We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful restaurant”
Review of Cumpa' Cosimo

Cumpa' Cosimo
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Ravello
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Norwich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Possibly the best tomato salad on the Amalfi Coast! Beautiful pasta, great service and a welcoming feel. The menu is small, but what it does, it does really well. The house white wine is particularly good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CatGirlNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    370
    212
    152
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Netta is amazing, so is the food!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

What a great find this is! Though it doesn’t look like much from the outside this restaurant is just a gorgeous slice of Italy. Netta is everything you could hope for and more! Friendly, charming and even throws in complimentary dessert. She’s a delight and definitely the star of this restaurant! We came here for lunch – where we enjoyed some of the best pastas – and then again for dinner, where we had an unbelievable antipasto, and delicious authentic pizzas. Oh and the prices are great! Such a hidden gem in Ravello and we can’t recommend it highly enough. We are desperate to go back again already!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“All show, no substance”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed in Praiano for five memorable days. Obviously, Ravello was a must visit destination. We asked friends and our hotel for a Nonna & Nonna type of restaurant. We were told Ravello is very small. Most restaurants were more on the posh & fancy, white table cloth type. So Cumpa' Cosimo was pretty much the only place fitting what we were in the mood for. We go to many fancy restaurants and were staying at the Casa Angelina, and therefore were more in the mood for something family style, relaxing, more typical of the area and less of a tourist destination.

We were two couples. Our men were stalling at a wine store, so we girls decided to go into the restaurant first. We should have waited for the men...We were greated for a thirtysomething man, eerie looking. Honestly, he gave us goose bumps! He sat us down and asked us where we were from. When we told him, he said he should visit if women were like us. I quickly added we were married and our men should be joining us very shortly. He slyly smiled and said: "I'm not jealous. I'm a gentleman, I take the best and I share!" He then served us two glasses of white wine, which we did not dare taste. He simply looked too creapy to be trusted.

When our men finally joined us, we ordered. But then the same odd man came up to usand asked if we liked osso bucco. We do. So he said he'd bring us some. Not two minutes had gone by, a plate of meat was served. It was beef osso bucco, not veal. It was dry, too salty and looked more like a rubber shoe sole than a yummy tender osso bucco!!! We felt it was a plate some other table returned and they wanted to pass it on!

Mushrooms were rubbery and tasted of water. Pasta did not fare much better. Not very al dente and too salty. What was good - but nothing to rave about - was the rabbit stew and margherita pizza.

Staff was nice but very cold, no smiles included that night! Nonna & Nonno...Really? They were more like actors playing a role! Sure, the owner went about from table to table, tending to all the patrons. Nonna never stopped at our table and honestly, I doubt she even spends time in the kitchen! She had the apron on, hair pulled back with artificial flowers in a bun, lots of make-up.
Then our waiter got into a spat with the creapy man that had greated us. He left huffing and puffing, but stopped at our table to say good night with a sly smile.

Needless to say, we did not stay for coffee and desert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LOVE2TRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Proper Italian dining experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place was recommended by the concierge of our villa, and we weren't disappointed. This is typical, authentic, Italian food, served with passion by the larger-than-life Netta and her cheerful staff. We were given menus but actually didn't have to make a choice as they brought us 3 portions of their mixed pastas, which was plenty for 5 of us. They kept topping us up too! Desserts were a boozy profiteroles and a delicious pana cotta, all washed down with the tasty and rustic house red. We will go back, for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulesHH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good "home style" entrees”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Delicious, but pricey and sparse portions for the famished diner. Service was very professional and mama attempts to visit all of the guests.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumpa' Cosimo also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Cumpa' Cosimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing