We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location, waterfront”
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Most of the previous reviews tell the story with the Mamorata. The waterfront location is fabulous. You cant get any closer to the water than this. Our room was on the small side and the bathroom also smallish. But this is all normal for Italy and Europe. Staff friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night as we wanted to explore Ravello and go to the Mamma Agata cooking school (see separate review). We then moved on to another hotel in Positano. I didn't pay attention to an earlier review that although the address is Ravello. It is really a long way from Ravello. 10 minutes(at best in the quiet times) in taxi and longer, much longer if you walk the reportedly 1500 stairs.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank foolonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    165
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
96
339
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Low on the coast, the Marmorata has the distinct advantage of being able to offer swimming in the sea without leaving the property. The beaches on the Amalfi coast are mostly disappointing, and often multiple flights of steps from your hotel. The seaside accomodations offered at this hotel are a prize. The sea and pool are accessed from a terraced patio. This hotel is on the outskirts of Ravello, so there is nothing within walking distance except a very convenient bus stop. The car ride into Ravello is short, and parking is plentiful.

Ravello is a small and lovely town, with a quiet charm unlike Amalfi or Positano. The hotel offers a morning shuttle service to Amalfi, about 10 minutes away, where there is plentiful shopping and ferry boat service to Positano and Capri. The local bus will return you to the perfectly situated stop steps from the Marmorata. The hotel staff were English-speaking and very helpful and hospitable. There was a pride of place, probably because the family-owners resided on property. The rooms were charming and clean, though as throughout most of Italy, there was a sense of antiquity rather than newness. The dining room produced excellent food. Overall, this was a peaceful retreat with the attractions of the region very close by.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ninadg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We enjoyed six nights here beginning June 17, 2006 and used it as a base for day trips along the Amalfi coast from Sorrento to Vietri. They have parking which is a real plus if you have rented a car. If I had it to do over again I would have planned to use the bus system instead of renting a car. I've driven in a lot of other countries but this was a little too exciting for me!

Please note, this hotel is not in Ravello. It is in Marmorata just off of the 163 highway. That makes it much better for getting to other towns along the coast but don't expect to be in Ravello. We hiked the hillside trail up to Ravello and back down the first day. It was a strenuous 45 minute walk up stone and concrete steps. Some of my best pictures of the countryside and seascapes were taken on that walk but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who is not already pretty fit.

We booked a larger room (Room 301) with a whirlpool bath and it was definitely worth it. We had a lovely view from our window and the bath was great for soothing tired legs after long treks each day. My only complaint about the room is that the lighting in the bath is too dim. We saved money by booking the room on the Best Western site and choosing their cheapest, non-refundable Internet rate. It was a good value for the money and my husband loved the nautical ambiance.

The excellent restaurant is on a lovely balcony and the prices are reasonable for the area. A very good nearby alternative is L'Arsenal in Minori. You can walk there easily in 10 or 15 minutes but there is no sidewalk on the 163 so be careful if you go after dark. We also had good sandwiches at the little outdoor cafe across the street from the hotel.

The pool/seaside swim area is nicely set up on several different levels. It's best if you can get a spot on one of the terraces at the edge of the sea. It can get a little noisey when kids on paddle boats and kayaks are playing nearby but we enjoyed looking at the sailboats that came to use the area as a day anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mary Denis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

First let me get one thing off my chest, the location for this hotel is both its strength and its downfall. We were a young couple looking to use our stop in Ravello for both relaxing and going out at night. We were impressed by the water and view, it felt like we had the sea all to ourselves, the sun bathing areas were nice but filled up very quickly. The pool was sea water basic and nice. We were very dissapointed about how far this hotel is to Amalfi or Minori. There was a bus but it ran only every hour and stopped running by 9 or 10pm. A taxi from Amalfi to the hotel which is not even 3 kM away was 25 euro. Riduculous the taxi drivers have a nice little scam going on. They would tack on extra charges for night fares or luggage. In order to go any where you had to take the bus from Salerno going to Amalfi and then take another bus to your other destination, the times between busses could be anywhere from 30 minutes to one hour. The trek from Ravello takes over 1500 steps, we took it down and got extremely lost, luckily all the italians were very kind and tried to help.

The staff at this hotel was not very impressive. First we had no idea there was a shuttle in the mornings, even though we made it a point to ask the front desk about bus schedules. They would not come out a serve drinks on the front verandah until the manager made them. They did not have internet cards available to use their internet nor was anyone interested in helping us get one.

The room was descent sized by European standards, nice fixtures and furniture. The beds was very uncomfortable, hard. The three nights we were there we called mainatenance twice, once when the airconditioning did not work and once when the unit froze over and leaked water all over th bathroom. The restaurant was nice and a beautiful view. Would have liked a balcony. I probably will not be staying here again, the location is definitely the reason.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank italybound06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2006

We can't say enough about Marmorata - views are fabulous; staff is friendly, helpful, welcoming, and rightfully proud of the hotel and the Ravello-Amalfi area. We were pampered and catered to our entire stay. The restaurant is another plus. Our package included dinner every night and we were never disappointed. The day trips and transport they arranged for us were a good variety to get an overview of Amalfi, Capri, Positano, Ravello, Vietri and Pompeii. We loved it and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canuck_murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 3, 2005

The Hotel Mamorato says that it's in Ravello in its address but it isn't really. You can walk up to Ravello (1,500 steps uphill ... we did it downhill!) or get a bus to Amalfi and then to Ravello. Alternatively the hotel will organise a taxi for €25 each way (excessive but what can you do). They run a shuttle bus in the morning to Ravello. We had a room with a sea view. For a 4 star hotel the rooms are in need of updating, particularly the bathrooms. Would have been nice to have a balcony so that you could really enjoy the wonderful views. Grumbles aside, the service from the staff is second to none and the restaurant is really very good. I have been really struck by the attentive service of Italian waiters - we've stayed in Sorrento, Amalfi as well as Mamorato. The swimming area is great although spaces get filled up quickly. Hotel Mamorato is a good place to unwind and relax. Ravello was a fantastic little town we thought. Lovely atmosphere, nice restaurants and art galleries. The Ravello Festival was on while we were there so that added to the buzz around the place. A visit to Villa Cimbrone is a must for the gardens and the magical views. We had lunch and a glass of wine in the gardens there to the strains of classical music - very decadent :-)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 11, 2005

Highly recommended. The hotel has a gorgeous setting , lovely rooms, excellent staff. This hotel is a great value (a four star with three star prices). The food is excellent (some of the best we had during a 3 week trip to Italy) and moderately priced. There is swimming access to the sea and a heated pool (you can get lunch by the pool and drinks). You can also rent boats for the day. If you don't have a car (we didn't) the busses running into Amalfi and Ravello stop right at the hotel. The hotel also has free morning shuttle service to Amalfi, where you can catch the ferry to Positano. It is also possible to schedule a guided trip to Pompei (highly recommended).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.6 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Address: Via Bizantina, 3 - Localita Marmorata, 84010, Ravello, Italy (Formerly Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#4 Family Hotel in Ravello
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata is a 4 stars hotel situated in Ravello on a wonderful cliff in a lovely, quiet and small bay, in the heart of the divine Amalfi Coast.The Hotel was an ancient paper-mill dating from the 15th century and thanks to the clever renovation and the antique marine style furnishing, it is unique in this enchanting inlet of the coast.Comfortable rooms with sea view, hydro-massage swimming-pool with landing stage, fitness-room and free parking are available to guests.From "L'Antica Cartiera", the inside hotel restaurant, our guests could enjoy a wonderful sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marmorata
Best Western Ravello
Ravello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing