We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really lovely hotel in Ravello”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really lovely hotel in Ravello”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have recently returned from a lovely stay at the Hotel Villa Fraulo in Ravello. What a lovely hotel. It is situated in the perfect place .... two entrances, one leads out onto a lovely street with a short walk down an easy hill (with a few steps) right into the main square; the other entrance is right by the bus stop if you wish to travel down to Amalfi and also close to the taxi rank. The 6th floor terrace has views it would be hard to beat anywhere in Ravello and the Infinity Pool is wonderful!

We found everything about this hotel great .... the staff in particular were very nice and genuine from the housekeeping ladies to the staff on front reception (Linda in particular). The hotel is kept immaculate and our room was lovely - it was on the 2nd floor and whilst there was some noise from the road outside it was not a nuisance as some have implied in their reviews. the air-conditioning worked perfectly and was silent (I think the first time I have experienced this in any hotel!).

The service is excellent. Maurizio and the lads who wait tables for breakfast and lunch (amongst them Michelangelo and Paolo) were really courteous and helpful.

We ate in the hotel only on one night, our first .... the food was absolutely excellent (delicious in fact) but the atmosphere was a bit lacking because there were very few diners. Having eaten now in several of the restaurants in Ravello during our ten night stay, including the hotel Rufolo (where we did not rate the food at all) and Villa Maria, I feel Villa Fraulo should try to promote their restaurant more (I don't think I saw one advertisement for it while I was there other than on the website) .... the quality and setting (the restaurant is beautiful) compares more than favourably with any restaurant we tried in Ravello, including the view - which some rely on too heavily!!

All in all we had a fantastic holiday at the Villa Fraulo and will not hesitate to stay there again when we return to Ravello.





.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRG_2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
we thank you for choosing our hotel.
Thank you for your wonderful review: it means you appreciated every single part of our Hotel, our aim to do all our best for our guests.
Next time you will be here, we will be very happy to welcome you.

Wishing all the best
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    117
    37
    11
    14
See reviews for
69
261
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

There are lots of great things to say about Villa Fraulo. First - that view! Honestly, it takes your breath away. Breakfast on the terrace is something else - watching clouds go by at eye level, watching light dance on the ocean, it is remarkable... Michaelangelo was our waiter and he gave us great service and lots of tips of where to go in Ravello. The food was great too!

Life is so peaceful here. This hotel is in a great spot - in a cute cobblestone street with gardens outside, and literally 1 minute's walk to the town square.

The lobby has lots of quiet corners to sit, nice big windows so you can soak up that view, and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Beds were big and comfortable, block out curtains and thick glass sliding doors meant undisturbed sleep! Bathroom had great water pressure!

At times the decor can feel a bit overbearing - lots of heavy gold, lots of white marble and white leather, but that's the style in Italy really! The layout of the hotel is a bit disorientating too - it feels like two buildings combined into one (some rooms require you to get into 2 elevators, the air-conditioning in your room needs to be turned on by phoning reception - that sort of thing). Also, the rooms on the lower floors still get the incredible view, but they also get street noise when you have the glass doors open. Try to stay in rooms higher up if you want peace and quiet. The pool was refreshing and beautiful, but I wish the indoor part of the pool had been heated. Still, there was a sauna and a big sun terrace to make up for it. I'd totally recommend staying here!

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise, ask for a room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mr Taylor,
thank you for your review.
We are happy you appreciated our lovely terrace: for sure you were suspended between the blue ocean and the sky.
We hope to welcoming you again in the future to really enjoy the most beautiful view in the world!

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is one of the most beautifully-styled hotels we've stayed in and superbly well-located in Ravello. Extremely helpful and welcoming staff, well-appointed rooms, excellent facilities. Breakfast on a couple of days was slightly short of crockery, but this was soon remedied! We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLS-B777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing our hotel.
We hope we made all our best to make your holiday unforgettable.
Hoping to welcome you here again, we send our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel Villa Fraulo is a fabulous hotel where the high quality of the decor throughout is matched by the standard of those who work there and the facilities on offer. All the staff were wonderful including the welcoming receptionist who introduced us to our room and the smiley and attentive waiters that looked after us at breakfast and whenever we were in the mood for a drink or a bite to eat. Above all these delights, however, the view from our room, the restaurant terrace, and the glorious infinity pool and spa whirlpool, was simply breathtaking. Ravello is a beautiful area with a landscape to match, and Hotel Villa Fraulo has some of the best sights we experienced during our two weeks in Italy and all without having to leave our breakfast table!
The breakfasts were delicious full buffet and just what we were looking for, all included in our stay. Furthermore, it was pleasant enough to walk around the hotel and take in its tasteful decor and luxurious rooms, including the spa area where two of our party had a pamper with a fine manicure.
Our stay in this hotel was beyond pleasant, it was a relaxing and welcoming experience with awe inspiring aesthetics and a great room with as nice an en suit as you could wish for.
I would certainly recommend Hotel Villa Fraulo to anyone looking for a quality, luxury stay near the centre of Ravello and away from the tourist traps common in Positano and Amalfi. High praise for the staff and I wish this hotel luck in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mr Howard,
it was a pleasure to read your review.
We hope you had an unforgettable stay with us and we also hope you enjoyed all our services: from the welcome in our "Home", to the breakfast served on our wonderful terrace, our SPA and much more...
Looking forward to welcoming you here again we send our warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Fraulo in June 2013 for 2 nights - 1 night in a standard double room and the other in the suite.
The standard double was a lovely room - nicely furnished, great view but as it was on the 1st floor - it was noisy at night. We moved to the suite, which was wonderful. The view was incredible, spacious rooms, great bathroom.
Best thing about Villa Fraulo is the staff - from Guiseppe, who seems to do everything - from parking the car to fixing the safe, to Linda at reception and all the waiters. They are so friendly and willing to do anything to help. It has a family feel - and in fact, one of the owners spent the entire Saturday there - eating, working, chatting to guests and staff.
It has a pool with the very best view - and sitting in the sun-lounges, sipping an Aperol spritz is one of the highlights of our special time in Ravello.
A must is a visit to Villa Cimbrone - at sunset ... and dinner at Cumpa Cosmo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mr jan,
we thank you for your review.
Unfortunately on the first day you may have not relaxed properly, but we are proud to have made your stay as an unforgettable moment, even just for few days.
We hope to welcome you again as a special guests.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

There is no doubt that the Villa Fraulo is in a magnificent position with beautiful views over the Amalfi Coast.
We stayed in a Deluxe room( 502) with Seaview and at first glance the room was superb.
The room cost us almost 200 pounds per person( 2 people) each including breakfast and we booked it via Citalia in England.
I am a well travelled businessperson who has stayed in some of the very best hotels in the world and by way of comparison for Italy, just prior to our stay here we stayed in the Hotel Nazional in Rome in a Deluxe room and were delighted with the service and value for money there.
We found that despite a cosmetically beautiful room ( Large, Expensively tiled, beautiful shower facility, wonderful furnishings etc.) the room did not work practically.
1. We could not use the wardrobe drawers because they did not open more than 4inches due to the wardrobe door jamming against the entry door of the room.
2. When we arrived, our first two days were very cold ( less than 19C) and it was impossible to set the temp. in the room higher than 21 C using the A/C.
3. There were no full length mirrors, tissues, robes or slippers ,drinking water or shelves in the bathroom.
4 The shower, although beautifully equipped with drenching shower head, body jets and hand shower, could not be fully utilised because the water flooded the bathroom floor because the shower doors were not adequately sealed.

5. We also found that breakfast is not served before 8am, which meant that we had to miss one breakfast due to most tours starting earlier.

Overall a beautiful hotel spoilt by the lack of practical considerations for customers basic needs and that in a very expensive room, so in our opinion poor value for money.

David and Ann V

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Fraulo in May/June this year for our wedding in Ravello and stayed in a standard room for 4 nights and the Infinity Suite for 2 nights. We really can't fault the service - the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel facilities are very clean, the view from the rooms is stunning and the hotel has an overall relaxed feel. The infinity pool is a definite highlight although unfortunately it was still a little too cold in May to actually go in! The Infinity Suite is without doubt the best hotel room we have ever stayed in - it was beautifully decorated and had breathtaking views. The front reception staff were so kind and friendly and had set up a traditional Italian ribbon at the front of the hotel to untie on my wedding day. We would love to stay at the hotel again and hope to go back there for our anniversary. The only slight negative would be the food we ate for lunch there. Although the breakfast selection and quality was excellent, there are other restaurants in town that we would recommend eating at for lunch and dinner rather than at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mrs Emma,
thank you for your review, we really appreciate that.
We would like to thank you for spending your lovely time here in our marvelous Hotel: one the most beautiful and important day of your life.
We hope to welcome you here again in the future.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Property: Hotel Villa Fraulo
Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing