We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Italian hotel with stunning views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stylish Italian hotel with stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I've now stayed in at least five hotels in Ravello and would put this one as my second favourite (first being The Caruso, but that is reserved for special occasions!). The people are extremely friendly and helpful. We asked for tea/coffee facility to be put in our room and this was granted immediately. The view is stunning, but then a lot of hotels in Ravello do have the same view. What sets it apart for me was the wonderful breakfast. As we were the first guests of the new season (and for one night the only people in the hotel!) we had our breakfast delivered to our room. There was enough to feed four! pastries, croissants, cake, fruit, yoghurt, juices etc., We then asked for mushroom omelettes for the following morning, expecting only to receive that, however, we still got all the above AND the omelettes! Also the room was lovely and clean with an extremely comfortable large bed. I'm sure that you would not be disappointed with this hotel, however, only one small downside, the infinity pool is very small and certainly you would not be able to sunbathe around it. If that is not so important to you, the I would definitely highly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    116
    36
    11
    14
See reviews for
67
260
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a lovely time in Ravello and Villa Fraulo was fantastic! The staff were super friendly especially the boys in the restaurant/breakfast area. I have been drinking espresso with lemon peel ever since. The beds are fantastic and never slept to well in a hotel before. would for sure come back in the future.

Room Tip: get the slightly larger rooms as my friend stayed in a slightly cheaper room and it was quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdalenaNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

we had a beautiful time in this hotel,the staff is very attentive,a special mention deserve maurizio and his team they made our stay anforgottable.ravello is a lavely small village,there is a lot to see and very friendly people

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

A lovely hotel on 6 or 7 floors with a view over the Amalfi Coast that couldn't be bettered. Attentive service with staff speaking good English. Small swimming pool but lovely terrace and dining room; again with the magnificent view. Ideally placed for the Ravello Festival and some very good restaurants all within a short walking distance. The Euros 25 a day to park the car was a bit of a shock and don't stay here if you want a cheap hotel. Breakfast was good. The room was stylish, clean and very comfortable. One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Ravello is interesting, stylish and beautiful with good walking opportunities and good buses if the steps get too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fantastic food, wonderful staff! We stayed here for a wedding and had a superior room which certainly lived up to its name. It was beautiful and very big with everything we needed except an iron, which were banned!!
The food was incredible during the wedding and good in the mornings although we could have done with a few top ups on some mornings.
The best thing about the hotel was the staff especially in the bar and restaurant where they could not do enough for is. Maruizo's cocktails are the best I've had!
I would definitely go back despite the 25 euro per day parking charge!!

Room Tip: Get a superior room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazzaEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been 3 days in Hotel Villa Fraulo and it were some 3 lovely days. This is the perfect hotel for a nice holiday in the Amalfi Coast. When you stay at the terrace of this hotel, you can understand these words, the view from the hotel is amazing. You can see a part of the Amalfi Coast and it is wonderfull to see this. We took every morning a breakfast which is very extensive.

There are also compliments for the staff. Our special mention deserve the bar and restaurant staff.

Further about the inside of the hotel. The hotel is beautifull in the way that it is decorated. In addition, it is clean.

When we open the first time the door of our bedroom, we couldn't believe that this was really our room. It was a room with a big bed where we slept wonderfull, with a amazing view and a lovely bathroom.

We want to tell thanks to Hotel Villa Fraulo for the good stay. We wish you the best and hopefully we meet in the future again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvetteWieberdink94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Ravello, staying once again at the stunning Villa Fraulo. Last October, we only stayed for 3 nights, but this year, we were lucky to have five nights at this hotel. I adore this hotel; it has something very special, don't quite know what exactly, but it's there in abundance. The view from the rooms and the breakfast terrace are sublime and we kept the curtains open every night so that we could see the sunrise. The staff are delightful and take great pride in their work. The beds, pillows and quality of the sheets/towels are better than what I'd expect from a hotel in this category. Linen was changed every day. Wi-fi was available and seemed to work everywhere I went on the hotel premises. We traveled with my disabled mother who is 84 and the accessibility of this hotel was excellent and the staff made sure that we were comfortable. On our last day, we had to leave at 7am to catch our return flight, and the receptionist offered us breakfast in our room at 6.30. I travel a lot and rarely take the time to write reviews, but this hotel certainly deserves my support and I would certainly like to go back for a third visit. Congratulations to all at Villa Fraulo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Property: Hotel Villa Fraulo
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing