We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not a 4 star”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is NOT a 4 star hotel,
Rooms are very big, we had a supreme room with a terrace.
To many steps to get to the room, tub is very narrow,
Parking is the sister hotel , on the web it says 40 meters but it's more like 600 meters,
We really like Ravello but this hotel doesn't worth E 305 a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I am pleased the clients highlighted the great size of the room with terrace – they omitted the room was among our Superior rooms, situated in the annex, which is even more exposed to the view over the sea.
The peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast are the streets and the steps so, if you are not dynamic and lover of the particular landscapes, we cannot suggest to visit the Amalfi Coast, which was, from the ancient times, described by artists and poets as “divina costiera” (Heavenly Coast).
Villa Maria “reflects” the peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast – you can reach the hotel by a 5 minutes walking distance from our parking and all the times the clients reach our Hotel, they always affirm the walking is worth!
The clients omitted also that the parking is a very important facility in the Amalfi Coast because it is pretty hard to find parking place and it is also very expensive. We are maybe among the fews that have got the parking and it is also free of charge.
We checked our website and the parking doesn’t seem to be advertised as 40 metres away from Villa Maria – maybe the clients meant the distance between the square and the Parking, which is more or less 40/70 metres OR maybe the clients took this information from another little known website, for which we are not responsible (it is very hard to check all the information advertised in the million of websites we are in and, in the most of the cases, we are not even advised of having been selected).
We are glad the clients rated the highest points for the position (don’ t you think this goes in contraposition with what he previously stated?).
As regards the tub, we would like to underline that the tub are of different sizes and even if the clients had a “standard size” tub, this does not mean that is against the dimensions expected by the law or by the minimum standards expected for a hotel.
So, if we consider, the great position, the great size of room with nice terrace and sea view, the free parking, we must also add the free use of the sister Hotel Giordano’s swimming pool, the well reputed restaurant with terrace and sea view… well… Euro 305 is mathematically worth for a Superior category room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    116
    33
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
275
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this hotel in Ravello with beautiful views from everywhere! The service was outstanding, room was super and the restaurant was superb. There was free wifi in the lobby and on the patio. The rooms were spacious and beds were firm but good. The shower was in a tub that required a step up.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 that had a lovely terrace (shared wit two other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in Room 101. This "Superior Room" was perfectly ok but its location was fantastic - it was located such that the bedroom windows had an uninterrupted view down the valley to the sea! There were 40 steps down (in stages) fron the Lobby- but well worth the effort. It was also very quiet since it was separated from the main body of the hotel. Recommended (but not cheap!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came to Ravello for a friend's wedding and were very happy with our choice of hotel!
The location was perfect, set up just a few flights of cobbled stairs from the main square, with the most incredible views! The rooms were spacious and clean, although the bathrooms were very old and needed refreshing. The restaurant was beautiful at night with fairy lights dotted around trees on the terrace and again stunning views of the Amalfi coast. Breakfasts were very basic and could have been a lot better not a 4* hotel standard, but the dinners were delicious! The sister hotel had a nice size outdoor swimming pool that guests at Villa Maria could use-it was just a short 2 minute walk away. The staff at Villa Maria were all friendly, polite and very helpful. We had a very good stay here and hope to return to Ravello one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephmck1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A wonderful charming hotel situtated in the picture perfect town of Ravello. We enjoyed the views of the sea & sorrounding countryside from our hotel room terrace as well as from the hotel outdoor terrace restaurant, which serves great food (the hotel has their own organic vegetable garden) and the staff in both the restaurant and hotel are very friendly and helpful.
The owner of this magical hotel is always around chatting to guests and making sure that everything is running well.
A pool and beauty center are available at the sister hotel,Giardano, a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have the sea view, we were in room 105, in the annex. There are alot of stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A delightful hotel in an outstanding area of natural beauty. Breakfast and the evening meal overlooking the hills and looking towards the sea are very nicely presented by very sweet staff. The owner Vincenzo Palumbo , a very quiet man, makes sure the whole place runs very well and is very hands on . A very nice family run hotel. Rooms very clean and a nice size.evening meals a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We didn't stay at the Villa Maria Hotel in Ravello but we did linger over lunch actually longer than we thought because I asked her if she'd brought her purse and then after a breathess climb up the hill she said she had forgotten it. Never mind. This was a fairly traditional Italian lunch spot but with loads of character and a range of choices-seafood, pasta, the usual staples. What makes it perfect is the fabulous sea view and warm and friendly staff. It's about 20 minutes walk from the cathedral square but well worth the climb which in any case takes you a further 10 minutes away to fabulous ornate gardens. Just remember to bring your wallet or purse or you'll end up with one of you doubling the walking time back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing