We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic and clean --On a budget-- or for the fully fit or light traveler”
Review of La Casarella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casarella
Ranked #17 of 31 Ravello B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here for a weeks holiday, and to attend a friend’s wedding in Ravello
I think to be fair to this advice, I must start by saying the advice to start this is regarding our transfer which was nothing short of an annoying, frustrating upsetting, and a disaster, but this a must not detract from the apartments or the owners of LA CASARELLA APARTMENTS.
In order to ensure a speedy transfer I paid Thomsons for a private car transfer approx £125 this was to ensure mine, and the wife’s attendance at a private dinner with quests at approximately 20 .30 hrs ---- our arrival at Naples 18.30 –private transfer 1 hr 20 minutes.\\\\\\Perfect///// with time to spare ??
Sadly the private hire driver clearly didn’t know where to go, or on arrival where to send us to get into our private entrance to get to the apartments, but after several phone calls and some choice language in Italian, the driver simply abandoned us in the Ravello square, in the dark in the rain with the cases and covers for the suits and wedding outfits to find our own way ?????? 40 mins or so later, wet, tired and extremely annoyed, met with the owners of our holiday apartment near to the private entrance which had been kindly indicated and directed by a bar owner from the Square – it was now 22.12 hrs clearly lost any opportunity to meet with the friends.
In the middle of this Farce, I did get a phone call from (REP) from Thomson in Naples Airport asking where the hell I was as they had a driver waiting for me at the airport, and they had been telephoning the Uk to establish if we had boarded the plane.???
Now the apartments and location
To get to the apartment with cases is not for the faint hearted or for any one is not fully fit and capable of pulling and lifting up there luggage, and carry it up several steep concrete steps, its a fair way, at least a ten to 12minute walk from the square where you get dropped off, and you have to pull and carry your luggage to the apartment and is very demanding.
The apartments themselves were basic and very clean.
On Our arrival we were left by the owners, provisions such as, Water eggs, milk tea/coffee/bread/jam/fruit/ and wine all fresh and which was a nice surprise.

The rooms are set in beautiful tranquil gardens with a view of the bay/sea. The view is amazing and one of the best in Ravello. Many other wedding guests staying in other hotels in Ravello were envious of our amazing views, as well as the peace and tranquillity, and the location to the square.

The lady/owner that runs the apartments was very friendly, and if you run out OR needed any item, water, groceries you can order them from her and her husband brings them from his shop. A great way to do your shopping if you need anything.
The Pool and tennis courts were excellent.
The area is perfect for people on a budget, trekkers, walkers,(walking boots and back packs) is a must, unless you go with friends just to relax.
The buses to and from Amalfi and surrounding area were excellent and cheap, taxis from Ravello to anywhere, are very expensive and can hike up the cost of your holiday.
Call into the tourist information office and get a map to walk the region.

The walks from the apartment are great.

The views and tranquillity of the apartments are worth a visit alone.
• Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JD444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for La Casarella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed here for a week for a friends wedding (It rained on the wedding day can you believe it). The apartments were basic and clean, Had tea/coffee/bread/jam/fruit/ and wine left for us on arrival which was a nice suprise.
The rooms are set in beautiful tranquil gardens with a view of the bay/sea. The view is amazing and one of the best in Ravello. Many other wedding guests staying in other hotels in ravello were envious of our amazing views.
The lady that runs the apartments was friendly and nice, and if you run out of bits/groceries you can order them from her and her husband brings them from his shop.
The views and tranquillity of the apartments are worth a visit alone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorothyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had one of those holidays where the whole adds up to more than the sum of the parts. Just a wonderful time in a beautiful location, that despite any drawbacks should not be missed.

Accomodation
La Casarella consists of 5 family run apartments perched on the side of a cliff within the town of Ravello, 350m above sea level, overlooking the Amalfi coast.
The apartments themselves are simple and small. Ours had one bedroom, with two singles clipped together to make a double bed, which was quite hard, but despite this I had some of the best nights sleep of my life. There is one built in cupboard and two draws.
My daughter (13) slept on a single sofa bed in the living area/kitchen which also had a dining table and chairs.
Whilst it is self cattering, there is only a tiny electric grill/oven on the worktop and a gas hob, so dont expect to do a Sunday roast.
The bathroom had a shower cubicle, sink and toilet and was quite tight for space.
So while nominally able to sleep 4 I would leave it at 2 adults and a child.

Outside
There is a small terrace in front of the double doors to each apartment with a table and 2 chairs. Then a grassy area, well kept with trees and flowers, then the stunning view over the mountains and the costal towns of Minori and Miaori. The unheated pool has a shallow end and then a steep shelf into the 2.5 m deep end. Dont think you will get any use out of it if you go late in the year as we did. The cold took my breath away.
There is a luandry room which also doubles as a display of food and drink items the family can deliver to you from the family shop!

Getting there.
You will either be rich, foolish or both to consider hiring a car. The accomodation has to be walked to and the nearest car park from the square will cost you 25 euro a day to leave the car. The roads are narrow and winding, and even for the locals, dangerous. The only cars with no marks on them were new, most cars have knocks and scrapes and the italians live up to their reputation for reckless driving.
Out transfer taxi took us to the outskirts and we then had to follow directions on foot to the accomodation, which fortunately was fairly flat, but about 20 steps right at the end.
For getting about the local buses are good value, but remeber to buy a ticket in advance at a local shop. you cant buy on the bus and will be fined if you travel without validating a prebought ticket.

The town
There are many cafes and restaurants, however prices are very high. Their are a number of sovenir and ceramics shops along with some fashion boutiques and perfume stores. Prices are all very high.
There are two sets of gardens to visit, the best is the Villa Cimbrone which has fantastic views, and there is also the Villa Ruffalo, dating back to the 13th Century. here during the festival season you can hear classical music concerts for 25 euros a ticket, during the evenings.

Best meal
Cumpa Cosimo in the Via Roma. The place is presided over by a mother figure who looks after all her guests, checking on the, refilling their plate and generally fussing of them. the atmosphere is friendly and informal, but the food is stunning.

Overall.
While the accomodation is basic, the setting and the people are so nice, this was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever taken.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John-the-Phone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank panima58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Ducato Di Ravello
Il Ducato Di Ravello
#5 of 31 in Ravello
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Casale
Villa Casale
#5 of 10 in Ravello
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giuliana's View
Giuliana's View
#10 of 31 in Ravello
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
a Casa dei Nonni
a Casa dei Nonni
#9 of 31 in Ravello
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mimi B&B
Mimi B&B
#19 of 31 in Ravello
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casarella

Address: Via Dei Fusco 13, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casarella Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing