We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, personal and tasteful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Antica Badia
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, personal and tasteful”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our first visit to Sicily started with Mt Etna erupting out of the blue and delaying our arrival by a day. We chose this hotel using Trivago and we weren't expecting anything out of the ordinary. We managed to squeeze the hired car through the archway leading to this hotel in the middle of the city. From the moment we entered the small reception area, we were transported into 5 days of ecstasy (i.e we had a lovely time).The rooms were tastefully decorated, the beds comfortable, large windows that looked out on to the inner courtyard. The lighting could have been better but this added to the charm of this boutique hotel in an ancient house, converted from one part of a large convent, with tunnels leading to the cathedral next door. Breakfast was a fantastic experience, with a large variety of Italian cakes, fruits and drinks. The architecture of the dinning area was in keeping with the baroque building. The receptionist and waiters were very friendly and attentive. Although there were other guests staying in the hotel (Americans, Italians, British), their presence was hardly felt. All in all, we had a lovely stay and I am sure we will go back to Ragusa and this hotel. There is so much to see in and around Ragusa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaulB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    115
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
331
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, N.Y.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

So beautiful that you will not want to leave. All the people at this hotel go out of their way to take care of you and make sure that you experience the best of this delightful and Baroque gem.
The hotels locations is ideal , just at the beginning of the "Ragusa Ibla" area which is the reason to visit.
The rooms are large and luxurious with the most comfortable beds and gorgeous linens. Perfect!
A delicious buffet breakfast is served in rooms that are magnificent. This hotel was the home of
a local aristocrat and it has been brought into the 21st. century in a most delightful way.
This hotel knows what they are doing and they deserve the highest rating on all counts. A highlight in our wonderful trip all around Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived in Ragusa and didn't know what to expect. I had made my reservation and rolled the dice. This hotel should be five stars, everything about it was first class, from the staff, to the waiters, the room, breakfast, just everything was provided to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. This is a hotel I am recommending to anyone who visits this beautiful city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is up hill on new Ragusa area. The service is 5 stars, breakfast is good, rooms are very cute and well decorated, very romantic. The shower needed some bleach and scrubbing, but other than that it was great. We were there just for 1 night and were very impressed with the quality of service. The hotel was a antique house of upscale family from old times turned into a hotel. It is very charming and you can walk around the hotel and imagine how life used to be in the past in that house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FaccioStoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel staff excellent small hotel the hotel an old converted mansion opposite the cathedral, near the best pizza of town, have parking which is very important.
They arrange for us everything we ask for the visit of Ragusa and near by towns

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimez2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked the hotel before getting the guide book and were a little worried that we were staying in Ragusa Superior rather than the old centre in Ibla. However I think we had the best of both worlds. It was an easy walk down to Ibla (taxi ride back) and great to stay in the less touristy Superior.
The hotel was lovely, full of interesting details and the staff were great. Michele in particular was so friendly and helpful, even to the extent of putting out the Union Jack when I mentioned it was not flying by the front door!
The room was very comfortable. We had some laundry done and this was returned very quickly. My only criticism would be that there was not enough room to hang or put clothes away. A set of drawers would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalon880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved this hotel. Great service and staff - and the design was amazing.
Loved the quirky little details everywhere.

The room was small but nice. Air con could have worked a little bit better, but it wasnt too bad

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-HJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.7 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
3.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
638 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#5 of 37 in Ragusa
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
0.2 mi away
De Stefano Palace Luxury Hotel
2.2 mi away
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#24 of 37 in Ragusa
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Antica Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Antica Badia

Property: Relais Antica Badia
Address: Corso Italia 115, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Antica Badia Relais Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Spa Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Business Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Antica Badia 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Antica Badia is set in a grand 18th-century villa in the centre of Ragusa, a 5-minute walk from the Ibleo Archaeological Museum. It features a luxury spa with sauna, Turkish bath and massage service. Its large halls have Baroque-style frescoes.The hotel has comfortable guest rooms, elegantly decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture from Sicily and all of Europe.The heritage of the Antica Badia Relais has been beautifully preserved during its renovation. It is complimented by a range of modern technologies including conference facilities and free Internet connection.Sample some delicious Sicilian dishes at the hotel's restaurant, all prepared using only the finest and freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Antica Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Antica Badia Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing