We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Romance”
Review of Il Flauto di Pan

Il Flauto di Pan
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $105 - $152
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Within the historic walls of the Villa Cimbrone, we invite you to savor an enchanting culinary experience at "Il Flauto di Pan", our gourmet restaurant. A symphony of flavors, aromas and colors awaits you, bringing together the beauty, gastronomy and emotion of the Mediterranean. The Amalfi Coast's proud history provides inspiration for a menu that strikes harmony between renowned culinary traditions and the creative artistry of our award-winning chef and his own staff. The gourmet restaurant is only open in the evening. Max 35 seats. Reservation is required.
Woodside, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure Romance”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was surprised by my boyfriend with a visit to the beautiful town of Ravello. We stayed in the magical Villa Cimbrone but this is not necessary for visiting the beautiful gardens or experiencing a truely fabulous dining experience. At first we were slightly hesitant because one of the reviews we had read on tripadvisor ; However, after experiencing one of the most amazing ambiances and culinary expressions I wonder how one could write such a review. Having eaten at the French laundry, Grady danko, michael Mina, and other top restaurants in San Francisco and around the world, I would not hesitate to put this restaurant near the top: especially for romance. We were seated basically on a private terrace that looked out over the Amalfi coast. We shared one entre and two apps, which was plenty of food. The staff was extremely attentive and very knowledgable. I also thought that the prices were reasonable considering the setting. You should make reservations in advance, especially if you want to sit by the window.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AhnaBm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    42
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner in Ravello”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Make sure you arrive at least an hour early to get a chance to tour the villa. Without reservations you would have to pay the entrance fee but it is free if you let them know about your reservations. We went at sunset and the view was breath-taking. We had a limoncelo at the cafe near the end of the villa as well as cocktails while we waited for our table. Highly recommend the Ravello Cosmo. The small tasting menu was excellent at 70 euro and there was a larger menu for 100.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dcpyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A magic door to heaven”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

You have to knock on an ancient wooden door and wait. When a nice waitress opens and welcomes you it’s easy to understand that you’ve just entered a magic little place. Villa Cimbrone’s restaurant is very charming, thanks to both its location and cuisine. The staff is friendly and helpful, they really care about your dinner and they present delicious dishes. Everything, from the special bread selection to the artistic ball shaped dessert was perfect. Worth a Micheline star for sure. Unforgettable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaraItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A very pleasant lunch”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I were visiting the Villa Cimbrone gardens (an absolute must if you visit Ravello) and decided to stop for lunch. The restaurant is well presented throughout and has a feel of quality. We sat in the terrace/garden, which was very quiet (end of May 2012). The young waitress was charming and efficient and our food was excellent and reasonably priced. Certainly can recommend a stop in this hilltop oasis for lunch (we didn't get in for dinner on the night we tried to come back, as it was booked up, so you should reserve - as in most Ravello restaurants). Note that if you are in the gardens mid morning or afternoon there is a nice little bar under the trees beside the infinity terrace at the far end of the gardens

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Class”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I cannot speak highly enough of our experiance.

Pre dinner, the service was excellent, we initially had trouble locating the Villa, but a couple of calls and someone came and fetched us.

Inside the restaurent, the 2 head waiters were excellent in explaining the menu and dishes, but added their own individuality to make it a genuine experiance. The sommelier, was just as good and really devoted to the task of matching the right wines to our Big Tasting menu.

The food, we opted for the Big Tasting Menu with the matching wines - why select what you know, when this team of professionals have mapped it out for you? Some of the dishes where stand outs, anchovy pasta, conchile, dessert, rabbit, the others where really good too. A chap earlier wrote, (tkb from UK I think) to keep it simple and singular theme, partially agree BUT cannot fault the passion the chef and his team showed on the plates they served us.
We returned the next morning, to see the villa - awesome views, but for me the service matched with food and wine at Il Flauto di Pan at Villa Chimbrone, is what I'll remember of our time at the Amalfi Coast.

Helpful?
Thank Desi_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Flauto di Pan also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Flauto di Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing