We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ravello”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Maria for 4 nights in May 2013.Although this is a small family run hotel the service is exceptional with very professional and friendly staff. Its lovely restaurant on a beautiful terrace is reason enough to book this hotel.There was a fantastic choice of food for breakfast including hot and cold selections.We decided to take advantage of the half board supplement which included a four course dinner with choices for each course and a different menu every evening. The food was excellent with fresh ingredients from the family's organic garden.Our superior room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, spotlessly clean with well appointed ensuite facilities. There was a beautiful view from the balcony of both the mountains and the sea.The general ambience of the hotel is of a welcoming family home with a lovely large lounge and small terraced garden. Although this hotel does not have a swimming pool the facilities including pool can be used at its sister Hotel Giordano a few minutes walk away. Ravello itself is a lovely medieval town with beautiful narrow streets and stunning views in every direction. The Hotel Villa Maria itself is situated between the Duomo in the main square and the Villa Cimbrone making it ideal for exploring Ravello but also for staying in a quiet and relaxing spot away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Book a superior room with sea or mountain views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Villa Maria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 448 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent small boutique luxury hotel.
Great service and friendly staff who were very helpful and welcoming.
Lots of character in the rooms and main buildings
Amazing view from everywhere in the hotel!
Great location and free parking for guests.
Great buffet breakfast with choice of cooked eggs on request.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBtraveller305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ravello is a great location for a home base when exploring the Amalfi Coast. I like Ravello because many of the other cities are too touristy, attracting the tour-bus crowd. Because of its location, Ravello can't get too overly crowded. The cost of this advantage is that you must either walk or take a taxi to the other cities like Positano or Amalfi. (My wife and I are the type that prefer walking.)
There are many great hotels in there, but the are really expensive. Villa Maria is not inexpensive, but it is reasonable. It has a great location near Villa Cimbrone on the point that juts out into the Mediterranean. The rooms are pretty large and furnished with antiques. The restaurant is one of the best in a town with several Michelin star restaurants. The staff is great and the hotel is quite and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view of the Mediterranean.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and loved it. It's 10 minutes' walk uphill from the square - something I'd failed to notice before we set off with our bags - so it's a good idea to call ahead and get the hotel to meet you and take your bags up. The service was first class, as were the views and restaurant. Not cheap but I suppose you get what you pay for. One (slight) grumble may be the quality of the beds / mattresses ... put perhaps I'm being picky now.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had a room overlooking some of the most gorgeous views I've ever seen. The hotel is perched on a hilltop in Ravello, with incredible views of the sea, little towns, and terraced gardens. The room was lovely, the service fantastic, and the food was excellent. The hotel is family-run, and the pride they take in the hotel and restaurant shows. Everything about the grounds and restaurant is beautifully designed, with attention to detail in every aspect. The hotel also shares a pool with its sister hotel, where you can lounge in the sun an soak in the beauty. This is altogether one of the most relaxing places I've ever been, with wonderful staff responsive to every need. I highly recommend a spritz or cocktail in the lounge area of the restaurant at sunset. The hotel is also surrounded by the lovely town of Ravello, with a number of famous sights nearby, such as Villa Cimbrone, and is a stunning 30 minute walk down beautiful stairways to the sea and the town of Amalfi. Overall, I couldn't recommend Hotel Villa Maria more highly!! I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with the best views of the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place is a little gem - great restaurant and so much more ambience than Caruso and at a fraction of the price. The pool is a short trek away though and you can't park slap bang outside. The music ( schmolzy) was frankly an irritant but the attentive staff turned it off or changed it when asked. We ll be going back !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathy_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a very nice room with great views. But it is the common areas, grounds and dreamy views that make this hotel so special. We were here only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. If you are going to the Amalfi Coast spending time in Ravello is a must and I highly recommend Hotel Maria. The Staff was also very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the cooking class

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $161 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing