We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my top 3 favourite hotels in the world”
Review of Villa San Cosma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa San Cosma
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have stayed in a few really good 5 star hotels (Victoria Falls Hotel in Zimbabwe and the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel in Mumbai, India) and I would say Villa San Cosma, Ravello is up there with the best. In fact it is even better because you don't just have a room and bathroom, but a kitchen and lounge as well - much more spacious. The views from the Villa are some of the best in the world... spending time in the gardens and in the plunge pool/hydro massage was the best part of the holiday. Ravello is the most picturesque village and Amalfi is a wonderful 20 minute walk down the stairs (but take the bus back up!). The walk up to Ravello town is strenuous but invigorating! Our breakfast and the coffee was just fantastic and Margherita was friendly and full of useful information. The service and personal attention was exceptional - also up there with the best service I have experienced at any hotel. Margherita does everything herself and she does it all extremely well. This hotel is highly recommended - an experience you won't soon forget!

Room Tip: Limoni - spacious with great views!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianainspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Villa San Cosma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 79 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have visited Ravello at least eight times, and it is truly a special place. We have stayed at four and five star hotels (and there are wonderful hotels in Ravello), and have stayed in other apartments and villas (and there are many great vacation homes), but Villa San Cosma Country House is our favorite. The location (next door to Mama Agata’s famous cooking school), has the best of the best views. It is a little walk from the main square (but we usually rent a car and there are taxis and a bus stop nearby). The Villa is divided into several apartments, from one bedroom, to a combination of rooms enough for a wedding party. We like the ones with balconies overlooking the ocean. The owner’s daughter, Margherita, is the manager, and she is terrific! We like to make our own breakfast but she includes a great breakfast. She can arrange tours or trips, make dinner reservations or suggest fun things to do. While there are great things to do, I like chilling in the Villa’s garden most of all. The flowers, the olive trees, the lemon trees (they smell great) and the view… why go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rassaslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Over the past 11 years, I have been fortunate enough to have had many wonderful trips to this beautiful part of Italy. I have stayed in different hotels and B&B's but I have to say this has been my all time favorite. As an organizer of culinary tours, I choose Villa San Cosma as our accommodations for my group and I could not of made a better choice. Our hostess, Margherita was an absolute angel. She could not do enough to make our stay more comfortable. The villa itself is stunning, from the breathtaking views, to the lemon gardens, the beautiful rooms. There is nothing lacking on this property. The walk to the town centre is about 20 minutes and uphill but everyone enjoyed the exercise and after having a nice dinner in Ravello, it was nice to have an easy walk back. The women in my group had only positive comments the whole week and I was so pleased everyone was happy! As for me, I could not of been happier.
I would highly recommend Villa San Cosma as a definite place to stay if you are considering visiting Ravello, the pearl of the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKDestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been to Ravello six times before, staying in a variety of hotels and apartments; this was by far the best. Our purpose this time was to revisit the scene of previous family holidays and take our now adult son and his partner to see where he spent youthful holidays. We were not disappointed and the young people in their 20s enjoyed it every much as the mid 50s parents.

The setting under the cliff of the Caimbrone Gardens is a huge advantage, but the standard of the renovation and maintenance of the property just builds on the natural advantages. The gardens are like being in a Chelsea show garden, but you get to use theas your own. tHe place is dripping with lemons, figs, pomegranates etc. and you are free to pick and eat them fresh from the tree.

The other reviews about Margharita are absolutely on the button, she is an excellent host. Yes the steps are a bit steep, but Ravello is about walking and the many different routes into town keep the interest of the visitor, with new vistas at every turn. Apart from walking into town, 15 minutes, Amalfi, Atrani,and Minori, are all less than an hours walk away.

Room Tip: The rooms are light, beautifully furnished, clean to a fault and very well maintained.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sl0wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I were lucky enough to spend part of our 10th anniversary at Villa San Cosma. My wife's brother and his wife stayed with us in the Arancio Suite (2 bedrooms) for part of their honeymoon. We were all swept away by the stunning beauty of the Amalfi Coast and every day we thanked our lucky stars for coming across Villa San Cosma.

The accommodation was....in a word....superb! From the beautiful lemon groves and the enchanting scent of rosemary and lavender, the impeccable views from the villa's decks and balconies left us speechless.

Our hostess, Margherita, treated us wonderfully. From the delicious breakfasts to her wonderful suggestions for dining options, our vacation would not have been so special without her helpful advice, generosity and genuine concern for our comfort.

Nestled on the cliffs beneath the town of Ravello, the villa faced out over the Gulf of Salerno from a height of 300m above sea level. There are parking spots available about 100m from the villa with some sloped sidewalks and ramps providing assistance to move rolling luggage to and from your vehicle.

We usually took our vehicle into town and parked at the public lot, although the town is accessible via stairs (about a 10-15 minute mostly uphill walk). Now in our 40's and 50's and with one bad hip in the group, we did the stairs once, then opted for the car.

The villa itself had everything you could ask for; with all plumbing, lighting, air-conditioning, flat-screenTVs etc being state of the art.

I would highly recommend anyone wishing to visit the Amalfi Coast area to put Villa San Cosma at the top of their list. We loved it.....I'm sure you will too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanJayCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Villa San Cosma nestles on the cliff beneath Ravello in San Cosma e Damiano, to give enchanting views over the Gulf of Salerno. The converted farmhouse is comfortably appointed and decorated with beautiful ceramics (for walls, table tops and even key rings, surely a must-have souvenir!)
The grounds are surprisingly extensive, with lemon groves, separate patios for the apartments, sun loungers with a jacuzzi which boasts an amazing view, and even a private grotto which is lit in different colours!
Margherita is the perfect hostess, kind, attentive and friendly and you can have an excellent breakfast provided by her or make your own.
The wonderful Ravello, with its relaxed charm, is a climb up the steps where you will find the Villa Rufolo and the Villa Cimbrone! When you return from a fantastic night out San Cosma is a peaceful retreat! (You may wake to the bells ringing Ave Maria!)
We stayed during the Ravello festival, so there was occasional music from the local brass band playing the in the square. From the Duomo emerged a candle-lit procession which passed through the streets, the statue of the patron saint San Pantaleone held aloft, with bells ringing and the band playing, the day culminating in a pulsating fireworks display.
Ravello is also the city of music and during the festival there were plenty of events and performances to pick and choose from, which take place within the elegant curves of the Oscar Niemeyer auditorium or on a stage built out from the Villa Rufolo to overhang the cliff!
You won't eat badly in Ravello and some of the restaurant views are stunningly romantic. Margherita will help with recommendations! You can also take a break from restaurants and have a secluded meal by the apartment if you want, watching the lights along the coast begin to glow as night falls!
You can go for walks from San Cosma to the towns and villages along the coast or down to Amalfi (taking the bus back!)
Or you can just sit in the square in Ravello soaking up the unique atmosphere as people young and old stroll, mingle and chat!
Bliss!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHiggins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The location, perched high over the sea, is breathtaking and we spent time each evening admiring the bay from our private balcony. This recently renovated property is immaculate and the grounds with olive, lemon and fig trees and extensive flowers is truly beautiful. Margerita is a wonderful hostess and provided a lovely breakfast on the terrace each morning with lots of practical advice in excellent english. She went above and beyond and assisted us with our laundry which was totally unexpected but very much appreciated. Her family runs a ceramics shop in town and we bought some lovely souvenirs. We definitely advise a stop at the shop. Overall, we highly recommend Villa San Cosma and we would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Arancio room and it had a breathtaking view from the private balcony
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.3 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Cosma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Cosma

Address: via San Cosma, 11, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ravello
Price Range: $177 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa San Cosma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing