We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel built into an historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
578 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Modern hotel built into an historic building”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a modern, small hotel which covers the basics very well.

The friendly, helpful staff directed us to nearby free parking.

Our room, which faced the church and had a small balcony, was bright and clean, with a comfortable bath, and ready access to outlets so we could recharge two cell phones, a laptop, and an iPad. That was not always the case in Sicily.

The Wi-Fi worked well in the room.

The breakfast, while not the best we had, was very nice.

Very good value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    75
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
138
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a bright, clean, modern room with a balcony on the first floor. The location is great for visiting Ragusa Ibla. Parking is available on the street, but it can be difficult to find a space at certain hours of the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room faced the bell tower of the church across the street. It was quite loud when the balcony doors were left open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berliner_from_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at La Dimora - but you need to be aware of what to expect:

As a B&B it was fine - very pleasant staff, nice modern room, very clean and fresh, good breakfast.

As a hotel it was not satisfactory. There was no night staff, no bar, no inside communal area other than the breakfast room, no wi-fi, no newspapers etc. - the sort of thing you get as a matter of course in, say, the Best Western hotel in Catania for the same price. In our room there was a safe - but it had never been set up (the instructions were still inside) - and other guests found the same in their room. If you are paying hotel prices, you do expect hotel facilities.

If it is a B&B it is very overpriced when compared with three star hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Please note - there is no restaurant as such; just the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29Gerry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a lovely room with a balcony on the first floor. The outlook was quiet and pretty, the room clean and bright, with very modern furniture. The hotel is on the edge of Ragusa Superiore on the way to Ragusa Ibla, giving the best of both worlds. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We had to leave early on our last morning and hence miss breakfast. Without asking we were offered and given a much appreciated 'packed' breakfast. There is also a nice terrace to relax in after a day wandering around the sites. We would stay here again should we return to this part of Sicily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalkanBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here in early May and loved the sunny rooms, balcony with a view of Ibla, friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast. Not easy to find if you come into Ragusa on the old road but a great location once you have parked up.

Room Tip: go for a superior room, best views higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandlousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Level Contributor
317 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid March 2013 at La Dimora Di Piazza Carmine in Upper Ragusa. The hotel has large clean rooms, with desk and sofa. The bathroom was spotless and average size for Italy. The balconies have a great view of Ibla Ragusa, the old town. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Santa Maria Scale the stairs leading down to Ibla Ragusa. The hotel is new and in excellent condition. There is bus service from the old town Ibla to within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The main area of Upper Ragusa is a couple of blocks up from the hotel where you can find many restaurants and stores.
The staff is outstanding, they are very helpful and eager to provide you with information about what to see and do not only in Ragusa but Modica, Noto and the surrounding area. The hotel works out well as a base to visit the entire area. We were able to find parking right on the street in front of the hotel each night. The friendliness of the staff alone makes it highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a of view of the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiMadcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel very much. Lovely big room, terrific bathroom, nice and quiet. The hotel is not manned during the night, but they give you the keys and an emergency telephone number should you need it for any reason (we did not!).

Ragusa is in three parts on three different levels; the hotel is in the middle bit (centro), almost on top of the stairs down to the oldest part of the city. The walk downhill is beautiful (and there is a bus service (and taxis) to take you back uphill, should you feel weary by the end of the day).

The staff was exceptionally welcoming, the breakfast very good, and the parking free.

Room Tip: Their superior rooms have a lovely view over the old city and the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingebjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.1 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#5 of 38 in Ragusa
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
0.8 mi away
Villa Boscarino
Villa Boscarino
#10 of 38 in Ragusa
87 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dimora di Piazza Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dimora di Piazza Carmine

Property: La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Address: Piazza Carmine 17, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dimora di Piazza Carmine 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Dimora di Piazza Carmine" is situated in the charming old part of Ragusa, Baroque's heart and UNESCO's patrimony. The nineenth-century building was the former seat of the "Barn of the Modica's County" and it is located in the graceful Piazza Carmine. Here the time is marked by the bell tower of the old Sanctuary in front of the hotel. The modernity of the interior design and its baroque architecture represent a perfect alliance, and they make the hotel pleasant and original. The attention in the choice to every detail gives to all rooms an high level of comfort for our guests, who will experience a very emotional journey to discover the beautiful places of Sicily. The strong point of "La Dimora di Piazza Carmine" is certainly its fantastic terrace which offers a striking view of Ragusa Ibla, where guests will have the opportunity to taste the delicious breakfast based on authentic Sicilian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Dimora di Piazza Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dimora Di Piazza Carmine Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing