We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Palazzo Avino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Avino
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel but at one a few doors down. However, our friends traveling with three children and a nanny stayed here at the same time, and so we had extensive experience as visitors of people staying here. Wow! First of all, it is a gorgeous hotel. The public rooms are very beautiful, and our friends' rooms were exactly what you would expect at this level--very luxurious with beautiful views. Second, the staff at the front desk were exceptional. The people with whom we interacted spoke perfect English which was very lucky for us. They were friendly and warm in a professional but sincere way and were exceptionally helpful as far as recommending restaurants, shopping for specific items, booking cars and reservations. We ate at the hotel's more informal terrace restaurant which was delightful (although throughout the meal we were able to clearly hear the wedding singer from a wedding at a nearby hotel!) No one seemed to bat an eye at special requests for children (although the children were exceptionally polite, so maybe that helped as well). The location is perfect: a five minute walk to the city square and a minute to the shuttle to the beach or to hired cars for other trips. We saw one of the concierges at a restaurant in town with her family and she was friendly and warm outside her work setting as well. I know our friends were also well satisfied. Staying here seems like money well spent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwright6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Avino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 744 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the sasso for four nights as we were attending a wedding at Villa Cimbrone. We never wanted to leave the hotel! It is a newly renovated villa. The hotel is situated on a cliff overlooking the coast at a very high point; therefore the view is outstanding. The wait staff at breakfast were so accommodating and always pleasant - Franco, Caterina, and Vittorio. Antonio the concierge is readily available at all times for suggestions and general questions. It is a very private hotel which would be great for honeymooners. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary there. We ate at Rossilini's restaurant which was a very formal experience with live music and complimentary chocolates and desserts. The private beach was lovely. All in all, it was one of our most memorable stays in a hotel and we usually stay in five star hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had high expectations of Palazzo Sasso after hearing rave reviews from friends but our 4 nights stay (honeymoon) actually even exceeded my expectations. The property is absolutely stunning - we loved the terrace restaurant/bar with a piano player every night of our stay, the rooftop jacuzzis which we often completely private/empty, breakfast on the terrace with fresh meats, cheese, fruit and more, the most accomodating staff, etc. Every single detail at this hotel is designed for guests enjoyment.

Sasso by the Sea, the private beach club, is an extraordinary experience that I wish we took advantage of more than just one day of our trip. It's a private villa owned by the hotel, nestled cliffside on the ocean. The staff catered to our every need and it was a very serene, private experience that's usually only reserved for the extraordinarly wealthy.

During our stay in Ravello, we took day/evening trips to Positano and Capri. In Positano we had a drink at Le Sirenuse, a 5 star resort. Seeing the guests there jammed close together on lounge chairs around a small pool, overlooking the scenic (but extremely busy) harbor of Positano made me very glad we opted for the serenity of Palazzo Sasso.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvtoTravel514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Believe the hype. This is an outstanding hotel which exceeded our high expectations*.

The rooms are excellent. It seems to me that the rooms are fairly graded. I don't think there is much chance of getting a particularly good or bad room within a particular grade. The best rooms are all on the side of the hotel facing east towards Minori and Salerno and are definitely worth it as it is just divine waking up to that view. That being said, the hotel is so great that I would happily stay in a room without a view just to get access to the general facilities.

The shower was excellent (rain style with a big head) though Bulgari white/green/red tea toiletries always disappoint me just a touch - my pick of the three is red for what it's worth.

The hotel is built on a series of terraces, all with the same stunning view. So all the facilities on the main site (the main restaurant, the terrace, the pool, the gym, the indoor bar, etc) all have the same view.

Breakfast - very good if not quite flawless. A range of breads and cakes, premium yoghurts, fresh fruit and cheese and eggs cooked to order.

The service is first rate and the view (which I may have mentioned) is amazing.

The pool is lovely. It is pretty big and (critically) not too crowded. You can also order food and drinks from a very good poolside menu (shared with the terrace restaurant).

The hotel itself is just a great place to be - lots of space to relax and a charming indoor bar (though it was deserted while we were there).

The beach club (Sasso by the Sea) is a great facility. Being on top of a mountain, Ravello has no beaches but if the sea won't come to Sasso then Sasso will come to the sea. A shuttle bus runs hourly between the palazzo and the beach club and, aside from the sea, there are also sitting rooms and a very decent bistro so you can have a pizza or a drink. Again, the service is outstanding.

It's expensive (and it doesn't stop with the room either, food and drink are not cheap here) but excellent.

*though see separate review of the main restaurant, Rossellini's, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gourmet_Vegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the Palazzo Sasso for 3 nights with my boyfriend. We had originally tried to stay at a luxury hotel in Positano but were unable to secure reservations. Are we ever glad that it worked out this way! Ravello is an amazing quiet peaceful town perched on top of a mountain and the Palazzo Sasso has the best location. We had a junior suite with a view that we agreed made the expense of staying there totally worth it. The service was faultless, incredible. Skip the 2 Michelin star Rosselini, and eat at the casual bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Amazing hotel with first class service. We had a Queen double room with balcony and sea view. The room was small but worth having the sea view with balcony - stunning! The level of service was faultless, the staff on reception was helpful and had a great sense of humour, we had banter with the head guy on the front desk about the football. Italy were due to play England in the Euro's, so there was plenty of jokes. The waiting staff at breakfast were excellent and remembered our room number and name each day. Sasso by the sea is another experience not to be missed. The private driver takes you to a private Ocean club where you are waited on all day long. Amazing experience!! If you can afford to stay here for any occasion - do it! Don't make the mistake we made and get talked into ordering the rare Mountain shrimp. It doesn't taste as nice as lobster or Gamberoni but was extautionate at €250 for two people - don't do it.

Room Tip: Its not the size of the room but the location - sea view is worth paying for
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricky250873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and just recently stayed at the Palazzo Sasso for three nights as part of our honeymoon. We had high expectations going in to the trip based on nothing more than what we had great on the internet. Are expectations were so high in fact, that we had some concerns that it would not live up to our expectations.

Well, it did in fact live up to our expectations, an in fact, far surpassed them. Ravello was our first stop on our honeymoon, and we had an incredible experience. Everything was first class, from Antonio Ferrara the excellent concierge, to the reception staff, to the waiters around the pool and lest i forget, the amazing view of the ocean. I have stayed at a lot of nice hotels, and I don't know that i have seen a better, more scenic view. The food at the hotel was beyond amazing, and in fact, the Caprese Salad was the best I have tasted in Italy thus far (and I have ordered it every day).

The rooms are in fact small, which is to be expected for european hotels. I would highly recommend a sea view room. For us, everything was perfect and it marked a beyond perfect start to our honeymoon. We will stay there again.

Thank you to the staff for everything,


Mr. and Mrs. Robert Carson Wilson.

Room Tip: I would recommend the sea view room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CARSON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
#6 Business Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $451 - $2,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Avino is a stunning five-star deluxe hotel on Italy's famed Amalfi coast. Built in what was once a 12th century private villa for an Italian noble family, it has been rated as one of the world's finest hotels and boasts one-star Michelin dining. Tucked away in the medieval hilltop village of Ravello and perched high on the cliffs, 350 m (1,000 ft) above the sparkling Mediterranean. You can enjoy a candle light dinner served in our awarded Rossellinis restaurant or a delicious casual meal at Caffe dell'Arte or Terrazza Belvedere that during the evening becames Lobster & Martini Bar with more of 80 cocktails Martini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing