We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent a couple of days there in August 2011 on our way back from Calabria to Naples. We had a family room for us and our two kids; the room was beautifully furnished, immaculate, very spacious and with a fantastic view of the coast underneath. Service and staff were top class, the food some of the best we have found travelling around the world and the place and its surrounding area absolutely breathtaking. We had a wonderful (alas too short) time there, definitely the highlight of our two weeks holiday. Will go back again soon! Thanks guys.

Marco and Jill, London

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcoma62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    177
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
108
353
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on a tour of the area and although it's marketed as Ravello it really is about 6 km from the village, although it is quite nice to get away from the chaos of the day trippers on the amalfi coast and it is one of the few hotels that actually have free parking. Our room was tiny and quite claustrobic, and certainly overpriced at almost €200 per night b&b, on speaking with other guests it would appear that some rooms are slightly bigger however very few have balconies, but goodness knows what you would pay for those. There were a lot of tours predominantly from USA which at times was a bit over bearing, but it is obviously a favourite that the tour operators use. Another thing to be aware of is that although this is a best western and we were expecting the normal standards of a multi national chain, this is actually privately owned which operates under the banner. The decor here is nautical which really just looked at bit dated and in need of a serious update. We ate in the hotel a couple of nights and the food was very good - as previous reviewers have noted the tuna tartare is excellent and not to be missed and service excellent, but after that we ate out at other nearby locations. Which is another problem with this hotel, although it is stated that Minori is within walking distance and in theory Atrani, the road is so dangerous with no pavement that you really would risk your own life walking these roads!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudski71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My partner and I arrived at the Marmorata on 15th Sept 2011 and left today, ( 22nd Sept ). This is the first time I have been motivated to enter a review on any site, but the quality of the experience inspired me to write.
The hotel is sited in a spectacular location, the facilities certainly deserve the 4 star rating, and the staff are as friendly and obliging as any I have ever encountered. Everything about the place reflected highly efficient and committed management, the staff are brilliant, from the reception, through dining, and the immaculate service from the cleaning ladies, every member of the team seemed genuinely dedicated to our wellbeing.
Our room, a double with a sea view, was comfortable and tastefully furnished, the standard of housekeeping impeccable......we have stayed in hotels world-wide and agreed that the Marmorata was as good as any we have enjoyed.
We will definitely return, and would recommend it to anyone, with one slight rider, it is not suitable for young children, too many steps with vertical cliffs, other than that, fantastic.

Room Tip: Any with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was the last leg of our Italy trip and it was wonderful. The view from our room was amazing. We loved the food in the restaurant..the lemon cake is fabulous! We took the city bus from Salerno to the hotel and it was quite easy to use. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was our 4th time to the Amalfi coast. An exceptionally beautiful area. The Best Western Hotel is up to standard in terms of hotels in this area. We paid €249. per night including breakfast in a sea view room. An extremely small window, no balconey. If I could do it over I would save the extra €50. per night and opt for the courtyard. The room is small, clean, done in a nautical theme but very basic. Amenities are limited--no hand lotion or shampoo, very basic blow dryer. A queen bed is really two twins pushed together. I would not even consider this hotel if I was travelling with either seniors or young ones since the access to the beach (you jump into the ocean) or the small pool is accessible only by a hazardous series of steps with railings consisting of rope and weak poles. An in shape person needs to stop for a breath of air when done with this. I am actually amazed at the fact that they have not made an attempt to better secure the area. The other bad point of this hotel is that if you want to tour you must do so by car, taxi or bus. We had a car, however, the parking in Amalfi is €5. per hour & €2.50 per hour in Positano and Ravello. All places that are a must see with great seafood restaurants. Breakfast in the hotel is the usual european buffet, lacking was FRESH fruit. All in all I would stay the next time in Pietra di Luna hotel, where we had previously stayed. Access to beach and roads by foot, (no need to worry about parking if travelling near by). More secure access. If travelling with toddlers or seniors this hotel is safer. The price is much lower also. Breakfast is about the same.
Laura August 2011

Room Tip: take courtyard, seaview is just a slit of a window for €50. extra per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loralu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This little hotel, to my opinion has one of the best positions, in that you are literally on the sea, which, after driving in and around the coast, these hotels are few and far between. Some hotels, offer fabulous views, some offer great proximity to the town centers, but very few offer a beach or easy access to the sea. Although, we didn't have a beach, the pool terrace was on the sea, you had the choice of the pool or the sea for a swim, or both of course. The service around the pool was fabulous, no issue with positioning of pool chairs, as I read in previous reviews :)))).
A big plus..... We did a day tour to Capri and the boat picked us up at the hotel pontoon!! Again not too many hotels on the coast can offer that facility.
The onsite seafood restaurant was very good, and Nicola was a real gem. My husband LOVED the tuna tartar so much he ordered it 2 nights in a row, the 2nd night he ordered it double size!!!!!
We had a car and had planned to eat outside the hotel as well, but in the end we couldn't be bothered as the food, service and aspect was great within. We like not being in the thick of the tourists, this place is quiet and exclusive. In saying that, the rooms were not so great, they were not that quiet as the walls are a bit thin, so beware!!!!! I could clearly hear every word of the conversation being conducted by a couple in the next door room, which was most annoying as it was 2am in the morning, I was sincerely wishing they would just shut up and go to sleep!!!!!!!
The rooms too were pretty small and poky, but it is really the nature of the beast!!! The building was an old paper mill, so the conversion to a hotel is what it is. They have nautically themed the hotel to make it feel more like sleeping in a ships cabin rather than a hotel room! It sort of works?
Anyway, I would stay again in this hotel over and above many more well known hotels on the coast, simply because of it's position, and the staff!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel was nice enough, but we thought we were getting a room with a balcony and we had one small window. For €300 per night, we expected a little more. There are a few rooms with balconies. Not for sitting, but at least with Freich doors and a short deck for standing. Just be clear when you book that you are getting what you think you are getting.
Otherwise, staff was friendly and the otel was very clean. We checked out early(after three days) and booked a place in Maiori, which was a nice change. Not as privite, but more choice of restuarants and quite livley.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
733 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Address: Via Bizantina, 3 - Localita Marmorata, 84010, Ravello, Italy (Formerly Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#4 Family Hotel in Ravello
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata is a 4 stars hotel situated in Ravello on a wonderful cliff in a lovely, quiet and small bay, in the heart of the divine Amalfi Coast.The Hotel was an ancient paper-mill dating from the 15th century and thanks to the clever renovation and the antique marine style furnishing, it is unique in this enchanting inlet of the coast.Comfortable rooms with sea view, hydro-massage swimming-pool with landing stage, fitness-room and free parking are available to guests.From "L'Antica Cartiera", the inside hotel restaurant, our guests could enjoy a wonderful sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marmorata
Best Western Ravello
Ravello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing