We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Honeymoon”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We booked Villa Fraulo for the last part of our honeymoon around the Amalfi coast. It was a lovely way to finish on a high point.

The Hotel is recently finished and immaculately decorated with some style. Our room was clean and generously sized with a sea view and balcony, despite being on one of the lower floors. The outside terrace was a particularly nice place to while away a day in the sunshine with amazing views and the pool, while not heated, is a very neat use of a small space.

The staff were unfailingly helpful, printing off car hire vouchers on request and in particular Mauricio in the bar was a wealth of information about life in the area and the places nearby.

We did not eat in the restaurant because it seemed very expensive. The breakfast was good, especially the coffee. They made a very fine job of our laundry, but charged 25 euros which seemed alot for one small load!

Overall it's one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in and well worth splashing out on.

A word about Ravello- it really is as nice as the hype. It is a beautiful place, there seems to be a breathtaking view around every corner, the steps and cobbles of the streets are not too crowded and it manages not to feel too touristy. The gardens at Villa Cimbrone are especially well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VerboLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    119
    39
    13
    14
See reviews for
72
272
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My daughter and I just finished an amazing week's stay at the Villa Fraulo in Ravello, Italy. We arrived on October 2 to attend a 20th wedding anniversary celebration for friends and the seven days passed much too quickly. We booked our stay when the hotel first opened based on other Trip Advisor recommendations and we were thrilled with the decision. The hotel is located in the perfect location in Ravello. The bus station is just near to the door on the lower level. Since we used Ravello as our base, it made it easy to catch the commuter bus to Amalfi for transfers. It is also just a 5 minute walk to the main square that has charming shops and church.

The views from the hotel were stunning! The weather was perfect every day except for one which was the day we signed up for Mamma Agata's cooking class. We were fortunate to be able to take day trips to Paestum, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Mount Vesuvius, and Scala. We ran out of time and have Sorrento and Positano on our list for our next visit. One of the highlights of our trip was a hike from Ravello to Amalfi. There is also a hike from Ravello to Minori but we did not have time to make this trip. The other highlight was a visit to La Rondinaia--Gore Vidal's home that is being renovated.

The staff at the Villa Fraulo is superb! Matteo, the owner, is on site and wants every guest to have an amazing experience. Meike, Margot, and Pompeo are wonderful concierges and have the best tips for restaurants, taxis, and excursions. They know the area and their advice is spot on.

We also loved our room! We stayed in #802 which was on a higher floor and overlooked the terrace. The linens were of the finest quality from Frette and our bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I wish I could take it home! Our bathroom was enormous and contained every amenity. The room also had a small refrigerator which was nice for storing leftovers from the huge meals we had.

Breakfast every morning on the terrace was a delight! Anthony took such good care of us and treated us like family. The fresh fruit was delicious and the coffee was out of this world. Plus, the view, the morning sun, and the lovely music was the perfect start to our day.

My daughter and I felt safe the entire time and wish we had another week to stay at the beautiful Villa Fraulo. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc10away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

located on an extremely narrow road in ravello (read: if you're driving, take a breath and drive real slow), the hotel is worth making the effort to get to.. it's beautifully maintained with stunning views off their balcony... staff is friendly and ever helpful - especially with getting our car sorted - and with a location just a 3 minute walk from the town centre, we really couldn't have asked for more.

our only complaints are that our room faced the road (but then again we didn't pay for one of the nicer rooms with a view) and so it did get a bit noisy. parking was also a little pricey at 25 euros a day - think it was the most we paid for parking while we were along the amalfi coast... but overall, we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shunuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed in September 2010 and we were so fortunate for hot weather. The views from the central terrace are breathtaking and having your drinks/lunch/dinner on the terrace is fantastic. It is a new hotel and there are a few kinks to work out but overall the value at present is amazing and you won't find anything at this level for the current prices. The bar staff (Maurizio) is amazing and so professional he definitely made us feel at home. The rooms are beautiful but unfortunately due to the geographics of the Coast if your room is sea view there is a town road directly below and the noise from the buses and scooters can be disturbing early in the am. Due to the age of the building they cannot soundproof/insulate (due to rock) so at times you do hear people in the adjacent rooms if they are loud. The hotel of course cannot rectify this as the age of the bldg would prohibit such construction. It is a magnificent hotel with so many attractions steps away and the infinity pool is gorgeous. They are opening up a spa for next year (2011) so I believe the rates will increase but I don't know at this time if the hotel could justify 500 euro night, even with a spa. The staff and owner are extremely friendly and outgoing and the history of the hotel is interesting, as it's owner is a descendent. The pool is not heated so North American's should be aware as they are used to heated pools. We loved it and because of the hot hot weather in Sept it was refreshing. The lunch and quality of the meals was great with the wait staff being courteous and professional. At present I don't believe the hotel has enough staff employed on the terrace/restaurant/bar to handle the amount of guests it's receiving. Sometimes I felt that the bar staff were stretched and doing the work of 2-3 people. But I'm sure the kinks will all be worked out in time. For a hotel of this quality in such a magnificent location you won't find better value. I hope they don't increase the prices too much when the spa opens because they do have huge competition from the hotels next door and I believe the reason this hotel is doing so well is that are more reasonably priced than the 1300euro night Hotel Carusso. So I hope they don't price themselves out of the market and lose the people that value and appreciate the quality at 200-300 euro night. Ravello doesnt need another Hotel Carusso, I hope Villa Fraulo maintains it's individuality and not strive to imitate the neighbouring hotels. This is what we liked most about the hotel was the owner's outgoing nature and the friendliness of the staff which you don't get at pretentious 1300euro night hotel. So we would return definitely, but get a quieter room away from the street. I agree with the other reviewer, the website does not reflect how beautiful the hotel is. They should include pics of the gorgeous sea views, terrace and pool area. You wouldnt know how nice the hotel is from the current brochure. It's gorgeous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto2_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed in a superior delux room with stunning views out to sea. Newly opened, tasteful decor, immaculately clean, very friendly afformative staff - nothing was too much trouble. The owner Matteo is a funny guy, who along with his family caused much amusement with a genuine desire to please his guests. He organised a piano evening ! as we advised him that the lack of ambience (plus the restaurant not being open in the evenings) was a shame. The breakfast selection was good and by the end of our stay they were providing a lunch menu as guests expected this to be available. The infinity pool has breath taking panoramic views, but is hidden from the terrace with limited space for parents to sit and supervise their children. The terrace is small and there were insufficent loungers / shade. However, Matteo recognises this and is addressing this important issue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie07_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We loved this hotel in Ravello! Spectacular views, incredible staff and a beautiful room! Our room had a terrace with lovely views of the coastline. The staff was very friendly and helpful with tips for our daily trips to Pompeii, Sorrento and Positano. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel provided parking. A fantastic stay and I'd surely recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Ravello. Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyGHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at Villa Fraulo for 3 nights during our honeymoon, and loved it! Ravello truly is a magical/charming town, and staying here was perfect - being on the main street and enjoying the same great views of the ocean that the 5 star hotels up the road had (but with a much lower price/great value). Breakfast was included in our rate, which was great to be able to be enjoyed at the large terrace. I am knocking off one star due to the street noise/thin windows (being on the 2nd floor we heard everything from the main street) and the very spotty wireless Internet (even on their computer for visitor use)...though we probably shouldn't have been checking so much anyway, being on our honeymoon. Otherwise, we loved it there and could've stayed much longer.

Tip: We first entered the hotel on their 7th floor lobby entrance, up the Richard Wagner stairs from the main square/behind art gallery, huffing and puffing with all our luggage, but there is actually an entrance on the 1st floor/floor 0 directly in front of where the bus from Amalfi drops you off! Don't miss the signage like we did, unless you want a lot of exercise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATraveler30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Property: Hotel Villa Fraulo
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing