We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding B&B”
Review of Artemisia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artemisia Resort
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were recommended the Artemisia Resort Hotel by some friends who raved about it and so we had very high expectations which probably coloured out judgement. First of all, Artemisia Resort Hotel is neither a resort (OK - it has a pool) nor a hotel (it has no dining room, bar or lounge facilities). However it is an outstanding B&B. The most important feature are the staff who are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is a Sicilian spread of sweet delights - as one guest said to us - 'its like a birthday party - all those cakes'. However there are some savoury items more suited to the UK and Irish palate as well. The accommodation is of a very high standard and if we were being 'picky' they could improve on the plastic glasses in the rooms and might have tissues in the bathroom. The biggest issue is that there is no dining facility on site and this means driving to find a restaurant and therefore no drinking for the driver. The hotel staff did say they were planning a restaurant and that would make Artemisia a perfect choice for visiting this interesting region of Sicily.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandalFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Randal,
First of all, thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. It’s very important for us to get feedback from our guests. Your remarks will constitute the starting point of our hospitality management. We will do our best to improve on the aspects you have pointed out. Most of all, thank you for the nice words about our breakfast and our staff, they are always happy to help.
Thank you once again!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 684 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

A real gem of Sicilian hospitality, the rooms are large and comfortable, and it's a great base from which to visit all the magnificent local sites and the seaside. In the July heat it provides a cool and comfortable haven to retreat to when you don't fancy driving about, the pool is perfectly maintained and the owner and his staff go that extra bit to make you feel really at home. The breakfast is an enticing feast in itself and the BBQ facilities are great for when you don't want to go out. Delicious coffees, assorted cold drinks and local wines are always available and very reasonably priced. It’s one of those places that which I'm sure will go from strength to strength and build a loyal following.

It doesn't have its own restaurant but the local restaurants are reliably good but just going to the local supermarket and picking up local bread, salamis, cheeses, tomatoes, artichokes etc. etc. fruit and wine to make up fabulous picnics was a real treat and very economical. If you want to push the boat out there's a Michelin starred restaurant in Ragusa Ibla and by Michelin standards, it too, is reasonably priced

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Charles,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for recommending us on Trip Advisor.
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel, hospitality and service. Your comments motivate us to deliver a great service.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked to stay at Artemisia as part of our honeymoon in Sicily... what a great choice!

It is a small, rural-style resort that has been finished beautifully. The place is so picturesque and peaceful, a very enjoyable treat after the chaos of Catania.

We were arrived to fantasticly welcoming staff, who made us feel so well looked after during our whole stay. They were so friendly, helpful and met our every need from lunch by the pool to a bottle of wine to enjoy late one evening.

The rooms are very pleasant and had everything we needed. The grounds have a fabulous pool (including one corner that turns into a jacuzzi), lovely sun loungers and even table football.

The breakfast is an incredible platter of various local foods...a great way to start the day. The lunch we were provided as we lounged by the pool was also first class.

Thank you again to the fantastic staff who contributed to such a memorable honeymoon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Jamie,
We’re so happy you chose Artemisia for your honeymoon. It was an honour for us.
Thank you so much for your truly beautiful review. We are happy to share it on Google +.
We wish you all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

very small and very nice resort close to the city Ragusa. The staff of this 3* hotel is very friendly and helpfull.
The quiet rooms in this old looking farmhouse are spacious, cool and really nice.
The very nice and large swimming pool was checked / cleaned every hour by the hotel staff.
Local breakfast is well balanced and fresh fruit was available.
It was a very nice surprice to have have all this in a 3* hotel for such a good price

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVD-004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for choosing us. We really aprreciate it. We're happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your opinion counts a lot to us.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Artemisia is a new-ish hotel and perhaps is still a little raw on the outside but this is more than made up for by the excellence of the standard of staff, the amazing breakfasts, the large and comfortable rooms. The facilities seem to be increasing over the months but when we visited last week there was a good reasonably sized pool with lots of seating and umbrellas, bicycles to use, hammocks, and a very small exercise area. The room we were given was cool (important when the outside temperature was in the 40s) with linen and towels that were changed every day. Most importantly, despite being next to tables which were well populated at night outside our door, the room was completely quiet. The staff were were exceptional. Welcoming, very helpful and willing and quite delightful. Any request was met with a smile, and their local knowledge was invaluable. I would recommend this hotel without reservation except that you must be sure to get directions straight from the hotel as booking.com caused us an extra hour of searching!

Room Tip: All rooms are A/C, quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear "Snsclark",
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing to spend your holiday at our hotel. Getting to know you was a delight. We won't never forget two fantastic people like you. Having you here as our guests was a great pleasure. We would love to share your really kind review with our friends on Facebook.
We look forward to meeting you again.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Artemisia resort is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the typical sicilian atmosphere. Just in the middle between Ragusa, Punta secca (Montalbano's house), Donnafugata Castle, Modica, Scicli and many more marvelous attractions, it is the best place to stay outside the busy life of a town. You will enjoy the open space of the countryside, the swimmingpool (usable from april to october), and, of course, the courtesy and kindness of the resort staff. Breakfast is a very pleasurable experience! Thanks a lot.
Grazie davvero di cuore per la disponibilità e l'accoglienza. Saremo sicuramente vostri ospiti in futuro.
Nicola Pizzolato from Palermo, Sicily, Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npiz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Nicola,
we're really happy to have satisfied your expectations and we hope too see you again soon. Your review is an important reason for us to improve.Thanks a lot and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The staff at this pretty country hotel are superb; friendly and helpful far beyond what we could possibly have expected. We had a problem with our hire car and they spent hours on the phone sorting it out and then taking us to get another car. The rooms were excellent; well equipped, large, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was well balanced, with organic tempting food and fruit. Thegrounds are well designed and the whole experience made us feel better- exactly as a holiday should be.

Room Tip: They all seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artemisiaresort, Direttore at Artemisia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks for appreciating our Resort.
We are really happy to help and solve problems of our guests because our purpose is to make them feel comfortable, even when they are far from home.
I am, also, glad to share your review with our friends on Facebook.
Yours Sincerely
Federico Cappuzzello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
2.5 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
3.4 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#3 of 37 in Ragusa
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#8 of 37 in Ragusa
566 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
74.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Resort

Address: Via Enrico Caruso 3, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: $70 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemisia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Artemisia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Resort Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing