We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good and abundant food”

Al Castello Donnafugata
Ranked #79 of 351 Restaurants in Ragusa
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good and abundant food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very good and abundant food, good wine and good sweets, all at a very reasonable price. Booking recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanPaulFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    131
    49
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tourist trap, cheap but not cheerful”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Set menus abound at this coach trip destination, at the castle of Donnafugata (the mafia boss Sinagra's place from the Monlbano TV series).

We booked ahead but the reception was chilly and disinterested, and things didn't improve throughout the evening. There was a large screen TV playing Roma v Lazio football match and the waiter was certainly more interested that than us. Food was a pale imitation of the more authentic dishes we found elsewhere and the cheap prices and huge portions didn't compensate for the stodgy and carelessly prepared food. I'd be surprised if anyone could finish one of the set menus and feel they'd had a good meal. The house wine was pretty dismal too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very good place to eat -”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Trattoria Al Castello is a very good place to eat: excellent food and low prices. Italian couples and Italian families.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Get there early to avoid disappointment”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had been told that this was one of the best restaurants around in terms of food quality, so when we found ourselves at Donnafugata late Sunday morning, it was with much anticipation that we entered the door. The main dining room had been completely booked for a family function, and we were offered the only unreserved table close to the main door. It seems our timing was fortunate, as several other would-be walk-in diners were turned away.
We decided to choose from the set menu and opted for the €20 selection of Antipasto rustico with Focaccine. The pasta course comprised ravioli di ricotta al sugo and cavatelli alla norma. At this point we were getting very full and thought that was it. But no, along came the main course of veal steak and roast sausage with chips! Then followed a selection of chocolates and coffee. Also included in the price was a bottle of water and half-litre of wine between us. Amazing value for money, and the food was good too, just that there was so much of it! The only criticisms were that we were sat close to an open door on a cold day, and there was a constant stream of family members arriving for the party in the main room. Also, there is only one toilet, so there was always a queue to make use of this faciulity

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaltaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Castello Donnafugata also viewed

Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
Donnafugata, Province of Ragusa
 
Donnafugata, Province of Ragusa
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Al Castello Donnafugata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing