We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience and Amazing Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumpa' Cosimo

Cumpa' Cosimo
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Ravello
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hard to put into words how good this place was. I went there two out of the three nights I stayed in Ravello, because the food was so good and the service was even better. If you like to go some where and have someone tell you what to order and how to eat it, this place is for you. I wanted to order the Barolo for 90E and the owner recommended a less expensive wine that was amazing. Then he told us he was going to bring us out a sampler and we didn't even have to order. Everything on the sampler was fantastic. After having the sampler the first night, we had an idea of what to get the next night so we ordered that and let him again order our appetizers and our wine. He kept bringing us out food to try and his own home made grappa which was amazing.

Honestly, I wish I would have gone to this place the first night because I would have gone all three nights. I will definitely return to this place the next time I am in Ravello.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    351
    201
    148
    170
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our fav! We ate at some very nice places (i.e Rosselini's) and liked this food the best! You can get a great meal some appetizers and some drinks for under 50 Euros! We hope to come back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiemarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average, but not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The food was basic, pizza and not so much to choose for seafood. Seafood was ok but frozen, service was average but could have been way better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R_B_Ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good honest food spoilt by awful service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

And we should know, we went there twice! First time they were super busy and we waited for a table, hovering in the doorway. Then once sat, we didn't get any menus... Had to ask... Then wait for service. They didn't have the wine we ordered... Waited ages for dessert menus only to be told when we asked for them that surely we could wait a few minutes! Offered a drink for all the waiting but this never showed either so we left...
Take 2, lured there by the food. Sat, order taken by the host, who told us he'd bring a wine list but forgot. Mains arrived before the starter, and then we're told that we have to have them and they'll bring the starter after! Finally taken away and the starter comes. Mains brought out were the same ones, beef now massively over cooked though still super tasty, and pasta disintegrating....
What a shame. Food here is fab, but the male host and the older lady (owner?) seem to be working against the waiting staff here and it's complete chaos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We sat down for lunch and thought the menu was a bit heavy but it was wonderful. They brought us fresh tomatoes in olive oil to start which was divine. I had the fettuccini bolognese and my husband had the ham and cheese crepes (not at all like ones in US). The food was delicious. The bolognese was not heavy at all, all homemade. Finished the meal with complimentary fresh figs. Again, emphasis on fresh!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KACYTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumpa' Cosimo also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Cumpa' Cosimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing