We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views”
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Absolutely stunning views, clean hotel, great staff. Almost perfect 9.5/10!!! (my only very small issue was the pool and sun deck were on different levels!!)

Room Tip: The higher the better! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashp501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 457 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

Hotel Villa Fraulo is a beautiful super boutique hotel with breathtaking views of the coast, over and above excellent standards of cleanliness and service. It is located right by the steps to the main piazza as well as near to the taxi's and buses. The view was spectacular from our deluxe room’s terrace which was considerably big to the size of the room. The additional convenient service is that you could have your breakfast in your room which was amazing. The staff were lovely and very accommodating and the front desk manager wanted to do everything possible to help make our stay enjoyable by adjusting the mistake of HOTEL.INFO’s confirmation to the type of the room which we found it extremely professional.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Umsouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Hotel Villa Fraulo is a beautiful small hotel with excellent standards of cleanliness and service. The attention to detail makes it boarder line 5 star.
The views are fantastic and the hotel is very central to the main square in Ravello as well as near to the taxi's and buses.
Our friends stayed in a near by hotel of equal status but were envious of our pool and spa. The hotel has recently gone through a refurb and the results are lovely, more like a home.
Standard rooms are lower down and you will hear the main street voices and mopeds. If you are early to bed dont book a standard room after midnight its no problem everything goes quiet.
The staff are very helpful, Margo on reception helped me book taxi's for a friend staying in a different hotel. The housekeeping staff are excellent as are the bar and restaurant staff.
Breakfast was very nice fruit yoghurt meats cheese bread and cake!! we didnt eat dinner we found if you left the main square the restaurants were cheaper.
A wonderful stay in Italy and we would love to go back, its not a cheap holiday taxi's are expensive but its all worth it !!

Room Tip: Dont book a standard if you are in bed before midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slackmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My family and I stayed at The Villa Fraulo for our wedding in Ravello, August 2011 and I simply cannot thank the hotel enough for making the entire stay so perfect. Everything from start to finish was perfect, the rooms, the food, the pool, the stunning scenery and especially the staff, Maurizio was particularly exceptional. Nothing was ever too much to ask and we were totally looked after in every way. My new Husband and I will definitely return and would like to thank Matteo the General Manager for making our wedding so fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyjordonmcconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Beautiful new hotel in a spectacular town in Amalfi. The hotel was excellent and the staff very helpful. The view was spectacular from the terrace where you eat breakfast each day. It is located right by the steps to the main piazza. Very comfortable beds with nice spacious bathrooms. The only downside is the noisy street outside. From the second floor room you would think your windo was open when it is not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Believe me, this is not the hotel to go. I've spent 3 hours nd a half here and everything has been wrong, 7 floors and no lift, out of order, room with terrace full of smoke from kitchen frying oil, light lamp fell from roof crashing onto floor in the bedroom and they can't hoover the broken pieces of glass, just brush... My husband had to help the boy who was kind but had no resources. Recepcionist gets angry at you when you complain about the smell in the room, dinning room nearly empty so now we're going out and try to forget everything. We hope nothing else happens because we came here with all our enthusiasm.
The swimming pool is nice but closes at 8, so if you come back from a walk you can't swim... Choose another hotel, there are many around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank margaritaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 heavenly nights at the Villa Fraulo in Ravello. The hotel is housed in an exquisite,elegant, historic building just up a narrow alleyway from the main square of charming,romantic Ravello, alongside some of the other famous 5 star hotels. It is fully renovated and only opened last year in April. I returned this year after having spent 3 nights in May last year with my mother when the hotel was brand new but still not completely finished. But even then it was so lovely with amazing views and such a warm, wonderful owner, Matteo, and very kind, professional staff that I wanted to bring my husband there. Well, by now, the pool and spa were complete and we made good use of them - the pool is beautiful, an infinity pool and when you're swimming in it you feel like you're suspended between sea and sky!The view is really breathtaking - we just could not get enough of it.The delicious breakfast is served on a wonderful panoramic terrace complete with beautiful potted lemon trees, flower pots and an Italian fountain.The staff were fantastic and the owner Matteo more charming than ever! The hotel interior is beautiful,classicly furnished with lovely drapes,paintings, sculpture , comfortable classical furniture,marble floors,marble bathrooms, the most comfortable beds and at the same time the host makes you feel so at home and relaxed. We simply cannot reccommend this hotel enough! We can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: When booking, try to request a room on the 5th floor - it is the most convenient. And it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debsTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 18, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: $171 - $1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing