We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spacious, Charming and Authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Maria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
manhattan beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious, Charming and Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I loved my stay at the Villa Maria. The room was HUGE, as was the bathroom. Tons of closet and drawer space. The restaurant had a wonderful view of the ocean and hills and the breakfast was delicious. My only complaint was that the wireless internet was a bit sketchy, but they did have a computer in the living area which was most often available. The location was perfect - an easy walk to the town of Ravello and close to the trails that lead down to Amalfi. We loved our stay at the Villa Maria!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manymcds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    98
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
43
238
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Victoria and I just wanted to say a massive thank you for all your help and support in making our wedding day amazing. Sometimes when you deal with people you don't know you don't know what to expect. And things can be even more difficult when working so far apart, conducting the planning via Skype etc.

But all your help and advice in planning our day was extremely useful. You really helped reassure us about how the day would work and about the choices we could make on the different options.

The day itself was unbelievable. We didn't really know what to expect but every aspect of the day was even better than we expected. Mario you were very good in both your organisation and making us feel comfortable on the day, we loved the service. It was fantastic! Our friends were amazed. And Annamaria you were great in all your help with the organisation and helping with our questions. Everything worked like a dream.

Villa Maria is a beautiful restaurant and the food was outstanding. We couldnt have asked for a nicer wedding meal for 30 people. And the staff were very helpful and attentive.

All in all you did an excellent job and we can't thank you enough for a day we will never forget. And we wish the best for you, your families and Wagner Tours in the future.

All the best,

Rob and Victoria

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed our time. Quiet setting with friendly staff. Our room was nice, food was very good and the views great. We enjoyed the walk to and from the square as it allowed us to explore the town more fully.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is NOT a 4 star hotel,
Rooms are very big, we had a supreme room with a terrace.
To many steps to get to the room, tub is very narrow,
Parking is the sister hotel , on the web it says 40 meters but it's more like 600 meters,
We really like Ravello but this hotel doesn't worth E 305 a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I am pleased the clients highlighted the great size of the room with terrace – they omitted the room was among our Superior rooms, situated in the annex, which is even more exposed to the view over the sea.
The peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast are the streets and the steps so, if you are not dynamic and lover of the particular landscapes, we cannot suggest to visit the Amalfi Coast, which was, from the ancient times, described by artists and poets as “divina costiera” (Heavenly Coast).
Villa Maria “reflects” the peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast – you can reach the hotel by a 5 minutes walking distance from our parking and all the times the clients reach our Hotel, they always affirm the walking is worth!
The clients omitted also that the parking is a very important facility in the Amalfi Coast because it is pretty hard to find parking place and it is also very expensive. We are maybe among the fews that have got the parking and it is also free of charge.
We checked our website and the parking doesn’t seem to be advertised as 40 metres away from Villa Maria – maybe the clients meant the distance between the square and the Parking, which is more or less 40/70 metres OR maybe the clients took this information from another little known website, for which we are not responsible (it is very hard to check all the information advertised in the million of websites we are in and, in the most of the cases, we are not even advised of having been selected).
We are glad the clients rated the highest points for the position (don’ t you think this goes in contraposition with what he previously stated?).
As regards the tub, we would like to underline that the tub are of different sizes and even if the clients had a “standard size” tub, this does not mean that is against the dimensions expected by the law or by the minimum standards expected for a hotel.
So, if we consider, the great position, the great size of room with nice terrace and sea view, the free parking, we must also add the free use of the sister Hotel Giordano’s swimming pool, the well reputed restaurant with terrace and sea view… well… Euro 305 is mathematically worth for a Superior category room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this hotel in Ravello with beautiful views from everywhere! The service was outstanding, room was super and the restaurant was superb. There was free wifi in the lobby and on the patio. The rooms were spacious and beds were firm but good. The shower was in a tub that required a step up.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 that had a lovely terrace (shared wit two other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in Room 101. This "Superior Room" was perfectly ok but its location was fantastic - it was located such that the bedroom windows had an uninterrupted view down the valley to the sea! There were 40 steps down (in stages) fron the Lobby- but well worth the effort. It was also very quiet since it was separated from the main body of the hotel. Recommended (but not cheap!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came to Ravello for a friend's wedding and were very happy with our choice of hotel!
The location was perfect, set up just a few flights of cobbled stairs from the main square, with the most incredible views! The rooms were spacious and clean, although the bathrooms were very old and needed refreshing. The restaurant was beautiful at night with fairy lights dotted around trees on the terrace and again stunning views of the Amalfi coast. Breakfasts were very basic and could have been a lot better not a 4* hotel standard, but the dinners were delicious! The sister hotel had a nice size outdoor swimming pool that guests at Villa Maria could use-it was just a short 2 minute walk away. The staff at Villa Maria were all friendly, polite and very helpful. We had a very good stay here and hope to return to Ravello one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephmck1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
BW PREMIER COLLECTION Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing