We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Most Beautiful Hotel in the World!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Hotel in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Hotel Caruso has the most beautiful views in the world! The rooms are magnificent! The pool is an infinity pool and you have a panoramic view of the Amalfi Coast when you are swimming in it. The staff is fabulous! There is a library to sit in and email comfortably. The gardens are absolutely beautiful! The gardener will explain to you how to take care of every flower in the garden. If you are a photographer, you will have plenty of opportunity to take pictures.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggied00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    58
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
106
415
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I had my wedding at Hotel Caruso on July 9, 2011 and stayed for four nights. It is truly breathtaking! The rooms are gorgeous, the pool is amazing, the food is the BEST. The service is impeccable, all around it was PERFECT!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyAnn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had wanted to see the Amalfi coast for some time and like luxury so our 40th wedding anniversary provided the excuse. Whilst very expensive this Hotel is superb. The rooms are a dream, the pool and outside dining area superb and the views are to die for. They have a free bus service to Amalfi and a free motorboat waiting to take you along the coast. When sunbathing the staff come around with free fruit from time to time and the whole experience is out of this world. Go down into Ravello in the evening for dinner in one of the excellent small restaurants where the locals eat for a change from the hotels fantastic dining room. Also don't forget to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum which are fascinating if a little morbid.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Superb hotel. This is the best hotel I have stayed at to date.
Breathtaking views. Superb pool. Amazing food. Outstanding service. Rooms are superb. Extremely clean. Bus service is excellent. Free wifi. The list goes on about how perfect this hotel is....Free champagne on arrival in the room...large rooms....everything you need is right at your fingertips...
We will definitely be back and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMHM711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

A sublime experience! Our previous high expectations were all exceeded. We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. It was beautifully decorated. The marble bathroom was also elegant... With good towels and amazing amenities from Bulgari, Molton Brown and Penthaligon's. At night, after dinner, my husband and I spent hours on the balcony drinking limoncello and enjoying the view… Having breakfast on the balcony was also amazing! Due to the mist, it wasn’t possible to see the boundary between the sky and the sea in the morning... It was so beautiful! The pool is also scenic and has the most astonishing views! As it was heated, we could also enjoy it at night. I also highly recommend the hotel’s restaurant! Nice view, good food, great wine list and super friendly staff! But it is worth going to other restaurants near there in addition. The hotel as a whole deserves great compliments, but the staff in particular deserves attention… They make staying there an even more not only worthwhile but special experience! Besides being elegant, helpful and extremely competent, they are friendly and seem to enjoy being there and doing what they do. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raquel_paganelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We returned to the magnificent Hotel Caruso this summer to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. Having celebrated our wedding at the Caruso last July, with a never to be forgotten reception and party, we couldn't wait to return for the weekend to celebrate my 40th. We adore the Amalfi coast, most particularly Ravello, and this was our fifth time to holiday here. We have stayed at quite a few hotels in this area (Palazzo Sasso, Giordano, Hilton Sorrento, Best Western, Villa Cimbrone) but the Caruso is unbeatable. From the moment we reached Ravello and drove precariously along the narrow cobbled streets to arrive at the beautiful Caruso's big green doors, we knew we had found our little bit of paradise again.

The staff at the Caruso are most charming, welcoming and professional. Tiziana and her team are truly wonderful, hardworking people who aim to make your stay at the Caruso unforgettable.

Yes, the Caruso is expensive, but in this stunning little part of Italy, the closest place to heaven you can get, everything is expensive and at the Caruso you get what you pay for. The food is unforgettable, the cocktails are the best you've ever tasted, the pool is to die for and the views are what dreams are made of.

We took the fabulous complimentary boat trip from Amalfi to Positano on the morning of my birthday and sipped on delicious Prosecco as the boat pointed out the many beautiful sights along the way. Despite being lucky enough to have done this trip on numerous occasions already, we never ever tire of it.

Dining is another highlight at the Caruso. Breakfast is utterly spellbinding, with the fragrant, panoramic terrace laid out with ripe fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, cereals, not to mention the poached eggs . . Lunch by the pool is unforgettable, and be sure to try the gloriously fresh Tuna, accompanied by the best salads ever. Again, the staff are first class - charming, knowledgeable and professional. At night time, as the lights of the historic villages below start to twinkle along the cliff edge, and the bells ring out from mysterious buildings, the Belvedere restaurant is magical. We both ordered the fillet of beef as it was one of our wedding courses the previous year, and it was sinfully good, as was every morsel of food we ate at the Caruso.

The rooms are the Caruso are equally gorgeous with fresh, crisp Frette bedlinen welcoming you. The bathrooms in the different rooms we have stayed in are huge and beautifully equipped with every luxurious toiletry you can need. We were greeted in the room with Prosecco and cherries, which was extremely welcome after a hair raising drive along the cliffs (unless you are like my husband and love the adrenaline rush of near misses with buses, pedestrians and scooters, let the hotel organise a transfer for you!).

We cannot fault the Caruso for anything and we dearly hope we can return every year to our home from home. It really is as good as it gets here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

It really is that good.

Big enough to have space and small enough to really feel the personal touch.

Oh and yes, the bay view rooms are worth it!

A decant treat of the senses and a pool with one of the best views in the world.

Add into this a great little town, fine dining and great wines and well…

Need I go on.

Just close your eyes when you sign the bill!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#1 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing