We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip to Eremo della Guibiliana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eremo della Giubiliana
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We loved our visit to this hotel a few years ago in the summer and we were not disappointed this time on our second visit. This time the weather was cool and rainy, so many of the lovely outdoor areas were not usable as they were during our summer trip, but instead we enjoyed the fireplace and the delicious food. We brought a couple with us and were there on Chef Georgio's first day and were treated to outstanding service by the staff and the cuisine was delicious. We love this hotel and all the character and charm. We look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: We booked a room with a balcony, which would have been lovely in warmer weather but we didn't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a7correll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 490 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Well done conversion with thoughtful blend of historic and charming details and modern comforts. The owner is an architect and you can tell in the aesthetic choices. They are always cleaning and the place is kept sparkling. The property is also really charming. It was much better to stay in this location than the heart of Ragusa (modern city has nothing to recommend itself... and the historic Ragusa Iblei was fine but tiny). The Eremo della Giubiliana is a gracious retreat and excellent base for the area. The real highlight of our stay was Angelo. He is exceptionally thoughtful, speaks wonderful English and he knew exactly what to recommend for us to make the most out of our time. Each place he directed us was as a friend sharing his favorite places and wanting us to appreciate them. out of our 8 day trip in Sicily - Angelo was the MOST HELPFUL person in any stay we had. Actually, I think Angelo has been the best example of hospitality I have encountered in my travels period.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This remarkable hotel--a sensitive modern renovation of an old monastery--is located in the limestone bordered countryside between Ragusa proper and the Marina di Ragusa (a nice, though in the summer crowded beach town). The attention of staff to our comfort and enjoyment was unmatched in our 50 years of travel. Friendly, efficient, and, in our case, well above and beyond the call of duty. I had a serious stomach virus and was in excruciating pain. Not only did the concierge call a private doctor (who arrived as promised within two hours and charged only $70!) and act as translator, but he drove to the pharmacy to get the medicine and syringes for a prescribed shot , which he administered with the consummate professionalism of a trained nurse. When I could eat again, a delicious cabbage soup was brought to the room, the bed linens were changed twice(!) and every attention was given to my recovery, which turned out to be speedy and complete.

My particular experience is not likely to be repeated often (I hope) but it gives an indication of the lenghts to which these hosts will go for their guests' comfort.

The hotel is well-located for trips to Ragusa Ibla, Modica, Noto and even Syracusa. A car is a necessity. Because we were there in November we did not use the pool, but it its setting is very agreeable, with good chaise lounges, and both shady and sunny spots to relax. Dining in the well-appointed restaurant and walking in and outside the private grounds were equally pleasant experiences, while the manager's recommendations for sightseeing and lunchtime dining were excellent and designed specifically to our tastes and interests.

All in all a very special place indeed from which to experience one of the many beautiful regions of Sicily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlescoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We are already planning to return! Our experience was unflawed and much too short. This place was the best value of any hotel we visited in Italy. The staff was gracious and knowledgeable in helping us find our way to other places in the area. We were in search of "Montalbano" and were delighted to learn that "The Shape of Water" was partly filmed there. Angelo graciously opened the suite used for the filming for us to explore.

We hope to put together a small group to explore literary Sicily with local authors and storytellers next year and will base the entire trip from Eremo. The staff's knowledge of area restaurants and wines is awesome. They can also arrange flights, hikes and day trips to natural and archeological sites.

I did use the spa for a facial, 95 euros plus tip. However, not only was it extremely pleasurable but even my husband thinks I look years younger a week later.

Room Tip: We had room 1. It has a great bathtub and lots of space. I didn't see most of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciaoelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side Eremo main buildings have an interesting history, are well presented inside and in a quiet location. Reception staff are helpful, dining room staff more mechanical. But the food didn't live up to the promise or the price. Extremely salty risotto was sent back, then reappeared unchanged except for an extra slosh of olive oil - it went back again. Other dishes were ok but not great - and at 20 euro each they need to be much better. Staying in the remote cottages was ok, except the wifi was broken, phone signal patchy and main phone to reception not working - but still overpriced. Targeted at Americans who will overpay for history and nobility.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mary_quont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Well maintained boutique hotel surrounded by well kept grounds and removed from the pace of city life and noise. This renovated and reconstructed monastery in the Sicilian countryside gave a perfect setting for very relaxing evenings after a long day out touring. Its location made it a perfect launching point for tours to Siracusa, Ortigia, Noto, Ragusa Ibla, and Modica. Highly recommended if you want to experience a much more local view of Sicily with the attention of a professional staff ready to go the "extra mile". The staff was attentive to every detail and took extraordinary measures for make our stay enjoyable. They were ever present but did not give the sense of hovering. Details of our stay follow below.
We arrived as a small (circa 12 people) tour group from the states for a three night stay. Greeted on an early evening arrival with a light cocktail as the staff personally escorted each guest to their room followed by a gourmet dinner in the main dining room.
Everyone in our group stayed in the main house and all found each room wonderful but with a few "surprises" related to the nature of the hotel's antique architecture and a European bath/shower. The fact that the lights and electricity to each room depended on the room key also surprised a few people who returned expecting charged phones left after leaving the room.
Our gourmet dinner was very well executed and the hotel's labeled Nero D'Avola a perfect choice. The chef chose bruscette to start with a choice of three toppings to add, each more tasty than the next (fondue of a local cheese or grilled tomatoes or grilled peppers) as an appetizer. He followed with hand made pasta (cavati) with a local beef and porcini mushrooms ragout and a main course of black pork loin with an almond/pistachio wine sauce and grilled potatoes. A dessert of his cannolo (ricotta cream topped with crumbled shell) topped off the meal. The hotel's small size made the service much more intimate than most other hotels or restaurants. The chef and sous chef joined us after the meal for very enjoyable conversation and the wait staff treated us as regulars each night.
Breakfast was the expected continental spread with a fresh frittata added as guest arrived and with a special touch of at least three different cakes that seemed to vary each day. A perfect way to start of the day since we used the hotel as the base for our daily excursions into the local countryside. Service for a specialty coffee (express or capuccino) could be slow since the barista appeared to value our privacy but she responded quickly with a cup when asked.
The hotel was a great place to relax but some in our group wanted to see more of Ragusa nearby and the staff arranged our transport and provided a local restaurant recommendation as well. Their arrangements were perfect and the restaurant a very enjoyable local secret (just locals - not another tourist in sight) at a very reasonable price.
Overall this was clearly the best hotel of the three in which we stayed for a week long tour of Sicily that started in Taormina and ended in Palermo from the perspective of service and the facility itself. I did not rate the spa only because we did not have occasion to use it during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Eremo della Giubliana for two nights in room 11. We absolutely loved every aspect of our stay. No wonder it is rated #1 in the D&K Top 10 Sicily book for luxury hotels!! Not only was the hotel warm and cozy, the staff were wonderful, and it's location met our needs. Gabriella was especially helpful in planning tours and activities for us. Margherita and Marco were very helpful and attentive to specific hotel needs.The hotel is located 13 km outside of Ragusa Ilba so it is centrally located to for visiting other Sicilian towns such as Modica, Noto, etc. We hardly ever eat at hotel restaurants but we decided to eat dinner at the hotel on our first night because we were tired. The restaurant is awaesome! So good that we ate there on our second night, too. In addition, a friend who was traveling with us used the spa facilities for a massage and said she had an amazing massage. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondieitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
3.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
692 reviews
7.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
7 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#8 of 37 in Ragusa
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
3.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
37.9 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo della Giubiliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo della Giubiliana

Address: S.P. 25 per Marina di Ragusa - km 7,5 | Contrada Giubiliana, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: $161 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eremo della Giubiliana 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to the different programs available you will be able to decide which itinerary to take to discover the island or explore the nearby Mediterranean destinations reachable by private plane from the airfield at Eremo della Giubiliana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eremo della Giubiliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Della Giubiliana Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Eremo Della Giubiliana Hotel Ragusa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing