We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good facilities for 3 star hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great service, good facilities for 3 star hotel.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

But location a but off if you are visiting Ragusa (8-10km away) and price at level of 4 star hotel. Great service, nice helpful staff, reasonable breakfast, large room. Overal nice place but you might want to consider a place closer to Ragusa, if your focus is not the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JML01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    77
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
166
281
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We fell into this charming hotel by accident and it was truly a blessing that we had car trouble! Coming into the village of Ragusa late at night, we discovered that our rental car would not go into reverse. Pulling into a petrol station, the staff told us that the best hotel to go to was "Artemisia Resort". They phoned ahead for us and advised us that the parking there would not be a problem since the driveway was circular. It was only a few kilometers away and easy to find. The night person at the front desk spoke English quite well and was ready for us. He escorted us to the most gorgeous room in this converted farmhouse. Wow!! The room was huge by European standards (and by Canadian standards as well!). It was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed was fabulous! What a find! The price per night at Artemisia was cheaper than other hotels that we had stayed at and much, much nicer.The night person told us that the woman working at the front desk spoke very good English and would help us in the morning to sort out exchanging cars with Avis in the town of Ragusa. In the morning, we met Valentina at the front desk who informed us, in excellent English, that her uncle would be coming by to escort us to Avis in Ragusa to change our car. We went to the breakfast room where they had set out a fabulous breakfast of eggs, cereals, pastries, cold meats, cheeses from the area, juice and hot European coffee (our favourite!), We were indeed getting spoiled! We asked if we could stay another night at the hotel as we wanted to explore the Unesco world heritage towns all around Ragusa (Noto and Iblia come to mind and have to be seen!!). No problem since we were traveling during the month of April and it was not busy. Great! Her uncle Vincenzo (one of the owners of Artemisial) came right after breakfast and we followed him to the Avis counter in the town of Ragusa. He stayed with us to make sure that everything went well at Avis (and it did!) and then he led us to the old city of Ibla. We can't say enough about Artemisia Hotel except that you will not be disappointed. The hotel also put in a gorgeous pool but since it was mid-April, it was too cool to use it. Molte grazie Vallentina and Vincenzo!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear D P,
Thank you for sharing your experience. It was a great pleasure meeting you.
Helping our guests with their problems is one of our prime duties. We are so pleased to hear that we made up for the trouble you had with your car.
Your review is a motivator to keep on doing the best we can for our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. The room was enormous and had a sofa that looked like it probably made up into a bed if you had a child with you. There was also a table & 2 chairs and a communicating door so it would be a good place if you were going as a family. After staying in lots of town centre hotels in Sicily this felt like an oasis and it was wonderful to have the swimming pool and outside space to relax in. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would stay here again like a shot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieWoWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Debbie WoWos,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. It was rewarding to read your fantastic comments about your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fantastic Sicilian resort with brilliant staff and close to what appear to be undiscovered (at least by the Lonely Planet!) beaches along an amazing coastline. We holidayed in September when the locals had all returned to work - no more than 10 - 15 people on the glorious beaches at any one time and our choice of restaurants along the seafront. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - lots of tips on local restaurants and beaches and even an offer of GPS! It's a great base to explore the baroque towns of Modica, Ragusa Ibla and Syracuesa although you will need a car - and if coming from the UK or Ireland nerves of steel for the first few days of experiencing Italian driving!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Michelle,
Thank you immensely for your review! It truly means a lot to us to get such a positive feedback.
We are really happy to hear that your holiday in Sicily was pleasant and satisfactory.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

but this resort is fabulous.All the other positive comments about the staff,the service ,the location and the breakfasts are true.The location means that the south eastern coast with its magical beaches and the baroque towns are in easy reach (but you need a car). The rooms are spacious and quiet and it is clear that the staff take a great pride in their workplace and in contributing to the well being of their guests.The gardens will mature beautifully and we will certainly go back to see that.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have their own terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angharad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Angharad,
We are delighted to hear that your stay at Artemisia lived up to your expectations.
It’s always encouraging to read reviews like yours.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramelton, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were recommended the Artemisia Resort Hotel by some friends who raved about it and so we had very high expectations which probably coloured out judgement. First of all, Artemisia Resort Hotel is neither a resort (OK - it has a pool) nor a hotel (it has no dining room, bar or lounge facilities). However it is an outstanding B&B. The most important feature are the staff who are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is a Sicilian spread of sweet delights - as one guest said to us - 'its like a birthday party - all those cakes'. However there are some savoury items more suited to the UK and Irish palate as well. The accommodation is of a very high standard and if we were being 'picky' they could improve on the plastic glasses in the rooms and might have tissues in the bathroom. The biggest issue is that there is no dining facility on site and this means driving to find a restaurant and therefore no drinking for the driver. The hotel staff did say they were planning a restaurant and that would make Artemisia a perfect choice for visiting this interesting region of Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandalFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Randal,
First of all, thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. It’s very important for us to get feedback from our guests. Your remarks will constitute the starting point of our hospitality management. We will do our best to improve on the aspects you have pointed out. Most of all, thank you for the nice words about our breakfast and our staff, they are always happy to help.
Thank you once again!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A real gem of Sicilian hospitality, the rooms are large and comfortable, and it's a great base from which to visit all the magnificent local sites and the seaside. In the July heat it provides a cool and comfortable haven to retreat to when you don't fancy driving about, the pool is perfectly maintained and the owner and his staff go that extra bit to make you feel really at home. The breakfast is an enticing feast in itself and the BBQ facilities are great for when you don't want to go out. Delicious coffees, assorted cold drinks and local wines are always available and very reasonably priced. It’s one of those places that which I'm sure will go from strength to strength and build a loyal following.

It doesn't have its own restaurant but the local restaurants are reliably good but just going to the local supermarket and picking up local bread, salamis, cheeses, tomatoes, artichokes etc. etc. fruit and wine to make up fabulous picnics was a real treat and very economical. If you want to push the boat out there's a Michelin starred restaurant in Ragusa Ibla and by Michelin standards, it too, is reasonably priced

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Charles,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for recommending us on Trip Advisor.
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel, hospitality and service. Your comments motivate us to deliver a great service.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
32.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,078 reviews
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
447 reviews
74.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,947 reviews
89.8 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Property: Artemisia Resort
Address: Via Enrico Caruso 13, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Family Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing