We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
362
124
33
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
362
124
33
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages almond milk own produce country house hotel olive oil marina di ragusa the main house three night stay ricotta cheese beautiful hotel breakfast and dinner lovely courtyard star luxury stayed nights antique furniture the general manager tarts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 545 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2019

Beautiful restored building, with castle feel, Rooms not to big with antique furniture for medieval feel. bathroom too small, very small tv. Pool area needs urgent update. Great breakfast in nice dining room Too expensive for the location . good service.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2018 via mobile

The classic rooms are to small for a five stars hotel. Shower means the bathroom is under water. It was until midnight very loud because of the kitchen activities.
Extremly nice an professional staff. Fantastic restaurant.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione E, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2018

Dear Roberto,

thank you very much for taking time to review our Hotel and We are very happy to read wonderful words about the Staff and the restaurant.

Regarding the Classic Rooms, that you have chosen after having seen different room categories, they were restored by the cells of the Monks that lived in the Eremo della Giubiliana and restoring them we have mantained the size of the rooms to let our Guests live the history of our place. Our Luxury Concept is given by the richness of our History and Culture.

Thanks for all the suggestions and We apologize if You have been disturbed by some noise from the kitchen during your stay.

Best Regards

Angelo Di Fede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018

On out Sicily round trip we rtayed for 4 nights at this tremendous place. The hotel is located in a old monastery building, located 6 miles outside of the town of Ragusa.
The hotel has a excellent restaurant offerimg local and international specialities.
.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goldi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

This is the second time I have stayed at the Eremo della Giubiliana and I can't wait to go back. The location is perfect for visiting Ragusa, Modica, Moto, Marina di Ragusa and Scicli. The staff is wonderful and accommodating. The breakfast outstanding. Very elegant, quiet and the bathrobes are the best. My entire family loved staying here. Many thanks to everyone at the Eremo.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank jmorgante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time you dedicated writing this review.

We’ve been very happy to see you again and thank you very much for appreciating the staff service that as you have seen is not changed.

We look forward to receiving you as our welcome guests again

Best Regards

Angelo Di Fede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Stayed at Eremo della Giubiliana for four nights in the summer month of August with my partner’s family. Being a hotel professional in various luxury hotels, I am not a fan of writing bad reviews as being in the same line of work, I have always empathised with my fellow professionals. However, my experience at the hotel deserve such effort as a luxury five-star hotel.

Location of Eremo della Giubiliana is in the deserted heartland of Ragusa which require 20 minutes’ drive to the downtown and its beach. The hotel qualifies all the 5 stars luxury requirements but may not exceed the standard of such products (e.g. small swimming pool, limited service spa, etc.).

First and foremost, we were warmly welcomed upon arrival by the manager named Leonardo. He has kindly gone through a brief introduction and check-in formalities with us but unfortunately lacks eye contact with me throughout the process which were in fact, have been consistently proven during the rest of my stay.

We were then assigned and escorted to the cottage which is located on the hotel’s private airfield (existed since/before WW2) and require us to take at least 5 minutes in our personal car to commute. Although bicycles are provided, it is highly recommended that the cottages should be equipped with bungy car to complement the hotel’s standard whilst minimising the risk of accident/unforeseen circumstances.

The rooms are indeed well equipped and spacious. However, the old model TV need to be replaced due to its small size and likewise, the air-condition system which cause loud noises while operating.

Our rooms have had two consecutive days of power shutdown which took about half an hour to be rectified due to a storm. It has taken more than two days to clean and drained the small swimming pool. Although verbal apology was extended, there is no minimal service or alternative recovery were rendered for such inconvenience.

Breakfast service was sincerely great and have been a highlight of our stay. My 9-year-old nephew was very attached with the service staff – Lorenzo throughout our stay due to his smile, patience and graciousness which really made us feel welcome. We also had dinner on our first and final night at the hotel’s restaurant. To conclude our experience on the final night, the restaurant alfresco area is on its full occupancy and hence, it took more than 1 hour for our main food to be served (it’s a big no-no for less than 5 mouthful of pasta worth EUR32). Naturally, my nephew was innocently talking rather loudly while waiting for his food which may have caused disturbance to other guests. While failing to assess the cause, Leonardo approached my nephew directly to address the issue instead of clarifying them to us as adults. Once again, embarrassment was rendered to us instead of any service or alternative recovery for the wait.

With exception of Leonardo which requires more professional training as a manager, all the hotel’s service staff are friendly and professional which have made us to overlook the above experience. The pricing which we have been offered on a special deal that may be in line with the product and standard, but the hotel is of novelty value in an island which offers so much more.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adventure1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneEremo, Direttore at Eremo della Giubiliana, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time you took to write your review.

It is Angelo Di Fede, Executive Manager of the Hotel, I think that you have misunderstood some roles here inside the Hotel, because you were probably welcomed and taken to the cottage, which is 400 meters from the main building, by the Concierge Lorenzo.

During your stay there was a thunderstorm of an extraordinary violence that left some parts of Ragusa without electricity, luckly we have our own power generator so we have avoided the black-out, but the storm has damaged the pool and we have made a shock treatment to restablish the cleaness of the water and its PH; that's why we have preferred to say that the pool was not available, yet.

We are happy about the wonderful words about the staff and in particular of the waiter Giuseppe who is always very kind, in particular with kids; while there are no Lorenzo in our waiting staff.

Regarding the dinner of the last night, I have no records about some dishes arrived at the table after one hour and there are no dishes of pasta that cost 32.00€, Lorenzo, the concierge, has asked to you if there were any problems during the dinner and the answer was: "everything perfect".
Giuseppe and Lorenzo were absolutely in love with your nephew, and Lorenzo spoke all the time with him joking and kidding as if he was an adult and in the same way he kindly asked him to talk quietly because other guests were disturbed by him, but always with a great smile and letting thinking to your nephew that it was a joke.

Lorenzo thought it was the best and delicate way to say it and he felt very stranged by your review. Really sorry if you have lived it in a different way.

Best Regards
Angelo Di Fede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews