We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible guide of Ragusa!!

Six friends toured with Barbara through Scicli, Modica and Ragusa for the past 3 days. Barbara is a... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
raism1
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Knowledgeable and Fun

I spent a day with Barbara touring Ragusa and Modica. She knew all about the history and the best... read more

Reviewed June 26, 2018
pawdy
,
Palo Alto
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
13
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
0
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 14 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

A true local proud of her town and its heritage.
Her insights into the history both from the time the city was brought down in a 15 thcentury quake to its more recent popularity following the filming of inspector montalbo!

We left the town knowing just a little bit more about this wonderful part of sicily and the charm of this very beautiful city.
Thank you Barbara for a wonderful experience!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2015

Ms. Barbara Sudano gave me an all-day tour on March 24, 2015.

A couple years ago, Italian laws unfortunately changed to allow non-local (from outside the local area) guides to give short duration tours in local areas. Of the 6-7 guides I found researching via google, Barbara was the one who was born, raised, and still residing in Ragusa Province. I doubt a non-local guide, from say, Catania, would have known the mayor was out sick that day, thus enabling me (with the mayor’s secretary’s ok) to have my photo taken at the mayor’s desk: a familiar Montalbano film set (questura). The whole day was full of that kind of insider info access and expertise.

Barbara showed me a gentle depth and breadth of understanding of local history, archaeology, baroque architecture, and their influence on prevailing Sicilian attitudes on current events and trends (for example, economics, immigration, agriculture). I’m a picky, demanding, non-Italian-speaker, yet within about 15 seconds of meeting her, Barbara’s knowledgeable, warm, and easygoing manner made it seem like we were old friends. The tone for the day was not that of a guide unilaterally blathering disconnected facts, but the opposite of a data dump, rather more like two friends sharing a relaxed, intriguing, delightful conversation. She responded precisely to my questions and was attentive to my level of interest in each of the variety of subjects that came to my mind. In other words, she went into details when I requested, but could explain with a broadbrush and big picture perspective as appropriate.

Barbara comes across as a charming, sincere professional who cares about doing a good job. She started the day right on time (one minute early) even though my schedule required we begin at a different time and place than she initially proposed. After probing my food preferences that mid-afternoon moment, she picked a great restaurant that suited both my taste and timing. The food was delicious and inexpensive, and the proprietor-friend of Barbara gave me her cookbook (I’m still stunned) at the end of the meal. Barbara enjoys living in her fascinating corner of Sicily, enjoys enlightening her clients, and that enjoyment comes through. I learned much more than I anticipated and had fun doing so. Altogether a day I will not soon forget. At the end of my custom-tailored time with Barbara Sudano, yes I had more appreciation, admiration, and deeper understanding of Sicilian cuisine, art, history, and prevailing attitudes, but somehow the strongest impression I was left with was the feeling of happiness, relaxation, and being on vacation. Thank you, Barbara.

Date of experience: March 2015
10  Thank Drake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2014

Fantastic Day Tour in the Footsteps of Inspector Montalbano with exceptional Guide Barbara
www.barbara.sedano.net - Can not praise her highly enough- she met us at the Giardini Ibla in Ragusa and took us in her car throughout Ragusa province to all the main film locations as used in Commisor Montalbano TV series . Perfect English and so personable, Barbara is the perfct tour guide for this whole area and especially Montalbano locations. Perfect day out .Thank you Barbara!

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank Huw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Proprietario at Barbara Sudano - Licensed Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews