We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A wonder in wonderland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonder in wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just enjoied my third stay at The Caruso, this time a pretty midsummer stay. Everything was perfect, as usual: the hotel , its pool and its gardens were more charming than ever, the staff was friendly, helpful, even playful, never intrusive. My husband and I have had a most joyful holiday thanks to Jolanda , Tiziana, Flavia and the pool’s staff, Danilo, Francesco and the king of the garden, Gaetano.
I strongly recommend this beautiful hotel in marvellous Ravello: expensive but worth every penny, a wonder in wonderland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    60
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
108
437
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It is quite literally the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I've stayed at no less than 30 5 star hotels in my life. The pool layout was beyond amazing and the most relaxing and serene place ever. Lets face it, if you're in Ravello, you are there to relax. This hotel can't be beat. We also stayed at the nearby Palazzo Sasso on the same trip, and next to Hotel Caruso, Palazzo Sasso was a mere Best Western or the like. We unfortunately stayed at Palazzo Sasso after we stayed at Hotel Caruso and it put a huge damper on the trip.

Room Tip: Book with IC Bellagio. They were able to upgrade us to a suite for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVenturini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Caruso Hotel and have to say that this is an incredible property. We had just spent 3 nights at the gorgeous Le Sirenuse (see separate review). Hotel Caruso is a lovely property, extremely spacious and with wonderful gardens and restaurants. The swimming pool and surroundings are beyond spectacular and the restaurant for lunch around the pool is excellent. We received incredible service both at lunch time and in the evenings and nothing, however trivial, was too much trouble for the servers. Two gentlemen in particular who served us both at lunchtime and in the bar in the evenings went over and beyond what one would normally expect for attentive service from an exceptional property, and they certainly greatly added to our total enjoyment of this fabulous hotel. We had decided to take a half-board rate which is incredible value for money at an extra 84 euros per person, but this afforded us the luxury of being able to choose whatever we wanted from the A La Carte menu (with a couple of exceptions) and have as many courses as we wished. Absolutely it is not inexpensive, but certainly, in our opinion, worth every single euro and more. We do travel extensively around the world and always stay in top class hotels and everything at this property is certainly top class. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 idyllic days there and cannot wait to return. Thank so much Hotel Caruso for happy happy memories.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our first experience at this Hotel so much in July, 2011 that we recently went back in July, 2012. Very warm and pleasant staff! Very child friendly as well. The staff will go the extra mile to make your stay and your child's stay a memorable and fun experience. The Caruso staff is truly exceptional and for that reason we chose to stay at the Caruso again recently. The infinity pool with its amazing views is breathtaking. The grounds and gardens are very well manicured. The breakfast is incredible and quite delicious as well as the food in all of the restaurants at the Hotel. We had a very spacious and clean suite with the most beautiful views. This corner of the world is a real paradise and the Hotel is altogether magnificent. This is my family's favourite place in the World. Our only regret is not having booked a longer stay at the hotel. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHW108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was very dissapointed with this hotel. My fiance an I were hoping to choose this hotel as our venue for our wedding. Customer service was poor, and almost felt like the staff were too stuffy! I didnt feel comfortable there. The price was extorsionate for the service and was very dissapointed. the location is very good, but the hotel service is a huge let down. I wouldnt recommend this hotel. Even the suite we had (the best in hotel) was basic and very dated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel Caruso doesn't need another good review, but I had such an amazing experience that I can't help myself. I was debating staying at the Caruso or Sasso, and not being able to decide, I ended up staying at both. I loved the Sasso but Caruso really is in a class of its own, a once in a lifetime experience. On their busiest weekend of the summer (the ravello festival sunrise concert--highly recommended), they upgraded us to an amazing suite with a beautiful balcony, and surprised us with free champagne and rose petals for our honeymoon. As everyone has said, the pool is amazing, but so are the gardens, in which they have a cabana for private but open air couples massages. The interior decoration is amazing; its still classic Italian but has modern touches (like a comfortable bed, which is difficult to find in even five star hotels on the amalfi coast!)

The overall atmosphere is quiet, but not boring; refined, but not snooty; polite, but warm. This place redefines what it means to be classy, and is the perfect honeymoon spot. I'll never forget our stay there and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cambie032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is the best hotel experience I have ever had !
Professionally run hotel that's focus is all about the guest, a marked difference from what we received in Paris.
Attentive staff,superlative view and awesome food !, we will be back for more

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Belmond, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing