that this can be intentional, but this mix could not have been - it looked like they shopped at a flea market.
Anyway, don't stay at this hotel at the prices that are charged. There are too many other beautiful places to stay. Try the Le Sereneuse in Positano, or at least next door at Pallazzo Sasso, where their best suite is still half the price of the suite we had (we went and looked at the room and it was lovely, although the restroom was not as spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Texasbelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
6.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing