We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the countryside”
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel based on the good reviews and they are well deserved. The room we had was very large, clean and very recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable, had crispy sheets and nice pillows.
The staff was excellent, always ready to help and advise places to eat local food.
We did not have much chances to use the resort facilities because of the weather but every bit seems very cured and well kept. We wish to go back in the summer.
The location is a bit off-hand but this is what one expect from an agriturismo.
The breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever experienced: a large table full of locally grown products, fresh fruit, fresh baked cakes, local cheeses and cold cuts... very great feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRCHIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear MRCHIT,
thank you so much for your good review and especially for praising the rooms,the breakfast which is made by fresh and local products.
We're so sorry you didn't have much chances to use resort facilities because the weather but we're glad to host you in summer in order to appreciate and use our swimming-pool with Jacuzzi integrated and our small aquafitness area (underwater bike and tapis roulant).
Greetings from Artemisia Resort's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 670 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just spent 8 days in the countryside close to Ragusa enjoying very warm hospitality in a quiet retreat. Our stay was very relaxing and we enjoyed our room, the facilites of the resort - I swam every morning in the 12 m by 7 m pool - and the excellent breakfasts. We enjoyed a bottle of red wine as a welcoming gift and later in our stay some lovely gifts. The service was exceptional as well as clean towels, the room was spotlessly cleaned. One must use this as a base to explore Noto, Donnulucata, Sampeiri, Syracusa, Caltagirone, Comiso and of course Ragusa Ibla - the old town. There are not many restaurants to recommend unless one goes to Ragusa. I did like our stay on this beautiful island and recommend it. Not far is Fratelli Maza (Praga 5 Ragusa) which is where you can sample and buy Sicilian wines.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Timetachy,
we're happy you enjoyed your stay at Artemisia.
The title of your review is very gratifying for us: we do the best in order our guests feel like at home.
Thank you for reccomanding the hotel to other people.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A little outside the lovely heritage city Ragusa is Artemesia Resort, a large property with pool, BBQ, outside eating area and expansive grounds. It is very well kept, spotlessly clean with large rooms simply furnished. Some nice touches such as fresh fruit in the room.
Parking is safe free, and easy inside their own compound- a bonus in Europe.

A bonus was the included breakfast with freshly made cappuccino, homemade jams and the most amazing selection of breads, cakes and other Sicilian treats !
Great value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Christo60,
thank you for your lovely words and for appreciating our service like the free parking, the cleanless of the rooms and for exaltin our breakfast all along our main strenght made by local and fresh products.
If you ever come to Ragusa again, please allow us the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

stayed a week in first class accommodation with the best attentive staff that one could wish for as other guest have recorded. The breakfasts were fit for royalty with ample choice and with fresh omelet made to order.Large room and kept in best order each day, meet Valentino and prepare to be impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jame m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Jame M,

thank you for your positive review: we are happy your stay was beautiful.Thank you for appreciating our rooms, for defining ou breakfast were fit for royalty.Thank you also for exalting the kindness of the staff.
The staff is always attentive to the guests and proponed to satisfy each request.
We hope to host you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel was our base for our long weekend tour of Montalbano country, having been fans of the series on BBC to help to improve my Italian! This is a recently well converted country farm location which has rooms in the main and outbuildings which are warmly and sympathetically decorated in the local style. The rooms are large and very comfortable with a large bathroom with great double shower. There is also free WiFi - if indeed you find the time for your iPad in this wonderful part of Sicily! Our breakfasts were something we really looked forward to each morning as we were able to drink freshly squeezed Sicilian orange juice and sample the locally prepared sweet and savoury cakes, as well as enjoying the fresh bread rolls and croissant. The staff were particularly warm and friendly and did not disappoint our high expectations of the welcoming Sicilian culture. Nothing was too much trouble for the small team who looked after us from arrival to departure, from the welcoming fruit in the room, (replaced daily) and the small bottle of Limoncello liquor whose flavour set the scene for a wonderful long Montalbano weekend! Will definitely be coming back to this unique and wonderful residence.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Nicholas,

thank you for your positive review: we have no words to add to this fantastic description about the hotel;thank you for exalting our main strengths such us the breakfast, which is copious and fresh.
We like welcoming our guests with a gift to make them feel at home and special.
We're glad your stay at Artemisia was wonderful.
We hope to host you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Wanted a taste of beautiful south-eastern Sicily over a 4-days break, and thanks to Artemisia and its staff I got way more than what I bargained for.

Framed in the middle of the countryside, yet conveniently close to both Comiso's airport and Ragusa - Ibla, this resort made our stay really pleasant and relaxing. We were spoilt by its beautiful setting — peaceful, slow-moving countryside, surrounded by dry stone walls delimiting a bunch of orchards and well kept gardens; how restful it was to read a book sitting on that rocking two-seater, or on one of those stone benches carved under an almond tree. The large outdoor swimming pool was very enticing, despite it being the wrong season (February).

The room was beautiful: very spacious and comfortable, good quality queen-sized (I think) bed, lovely stone walls, floor spot-lights and a snazzy one-way (inside to outside) glass entrance door for extra-light at no expense of privacy. Bathroom was well equipped too with modern fixtures and finishings.

The inclusive buffet breakfast was generous in quantity and variety, with most (if not all) fresh items being typical of the area and locally sourced, and all being delicious.

The staff deserves a separate mention: Valentina and Noemi's courtesy, competence, helpfulness and friendliness were beyond any reasonable expectation; the personal touch and smile they invariably offered can't be listed on a hotel web-site or meta-search engine.

The perhaps only short-coming of this magnificent structure — i.e. the lack an on-site restaurant, whose absence I didn't even notice yet was remarked by a few previous guests — is caused by sluggishly processed paperwork and is being obviously resolved.

To conclude: lovely structure and setting, far-from-usual-staple breakfasts and attentative staff. I couldn't have asked for more. Hope to see you soon, Artemisia!

Room Tip: Can't think of any: they all looked really enticing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sconti555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Responsabile reception at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear sconti555,
thank you for your lovely words about the hotel.We're glad your stay here was pleasant and relaxing.Thank you also for praising the comfort of the rooms, the breakfast which is fresh and generous with the aim to axalt an let know Sicilian products.
Thank you also for appreciating the courtesy and competene of the staff!
We hope to host you again in summer to use our swimming pool.
Best Regards,
Noemi & Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

An outstandingly good hotel in a great part of Sicily. Room was spacious and relaxing - large comfortable bed. Staff - so welcoming and friendly, and the same team on reception and at breakfast etc. Amazing breakfast with diverse range of cakes and savoury items. And staff really went out of their way to accommodate a gluten intolerance. Free wifi that worked well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Grafton_traveller493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
2.4 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#8 of 37 in Ragusa
555 reviews
3.4 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Aurea Resort
Domus Aurea Resort
#30 of 37 in Ragusa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Address: Via Enrico Caruso 13, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Family Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: $67 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing