We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent vacation in ravello staying 4 nights at villa Maria. Staff was helpful and rooms were clean. Had a great view and they went out of their way to be helpful in every way possible. Because it is facing west sunsets are amazing from your balcony and that also means it is a little chilly in the am so bring a sweater. The cooking class is a lot of fun even for non cooks like myself. Vincenzo is a great cooking instructor.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    108
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
47
260
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good bed. Hotel had heat which was needed in early May. Breakfast was good but would have liked to see more fruit. Servers were so-so. It felt like we were imposing on them if we got there at the time they were supposed to be serving breakfast. Serving table not completely ready. Tea water or coffee would come when they were ready to bring it but not before. Beautiful view from breakfast room. Bedroom was spacious and had a small patio with lounge, table & chairs. My room did not have a view. Very clean and in good repair. Small but adequate shower. Reception friendly and nice. No vehicles to hotel. Parking lot below and a hike up many steps and incline to reach hotel. Not good for anyone with breathing or heart problems. Hotel is nice once you reach it but the walk up discourages one from going down into the town very often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-in-Rancho-Mirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Many thanks for the kind feedback!
We are happy to find out the clients appreciated the location, the kindness of the reception staff and the cleanness of the room. The kindness is a must and our motto and the staff will never let the clients feel as if their wishes is an imposition in any kind of request. The only case the Breakfast serving table is not ready is when the clients show up before the serving times without any advance notice, but, also in that cases, the staff is ready to serve the food and explain the reason why there are missing staff on the buffet (before of the unexpected early breakfast).
Additionally, we are always at the clients’ disposal to arrange an “early breakfast” in case of the clients’ early departure – obviously, to grant the service, we need the clients to advice us in advance
The distance to reach Villa Maria is not a climbing but, obviously, it might be difficult for people who have health’s problems.
In that case, we suggest our clients (when they make the reservation, or even at arrival or during their stay) to choose our sister Hotel which is situated in the historical centre of the town, easily accessible, with swimming pool and parking.
In both accommodation options, we offer our clients free valet and luggage transportation from/to the guests’ rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Having eaten here on our last trip to Ravello we were expecting something very special. It was fine but not up to the high standard we had hoped for. The public rooms are very sumptuous but we had a superior room and it was OK but not special. At €300 a night we expected more. Breakfast was poor for this standard of hotel. The location is exceptional.

We attended the cooking course which was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are pleased to reply to the clients’ feedback.
Needless to say that tastes are very personal and opinions so different, but them all always very important to us, because are a guidance to make always better and better.
Our main target is to grant the clients’ request to make their stay unforgettable, and, as most of our clients’ reviews show, we can proudly say that we have a good average (this thanks also to our clients’ suggestions).

Honestly, Breakfast has been never criticized with a negative review, because it is our “strong point” for the wide choice of cakes, pastries, marmalades, cereals, fresh cut selection of cheese, ham, salami, fruit, etc
All our rooms have been renovated and offer high comforts of the 4 star hotel. Formerly a country mansion, Villa Maria prefigured a different layout for the rooms, which the lords separated by class distinction in master's rooms, guest's rooms, family's rooms and relative's rooms. Presently they are differentiated as Junior Suite, Superior and Standard all with elegant furnishings; for these reasons, all rooms are different (some have got balcony, some others balcony or even terrace) and each one with its own peculiarity.
We are happy to find out the clients enjoyed the experience had at our cooking school and we really hope to meet them again and make their stay unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

What a pleasant surprise - this hotel in Ravello has an organic garden and cooking school under the expert instruction of Vincenzo. It was a wonderful course - 3 1/2 hours -we cooked our own 3-course lunch, complete with wine - all in the Mediterranean style of cooking - no butter and little/no salt - fresh bream local fish, shrimp, organic vegetables. What a great experience! The hotel itself is a gem of a place up at the top of the cliff overlooking Amalfi - service and cleanliness was impeccable - restaurant was excellent. Just remember, you have to walk up a steep hill of steps to the hotel from the town square in Ravello - (they porter the bags up). Wear your walking shoes.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the 1000 ft cliff hillside down to Amalfi - beautiful - sometimes we could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30CatherineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are very happy to find out the clients enjoyed their experience with us! We hope to meet them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. The room was beautifully furnished as was the Hotel in general, and we had a view to die for! The bathroom was also beautiful but you are a little exposed as you take a shower since there is no curtain or blind on the window next to the shower itself. Having said that it looks out right across the valley and is unlikely that anyone could see you.
I can't say that we particularly enjoyed our evening meal which was expensive, but maybe we made the wrong choice off the menu.
We had two wonderful days at the Villa Maria and would definitely stay here again if we come back to Ravello.

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the Villa Marie last week while visiting the Amalfi Coast. The pasta was beautiful and definitely home made. The waiters were very attentive and quick as we only had an hour. Then there was the views. Quite stunning and breathtaking.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

From beginning to end I can't say enough how much we lived our stay here.
We stayed for three nights', the second being our wedding night.
We had our reception at the hotel
The staff were all so wonderful and helpful, Angelo was an absolute star and made sure everything ran perfectly. Our guests were in awe of how attentive they were, no one ever had to ask for their glass to be refilled, they were so on top of everything!
The food was lovely and portions so generous.
Our wedding cake was
gorgeous exactly as I had imagined.
We stayed in the Jr suite and the view from the enormous balcony was breathtaking!
The room where breakfast was served us absolutely stunning. Once again with that amazing view.
Thankyou Villa Maria
We had the most amazing unforgettable day of our lives.
Both us and all of our guests.
We're already planning to return
for future anniversaries

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talliwalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing