We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Barocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Barocco
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been great for us, the place is clean, staff xtra helpful, and breakfast was an impressive spread.
Will definitely return this summer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    94
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
105
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

a lovely little hotel ,tucked away in the the narrow streets of Ragusa Ibla-not to be confused with Ragusa proper.
Excellent breakfast,very helpful staff,clean rooms,and a good restaurant close by,for evening meals.a good centre to the locality-car needed,but parking can be difficult.

Room Tip: some rooms look out on to a football pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPDORNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Il Barocco is a very attractive hotel. It was relatively easy to find, once we managed to find Ragusa Ibla! There was reserved parking on the street outside the hotel. We hd no difficulty but it might be more competitive at a busier time of year. The hotel is situated very close to the beautiful main square. There are several restaurants close by.
The welcome was excllent and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout.
The rooms were good, beds comfortable, bathroom fine, although as with most hotels we stayed at, the shower could have been better. Thoughtful complimentary toiletries, including a razor and shaving cream. The breakfast was outstanding, easily the best we had during our 10 day stay in Sicily - a fantastic selection of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, croissants and bread and a wonderful selection of beautiful Sicilian biscuits, also freshly baked.

The only downside to our stay in Ragusa was that the town was almost dead in the off-season, although this might appeal to some and although we got out of Ragusa Ibla easily enough we got completely lost in Ragusa and spent hours trying to find our way out! Not the fault of the hotel, of course!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Verack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Reasonable hotel - centrally located but parking isnt easy you may to walk 5/10 minutes to get there (in the summer could be difficult). Comfortable, though, small rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Our first time to Ragusa. The hotel was very nice, very clean and very central. We had a large spacious room with small balcony over looking the front of the hotel. We found it to be very quiet and slept really well at night. The breakfasts were good. The staff could have been a bit more friendly, but it didn't really bother us. We ate in the hotel's restaurant: IL Barocco up the street from the hotel and the food was absolutely amazing with excellent service and very friendly staff. They have a wine shop next door to the restaurant - nice, but pricey! Ragusa Ibla is a beautiful small town with lots of shops dedicated for tourists. If you want to avoid these, head up to the new town; Ragusa, and the shops are great! There is a bus that takes you up, or if you're feeling energetic and want some excercise, you can climb up the hundreds of steps to the newer part of Ragusa! We did and felt great after it! It's much easier coming back, as it's downhill all the way! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Good sized room, good storage, excellent breakfast
Finding the location in Ragusa Ibla was difficult due to one way, narrow streets but the location was excellent. Not too deep in the town. The less you drive the one way, narrow streets, the better. We parked on the outskirts and just walked to the hotel to check the easiest driving route as if you misunderstood the GPS instructions and took a wrong turn it wasn`t easy to backtrack.
Very convenient to the Duomo and the central piazza and to just wander the old town.Only had two parks out front but parking permits were available if required. Breakfast had a good range of meats and cheeses as well as a huge assortment of cakes and biscuits. The free wi-fi was very handy.
Some of the relief staff didn`t have very good English and we weren`t sure that they understood our questions.


Go To Top

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We really enjoyed this place. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a restaurant half way up the street which is quite good and reasonably priced. They even give you a 10% discount if you stay at their hotel. The breakfasts were very good as well. Parking is a problem - they tell you to park on the street, but the street is very narrow, so you need to drive up on the curb to allow cars to pass by. The location is excellent as we were able to walk into the old district during the day or evening within a 5 minute walk. The interior of the hotel is very clean and seemed newly renovated. Rooms are spacious and it is on a quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buchends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.8 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
9.8 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#16 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Barocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Barocco

Property: Hotel Il Barocco
Address: Via Santa Maria la Nuova 1, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Barocco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in the Historical center of Ragusa Ibla, baroque city declared patrimony of Unesco. The hotel is close to the Dome of San Giorgio and offers 15 rooms, all equipped of private bath with shower, air conditioning, TV satellitare, telephone, minibar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Barocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Barocco Hotel
Hotel Il Barocco Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing