We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great spot, wonderful Sicilian hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great spot, wonderful Sicilian hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived unti the moment we left 8 days later, the thing that really stands out about the Artemisia is how great the people who work there are. They are unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful. In particular, for us, Valentina deserves a special mention. She made a number of dinner suggestions and reservations for us, all of which were very good. She also helped with printing boarding cards and arranged for us to have an early breakfast on our last day for which we are very grateful.

We had 'the residence' which is a detached cottage of stone, slightly apart from the main building. It has a double bed on a mezzanine level, and on the ground floor a spacious living room, with sofa bed, dining table and chairs and a kitchenette. There is also a very nice shower room. On arrival there were little gifts of wine and some pasta and pesto in case we didn't feel like eating out on our first night. Everything was spotless, our towels and sheets were changed every day too.

Breakfast is a very good spread of breads, croissants, many different cakes, cheeses, ham, salami, fresh fruit etc. There was also freshly squeezed orange juice on request, in addition to the usual carton variety.

The pool area is well appointed and kept very clean. A great place to relax. For the more energetic there are exercise bikes, 'normal' bikes and even an underwater bike and treadmill. In fact there is also a four seater carriage style bike that kept some of the noisier English children occupied and away from the pool area (a blessed relief).

The hotel is well located to tour the South East of Sicily, including the many Montalbano locations and you can even get a guide from the hotel on where some of the more famous scenes were shot. You would need a car to travel out to eat in the evening and it's worth noting the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.

Finally it's a really quiet spot with no road noise. We would certain return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Arthmonster,
thank you so much for your fantastic review!
It's a huge pleasure and honour for us to receive such nice comments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Lots of greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    74
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
142
258
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Eveything looked new and well kept. The rooms are spacious and confortable, the bathroom is good and the service was excellent - the people were very friendly and did not hesitate to give us various tips on the region. For us, it was perfect because we would do day trips to the nearby cities.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Gabigu,
your review is very important to us and to potential guests, so thank you so much.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Delightful place.
Easy to find, easy to park. Service was very friendly and with a smile.
The room was very spacious and modern, extremely well equipped with bed, sofa and table, and very clean. Equipment included hair dryer, safe deposit box and a kettle (and tea)!
Buffet style breakfast was very good indeed in both quality and variety including a gluten free option in addition to the usual pastries. There was a swimming pool, free table football, free table tennis, free cycle hire. Even so, the resort was quiet and not crowded.
We felt more comfortable here than anywhere else we stayed in Sicily and wished we had stayed longer.
Downside? It's 2 kilometers to the nearest restaurant/pizzeria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Peter M59,

we would like to thank you for your delightful and detailed review.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Artemisia Resort.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I gave everything 5/5 except 4/5 for location, but if you've got a car, everything is easily accessible. The rooms are spotless, nicely decorated, with a kettle and a selection of teas. Comfortable, the people are lovely and welcoming, and the breakfast is fantastic, really really good. There's also a swimming pool, which lights up and changes colour at night. It was too cold to use it when we were there, unfortunately, but it'd be wonderful on a hot day. We only stayed one night, but I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameGateaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear MadameGateaux,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Artemisia Resort.
We’re pleased you appreciated our rooms and our amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that you can finally take advantage of our pool with Jacuzzi!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast property, a few kilometres outside Ragusa, but we found it very easily, it's well signed from the main roads.
We were welcomed warmly by the smart ladies who seemed to be running the place and shown to the most enormous room we've ever had, more of a mini-house! We had a single bed, table and chairs, a kitchen area and a bathroom with a huge shower downstairs, and a massive double bed and a TV upstairs on a mezzanine. The pillows were the most comfortable I've slept on for a long time, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets were of a very good quality.
There is a big pool with plenty of sunloungers and more shaded places to sit, a few facilities for children and some exercise bikes. Even though it was only mid April, it would have been rude not to use the pool!
Even though there isn't a restaurant on the site, we were given directions to a pizzeria.
The breakfast was delightful, a mixture of Sicilian sweet things, many home made, and meats, cheeses and eggs.
Our only regret was that we were only there for 1 night, it's somewhere which could tempt us back to Sicily in the warmer months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireBrigadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Yorkshire Brigadier,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Artemisia Resort and that the room, the breakfast and the pool were to your liking. We would love to share your review on Google +.
We look forward to your next and hopefully longer stay with us.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

If you have a car, you must stay at this outstanding hotel. Location is a bit outside of Ragusa, but the place is amazing. Rooms are beautifully appointed, even 8 jet spray shower. We wanted a light mean for dinner, and they served an enormous and delicious antipasto. The grounds and the pool are lovely. This hotel deserves five stars! The service was impeccable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear hrk_9,
Thank you for your amazing review and for choosing to spend your holiday at Artemisia Resort. We are so happy to read that you had a really nice stay.
We would very much like to welcome you back.
Best Regards,
Federico Cappuzzello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

While travelling on a business trip in Sicily I decided to stop for 3 days in the Ragusa area. I enjoyed very much this place. People were very friendly and helpful. I used one of their bicycles.
The owner helped to fix it up and offered to come and pick me up in case something happened. I travel and stay in Hotel at least 5 months a year; I am difficult, but everything was fine here

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sergio F,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our free bike rental service.
We wish to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Federico Cappuzzello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.1 mi away
Relais Parco Cavalonga
Relais Parco Cavalonga
#8 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#5 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
4.0 mi away
Antica Badia Relais Hotel
9.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#2 of 16 in Modica
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Property: Artemisia Resort
Address: Via Enrico Caruso 3, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Family Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing