We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Palazzo Avino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Avino
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed there for a week over Easter and it was heaven. The weather was not great but this was the perfect place to stay. Jacqueline and Antonio were fantastic and the best service we have had for years in a hotel. Bravo and look forward to staying again one day!

Stayed: April 2013
Thank JohnDerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariella A, Direttore at Palazzo Avino, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment for our property!
We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Palazzo Avino is a very special and unique place and we are honored you had the opportunity to experience it firsthand.
Antonio and Jaqueline will be honored of your special comment for them! They are really great members of our staff!
Once again thank you.
With my warmest regards,
Mariella Avino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Avino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 744 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place was called Palazzo Sasso when we stayed for 3 nights in June 2012. We booked it for the views, and because of Sasso by the Sea, which gave us another option if we wanted to get away from the hotel. We only used it once, then realised the pool at the hotel and view was much nicer at the hotel.

The staff were all extremely helpful - from helping us arrange parking in Positano, to restaurant recommendations in Ravello. What a surprise to find gifts upon arrival and gifts on our last night. It was a lovely touch for such a romantic holiday. Even though we weren't on our honeymoon, they treated us as if we were, making our stay as special as anyone else's.

The hotel is set on top of the hill, with the sun lounges cascading down on one side, with beautiful views out to the sea. Staff by the pool are always on hand to provide you with towels, refreshments, and rearranging your umbrella if need be.

The only hitch was the room. Despite it being large and spacious for our 3 days, it was a little outdated.

Staying in Ravello was definitely the highlight of our trip. It's not as crowded as Positano, but the views are spectacular. It's also very romantic to walk through the two gardens in town.

We also recommend trying the restaurant for dinner. It was one of our favourite meals along the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariella A, Direttore at Palazzo Avino, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment for our property!
We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Palazzo Avino is a very special and unique place and we are honored you had the opportunity to experience it firsthand.
The position of the Hotel really ensures the best views in Ravello.
I am sorry to hear that the room was outdated. However I am not sure which category you stayed in but I take this occasion to let you know that we did renovate all the seaside rooms this winter (about 70% of the rooms) and they are all now very bright in colors and fresh. We used Dedar/ Hermes/ Designer Guild/ Rubelli textiles.
Next winter we will renovate the remaining 30% of the rooms (mountain side rooms).

Thank you also for the nice comment about our Restaurant. The staff really appreciates it.

Once again thank you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
With my warmest regards,
Mariella Avino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Palazzo Avino is in a perfect location to enjoy the beauty of the Amalfi coast and Ravello. We were greeted with great weather and beautiful views. The hotel is gorgeous with many amenties you wouldn't believe. Like exercise equipment outside overlooking the ocean to mention one. Naturally, they had the usual beautiful pool, spa with steam bath, massage and multiple treatments available. The excellence of the staff is what makes this hotel a Palace that you can't afford to miss.
Antonio and Jacqueline, at the front desk attended to our every need, thinking of ways to help us before we even knew we needed their help. For example, my daughter is studying aboard for the semester in Florence. She stayed with us for the weekend and was returning to Florence on Sunday. Due to extraordinary traffic related to a local football game the driver from the hotel couldn't get her to her train in Salerno in time. Antonio arranged for the driver to bring her to the Naples train station and get her on the next train to Florence only setting her trip back one hour.
There were numerous examples of exceptional care from all members of the staff such as Vittorio and Francisco who kept the beautiful buffet breakfast open for us when they noticed we overslept. Gorgio at the pool who always made sure we had whatever we needed. And the Spa staff that always made us feel comfortable using the whirlpool , steambath and took excellent care providing my daughter a massage.
Ravello is in a great location to take day trips to Positano, Capri, & Salerno by boat. We didn't go but it's also a easy car ride to Pompeii, Vesuvius and many other nearby sites.
IN SHORT, YOU'RE CRAZY IF YOU DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ezsleepmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent three nights there recently. The staff and service was truly first class. We stayed in a king sea view. Although small by American standards it was fantastic. Will be back next year. So relaxing.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SeppD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our last night in Ravello at the Palazzo Avino and we have to say it has been a most spectacular stay in a wonderful hotel. Antonio, Jacqueline and the rest of the staff were absolutely the best we've had anywhere in the world. If visiting the Amalfi Coast, this is a must stay. Views from each of our three balconies were some of the best in the world. Ok, costly but well worth every Euro. Nothing over the top, except the views, and everything fairly understated but first class. You can either dress up or go casual. Best time of year to make the visit before the crowds arrive. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Go for the suites or junior suites with sea views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had known about this hotel for some years, so it was always on the 'to do' list.

This is an amazing hotel, and can not be faulted in any way at all. The staff are friendly but not intrusive. Always happy to oblige and make your holiday as good as it can be. It is so pleasant to see staff enjoying their job.

A highlight of the holiday was Rosselini restuarant. The food is just simply wonderful. The testing menu perfection, we just adored it and went twice for the testing menu.

Go for a king sea view to have a larger room nd amazing views. We spent a lot of time enjoying our room, it was a pleasure to be there.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 186342Robert43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was the first stop on our honeymoon. The hotel was spectacular. Beautiful, top service. Very romantic. Expensive, but worth it. We found a special where we paid 3 nights and got the fourth one free. Hotel arranged for a car service to pick us up from the airport and drop us off at the train station in Naples.

One thing to know, it's about an hour and fifteen minute walk or forty euro taxi to Amalfi where we went twice, to get ferries to Positano and Capri.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LaneM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
767 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#2 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
#6 Business Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $449 - $2,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Avino is a stunning five-star deluxe hotel on Italy's famed Amalfi coast. Built in what was once a 12th century private villa for an Italian noble family, it has been rated as one of the world's finest hotels and boasts one-star Michelin dining. Tucked away in the medieval hilltop village of Ravello and perched high on the cliffs, 350 m (1,000 ft) above the sparkling Mediterranean. You can enjoy a candle light dinner served in our awarded Rossellinis restaurant or a delicious casual meal at Caffe dell'Arte or Terrazza Belvedere that during the evening becames Lobster & Martini Bar with more of 80 cocktails Martini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing