We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and nice view”
Review of Il Flauto di Pan

Il Flauto di Pan
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $101 - $146
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Within the historic walls of the Villa Cimbrone, we invite you to savor an enchanting culinary experience at "Il Flauto di Pan", our gourmet restaurant. A symphony of flavors, aromas and colors awaits you, bringing together the beauty, gastronomy and emotion of the Mediterranean. The Amalfi Coast's proud history provides inspiration for a menu that strikes harmony between renowned culinary traditions and the creative artistry of our award-winning chef and his own staff. The gourmet restaurant is only open in the evening. Max 35 seats. Reservation is required.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food and nice view”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

a wonderful combination of good food and modern interpretation of traditional recipes with an elegant environment and an unforgettable panorama, 400 metros over the sea

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefano_Boriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    41
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

People talk about this restaurant because it has a Michelin star, so maybe I am spoiled coming from Los Angeles where we have many Michelin rated restaurants. We stayed at the hotel so we ate there twice. Both times I was not impressed with my meal and cannot understand why anyone would recommend this restaurant if you are not staying at the hotel. It is just not worth the walk. Service was great and the view is spectacular- so it gets 5 stars for those.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina del Rey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bellisimo”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Upon arriving twenty minutes early for our reservation expecting to grab a drink, it took that amount of time to be addressed with only one couple ahead of us. Arriving on the lighter side of sunset, we were lucky enough to grab a table on the balcony with the beautiful view of the Amalfi coast.

A book of a menu was offered by a very helpful member of staff who welcomed us to our table. The fouur course set meals were a little large for our usual tastes so we skipped to a simple two course selection (even though with apertifs we essentially had a four course meal).

For main our choices were Lamb ribs in a pistaccio coating and a venison steak in pastry, both of which wowed with teste and presentation.

This is a 5 starred michelin restaurant and well deserved. The food is only shown up by the views and despite it being a very windy evening, nothing felt more special for our honeymoon meal than sat on the highest point of Ravello with great food.

The wine selection is vast and there is a catalogue on offer. We went with the Pinot Grigio which was surprisingly cheaply priced at 36 euro a bottle but was a great match with the food.

Dessert was a trifle for my partner and a lemon cake but with a twist, served in a shape of art and tasting devine, the menu was nothing short of perfection.

Topped off with a coffee (to which we later realised we had only been served one) and the glowing setting of the moon, the total bill for a two course meal and bottle of wine was 165 euro. Set menus including taster wines were set at 85 euro per person.

Despite a rocky start, Il Flauto di Pan was nothing short of beautiful and will be very hard to beat for its views and food alike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MDWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fancy, but mostly tasteless food”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The view, the service and the predinner drinks in the garden were all great. The food was more of a disappointment: the dishes looked smashing when they were served, but the food on them was practically tasteless. Cannot remember when I last had such a tasteless lamb chop or smoked fish - or a fish cake that looked and tasted like a sponge. I wonder how this restaurant got a Michelin star? Not even close to others I have been to.
Probably better to go there for lunch, have a simple and much less expensive dish - and enjoy the view and the garden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrietn127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“WHAT A VIEW”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

WE were fortunate to eat in this lovely restaurant and definitely had the best table in the house. The table with an arched window looking out to sea was truly amazing. The service was impeccable and the food was good. We decided to go for the small meat menu and the wines to match. They were very good although I would say that the wines were not the best of their category they certainly were well matched. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with plenty of space and privacy as everyone else opted for the terrace outside but it was so crowded outside. Inside we had the view and the feeling of being outside but also the space. A memorable visit to a lovely restaurant which I highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Flauto di Pan also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Flauto di Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing