We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looooved it”
Review of Villa Amore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Amore
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looooved it”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The room we had was not fancy but very comfortable and clean. The staff was welcoming, professional, charming and very efficient. We had million dollar views for a mere 100 Euros per night. The food is good but I do suggest having at least one lunch from the snack menu at Villa Maria across the way. We'll never forget our stay there and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Shoot for room #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bllgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    59
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
16
104
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Good value budget hotel, especially by Ravello standards, in a tranquil street at the top of the village. Spacious clean room with comfy bed and balcony, although the bathroom was a little cramped. Breakfast is served on a sunny terrace with stunning views over the Amalfi coast - also nice to sit out in the evening. I recommend paying for the porter to transport your bags, as it's a fairly steep climb from the main square!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas9717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Clean rooms, warm caring service, excellent food, absolute peace and spectacular views. If you don't like walking and are seeking an impersonal international hotel then this gem is not for you. But if you are looking for a genuinely Italian experience in a spectacularly beautiful location then don't hesitate. I have stayed at the hotel twice already and this year
I will be visiting again. Need I say more!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artist80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My wife and I have been in the travel business for over thirty years. I traveled to Ravello with my daughter and teenage grandson. We had two rooms at the Villa Amore. Except for the view, which is to die for, I would never recommend or return to this hotel. We checked into the hotel on a Monday and parked the car in a parking lot as directed by the hotel. The walk to the hotel involves many, many steps up hill. The location of the hotel is truly breathtaking. BUT, BUT both rooms were poorly cleaned and both rooms had garbage from former clients in the shower and bathroom. We stayed only one night. My daughter woke up with terrible bites (76) all over her body. They appeared to be bedbug bites. We had to go to a hospital in Rome the next day for treatment. Then, when we checked out of the hotel Villa Amore Tuesday morning and went back to the parking lot to get our car, it had been towed away. The hotel had failed to tell us when they directed us to the parking lot on Monday that we had to be out of the parking lot by 6am the next day, Tuesday, because there is an open air market in the parking lot every Tuesday. Towing cost me 100 euros. Fine cost me 38.50 euros. That does not count the time wasted in getting the car out of the towing garage which was about a third of the way down the hill toward Amalfi. No, Sir. This is a hotel to stay away from. It apparently is owned by two very elderly frail ladies who have done nothing in years to upgradethe place and who have lost all supervision of the cleanliness. The restaurant, by the way, is independent of the hotel and is excellent. Certainly dine here. Great staff, fabulous views. But in no way stay in any bed here unless you bring insect spray or are prepared for hospital and dermatologist bills. And above all, watch out for the parking.

The Villa Cimbrone, very nearby is definitely worth a visit. There is a fabulous hotel here on the Villa grounds but it will cost you a lot to stay. If you can afford it, this is the place to stay. But, as I said, it is in the expensive category.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel captures a beautiful view of the coast. Just gorgeous, we could have sat for hours just enjoying the scenery. Our room had a small terrace with table and chairs that look out on the coast, but just a few steps away you could go into the little garden which looks out on the same amazing views. The garden also has little tables and chairs. You can read or sun and just relax with something grand to look at all the while the birds are singing and the sound of the children playing nearby. The owner was very helpful to lend me a brand new hair dryer as I didn't bring one. The room, as others have said, is basic. No, tv, which is really fine because if you don't speak italian you can't understand much anyway. Bring a book. Also, as said, no AC, which was fine for us because the 2 days were very comfortable. It has always been a little on the cooler side in Ravello, bring a sweater, due to the elevation of the town. The restaurant is very nice with also the same beautiful views of the coast. Great sun in the morning while you eat the basic continental breakfast, but linger, who cares the view is so great! The restaurant staff is very accomodating and pleasant and everyone at this hotel seemed to really enjoy what they do. I would definately recommend this property. The value of 100 Euro, for a nice room in Ravello, is excellent. And without hesitation I would recommend the restaurant to all! My husband and I only take one carry-on bag each, with wheels, so we were fine with the walk uphill on the incline. I mean you're not climbing Mt. Everest but you can get out of breath. There are probably porters you can pay at the entrance to the town to take luggage up for you, check with the hotel beforehand. I really love Ravello, especially early in the morning before the tourist crowds come and in the evening after they go, there's a certain calm and peaceful feeling in this town. Go and stay at Villa Amore unless you need fancy surroundings and enjoy, walk around Ravello, take pictures, smell the jasmine in bloom cascading down an old stone wall. We have been to Ravello 3 times now and I prefer this property to the other 2, I won't name names :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We had a very nice stay. It is a bit of a walk but we prefer that then being with the huge crowds at amalfi. Our room was clean food great & maria was very helpful as wanted to do some walks around the area

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, MN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We were very disappointed. Don't stay there if you can't handle 140 steps from the town square to the hotel. There is a second way to get there, but it is much longer and still has quite a few steps. Once at the hotel, you are not near any other services, market, etc. so you are stuck with what the hotel has to offer. "Breakfast" was bread, jelly and coffee. No juice, no fruit, no cereal, no yogurt, no meat. You can eat your evening meal there, but prices are high and you also pay for "table service". We did not think the staff was friendly either, with very little English spoken - by only one person and she was seldom there. The room was very tiny. Granted the view was great, but in October the temps are such that you can't really enjoy being outside. As a whole, we though Ravello was a let down to the other locations we stayed on this trip (Positano, Sorrento and Capri).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmer6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#9 of 21 in Ravello
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amore

Property: Villa Amore
Address: Via Dei Fusco 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Amore 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea of the Amalfi Coast, 700 meters from main square and from the road; accessible only on foot. the Hotel Villa Amore represent a happy oasis for a total relax vacation.The Hotel is composed of 12 rooms, all of them with private facilities, furnished with the traditional local style and with a stunning panoramic view on the Amalfi Coast.The Hotel Villa Amore is a family business, characterized by a long tradition in hosting guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Amore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Amore Hotel Ravello
Amore Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing