We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one-night stay in Ravello”
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed one night in Ravello and were very happy with the Hotel Villa Fraulo. Our parents stayed next door in a five-star hotel, but we thought our four-star hotel was better. A highlight was the infinity pool that looks out at the view 1500 feet above the Mediterranean. My wife loves pools and she was absolutely delighted with this one. The bathroom in our room was very deluxe with a bathtub and a separate shower with a deluge shower head. Our room had a balcony looking east and I watched the sunrise over the mountain top from there. The breakfast was delicious, with many sweet pastry options. The decor was very rich feeling. The property is just a few hundred yards walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottM92821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Fraulo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 451 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a suite at the hotel and it was very big And deluxe with two separate rooms with decks outside each room. We had trouble with the fridge in the room that was not working. A day later they changed it for another fridge but it did not seem to make any difference and would not make anything cold. The breakfast was very good but nearly all the seats on the deck are in the sun. Location was very central to the town square

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here three nights while touring in the Amalfi Coast. The location is just about perfect, the breakfast was very good, the views spectacular and the service from the sixth floor restaurant was exceptional. However, there were some significant downsides to our stay. Our standard room on second floor ($300+ per night) had an intermittant sewer odor emanating from the bathroom that despite two calls, the hotel could not eradicate. Our room was very small even by Italy standards and the bathroom tiny. We heard road noise until about 11 pm each night and worse, we could hear our neighbor's conversation when they were in the bathroom. The hotel wi-fi was down for two of the three days we were staying. Our towels were not changed during our visit. The front desk service ranged from indifference to arrogance. Location is not everything and I believe you can do better for the price while in Ravello.

Room Tip: Find a more reasonable hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were disappointed in our stay at Hotel Villa Fraulo (though we were not disappointed in the town of Ravello). We visited Ravello as part of our honeymoon trip to Italy. Unfortunately, this hotel ended up being our least favorite visited. When we were initially taken to our room, there was a pervasive smell of stale cigarette smoke. The staff member insisted that smoking was not permitted in the hotel. I suggested changing rooms but was informed that the only other room available did not have a balcony (as ours did). Even after the smoke smell dissipated, there remained a stale and stuffy smell in our room, even with the sliding glass door open. The room itself was very, very small. It was the smallest of all of the hotel rooms we stayed in during our trip. There also appeared to be some mildew or mold in the shower. Breakfast was okay, though the offerings were decidedly less diverse than offered elsewhere on our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've just returned from two nights at Villa Fraulo and am happy to say that we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a good location. It's just a few minutes walk from the main square but feel secluded and private. The views are breath-taking from the main terrace and pool, though you should note that pool is small and really just for taking a cool down dip in rather than any swimming.

My only complaint would be that the staff seemed a little over worked at breakfast and it took quite a while to get a clear table and then some coffee. Perhaps something management might like to look at in very busy periods (we were informed that the hotel was fully booked).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife had booked this Hotel for a long weekend celebration of my 40th birthday and while we had not been to the Amalfi coast before we certainly had high expectations of what awaited us. As someone who has never commented on Trip Advisor before and has a somewhat cynical view of the "professional reviewers" that you seem to get on this site, I still felt moved to say what a wonderful Hotel this is. We were lucky enough to have a suite which was one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in; expansive, clean, modern with a huge bathroom, king size bed, walk-in wardrobe and double balcony with the most incredible views of the coast below. The staff are all very friendly, professional and nothing is too much trouble, even when we wanted another cocktail in the small hours!! The food is lovely and very reasonably priced when compared with some of the 5 star hotels nearby - some of which we ate in and failed in comparison. Villa Fraulo is a must for anyone who wants the Ravello experience but doesn't want to pay the exorbitant prices charged by some of the more "established" hotels, and they are just up the road, try them, we did and were somewhat smug we were staying where we were!! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You want the 5th or the 8th floor as that's where the suites are, try for an upgrade as the staf...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Used Ravello as a base to tour the Almafi Coast, from Paestum to Capri with the kids. Ravello is a jewel. Villa Fraulo is beautiful and in an excellent location. No better views when the sun is shining. Feels boutique, with a high standard of finishings and good room sizes. Don't expect US levels of service, southern Italy just isn't geared that way. The reception staff are helpful. If any problems approach Antonio. He is a ray of sunshine. Message to the owner: improve your breakfast selection (would expect more from a high end hotel) and give some basic customer service training to your breakfast staff. Polite but unsure how to manage a table.. I would absolutely recommend the Villa Fraulo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: $183 - $1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing