We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gardens and lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cimbrone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cimbrone Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough,England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gardens and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lunch in the garden terrace is a delight. A walk around the gardens with its magnificent views followed by lunch is an experience not to be missed and is highly recommended.
The service was very professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 581happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback which we very much appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoyed either the breathtaking view that only Villa Cimbrone can offer and your lunch at our “Mediterranean Restaurant”.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the very nearest future.

Kindest regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    33
    15
    10
    13
See reviews for
44
175
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was magnificient. The grounds were gorgeous. The pool was magic. The staff was professional, knowledgeable and very accommodating. We had wonderful breakfasts there every morning as well. Conveniently located too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really pleased to read you enjoyed our Hotel de Charme and all our services.

In fact, we wish to emphasize how important is the satisfaction of our guests for us and how we are proud to know that our work is being recognized and rewarded.

Once again thank you for the wonderful review and looking forward to welcoming you back we send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I just returned from an amazing trip to Italy which was highlighted by our stay and wedding at Villa Cimrbone. The past year has been such an incredible experience and our wedding exceeded everyone's expectations. The staff is incredible and the hotel and grounds are stunning. The most accurate way I can describe this venue is that it feels like time stops when you are there. Perched at the top of Ravello, the views are endless and the gardens are like something out of A Secret Garden. We all stayed at Villa Cimbrone for 3 nights and had our wedding on the last evening. The food, weather, staff, venue were perfect and it felt as if we were living some sort of dream while we were there. While the gardens were open during our ceremony, there are plenty of places to go to take photos and our ceremony took place in a lower garden away from day visitors. It didn't bother me at all that the gardens were open and the ceremony was far enough away to not feel as though we were getting married in a fish bowl. We had dinner in the crypt which is hands down the best wedding dinner location I have ever experienced. It was such a unique experience and caused every one of our guests' jaws to dropped as they entered. After, we had dancing in the lower garden and at this point it was much later and the gardens were closed to the public. It was so special because it felt as though we were on top of the world dancing under the moon light.

Everything about our stay and wedding was perfect and I have now stayed at Villa Cimbrone twice and highly recommend it. Many people miss Ravello when visiting the Amalfi Coast because of the drive up into the hills but it is SO worth it. It is the most enchanting and beautiful place I have ever been to and to experience our wedding there felt like a real like fairy tale. Thank you Villa Cimbrone for a wedding of a lifetime!

Also, as a side note, a few shout outs to some of our vendors who were all incredible. Our photographer JoAnne Dunn was AMAZING and is reason enough to get married in Ravello (or anywhere in Italy for that matter!). I only regret that we weren't able to bring her home with us after the wedding! Also, our florist Armando (based in Ravello) was so talented and helpful. Finally, our band Family Funk was outstanding and had everyone dancing. They truly know what it takes to make you feel loved and special and I could not have asked for more from all of them.
Most importantly, they are just great people that make it impossible not to have the time of your life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for staying once again at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, this time for your wedding.

We are very pleased to read your valuable review, and learn with great pleasure that we have made one of the most important day of your life special and unforgettable, just like you wanted.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back again to Hotel Villa Cimbrone, maybe for your first anniversary.

Warmest regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you love gardens, history and Italy this is the place for you. We stayed at Villa Cimbrone for three nights at the start of our honeymoon and it really was the highlight. We loved watching the sunset with a drink on the infinity terrace and wandering around the gardens and private hotel grounds. The pool is lovely and great after a day of hiking to the nearby towns. The surrounding area is full of beautiful walks. The restaurant is also very romantic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brush d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind review and for choosing Hotel Villa Cimbrone to celebrate you honeymoon.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed every single aspect that makes magical our property.

The terrace of infinity is the ideal place to enjoy the views of the Amalfi Coast and its stunning sunsets.

Hoping to welcoming you back soon, maybe for your first anniversary, we send you our very best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from having lunch at the Villa Cimbrone, and i must say it was just magical, like a scene from a classic romantic movie. The setting is just breathtaking, we had lunch out on the patio, over looking the pool and the views below of the Amalfi coastline.. Sevice was spotless, very professional and friendly. My wife, my 7 months old son and me were very well looked after, its nice to feel pampered every now and then. The lunch menu had a good variety of choice and the wine list was endless, all that we ordered was fresh, tasty and plated with passion. Diffenetly coming back with our family in the near future to experience this venue again. Take you again for a memorable experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vintagekrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable review.

We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your lunch in the beautiful setting that our property offers and where you can experience the most amazing view of the Amalfi Coast

Looking forward to welcoming you to Villa Cimbrone once again, we send you our best wishes.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Other reviews prompted me to inquire about the Villa Cimbrone's accommodation and restaurant. The reception girl was haughty and didn't seem to have information on site. She would not permit me to see the restaurant or find out about reservations. So I visited the gardens and found them run down and uncared for. No fountains splashing, parterres unmanicured, statues broken and dirty. Nothing in comparison to the Villa Rufolo gardens at 1/2 the entrance fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are traveling on the Amalfi Coast of Italy, stay a few days in Ravello, Italy -- a town situated above on high cliffs with scenic beauty. I do not want to go in the history of Hotel Villa Cimbrone, but you can Wiki it and it is worth a read. The hotel has gorgeous grounds that are open to public viewing during the day. Many weddings are held here for it's beauty. The restaurant on premises for breakfast is poolside and open air under a trellis of vines. Also there is a gourmet restaurant with excellent food for dinner. The rooms are very large as well as the bathroom. There is a very picturesque courtyard once entering the grounds. The place is so beautiful to walk around that non-guests are charge a nominal fee to do so.

Room Tip: We were traveling with a group and each room is in a different location of the villa and each has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words regarding our property.

After reading your review we were truly delighted because the satisfaction of our Guests is our best reward.

It is in fact wonderful to know that you had good memories of Villa Cimbrone and appreciated our gardens, the hotel and the gourmet cuisine of our Restaurant “Il Flauto di Pan”.

We really hope to welcoming you back and send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.5 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.6 mi away
BW PREMIER COLLECTION Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cimbrone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cimbrone Hotel

Property: Villa Cimbrone Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara, 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#6 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cimbrone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Cimbrone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing