We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value genuine Italian”
Review of La Vecchia Cantina

La Vecchia Cantina
Ranked #23 of 42 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Private parking,open all day long:from 12am to 23pm
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value genuine Italian”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stumbled upon this place while we were geting our bearings in Ravello and having arrived on an early morning flight, we were waiting for our room at the Hotel to be ready. Desperately in need of some good, tasty, no-nonsense food this place ticked all the boxes. It had a nice outside terrace area, beautiful views of the valley as it is situated on the mountain side of town and the food was excellent. I went with the recommendation of the waiter and was rewarded with one of the best seafood pasta dishes I've tasted. The staff all all very friendly and jovial, the atmosphere is good and we liked it so much we returned later in the week for an evening pizza and weren't dissappointed. I would recommend you go with the advice of the waiter on both food and wine and you won't be dissappointed - look out for the "slightly fizzy"(!!) red wine to accompany pizza, it's an unexpected treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    93
    31
    29
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We Love This Place!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go to this wonderful restaurant every time we go to the Amalfi Coast. Food is wonderful and never disappoints. We haven't tried the pizza because we are always tempted by the seafood. The owner is amazing -- let him choose your meal for you. And don't miss the ceramica next door -- Cosmolena. As a result of our many trips to visit Lena, we have a full set of dishes, and many decorative plates hanging on our walls.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank culturevulture45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honest to goodness proper Italian food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I like this place, I like it a lot. When I sit in one of the many humdrum pizzerias on Britain's streets I wish I was sitting in a place like this. Situated on the inland side of the town with views of the majestic valley and none of the sea they produce proper Italian pizzas as they're supposed to be made. That slightly biscuity smell with bubbles of burnt crust and then great combinations of toppings on top of tomato and mozzarella. They're served by men who look like they also have proper jobs but care about the food they're serving. The other Italian courses looked hearty and flavoursome. We ate there on our final night. We like the final meal of our holiday to be special.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigchap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Situated on a corner just outside the town-a friendly and welcoming place.Good rustic no nonsense menu at a reasonable price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank annpat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all want to say that the staff is very very friendly! I have ordered pizza calzone napolitan, as far as i remember, that pizza was the nicest one that i have ever eaten in my entire life, although i have tried many kinds of pizza in Napoli. And it also was huge))) The atmosphere was friendly) So, i advice this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cupcakeMARYANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vecchia Cantina also viewed

 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Vecchia Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing