We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unique hotel on beach”
Review of La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Bussola
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Punta Ala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was looking for somewhere for a five night restful and relaxing break. La Bussola was the perfect choice. The Hotel sits surrounded by pine trees just behind Punta Ala's long, sandy beach. The design of the hotel is really unique. The rooms aren't large but are wonderfully organised with every convenience, large very comfotable beds, great linen and attention to little details. From the guy that runs the beach, to the bar and dining room staff, everyone knew my name and immediately made me feel at home. Breakfast, with a good selection of things to chose from was included in the room price, but, although there is a good selection of places to eat in the area, I mainly ate lunch and dinner at La Bussola because the food was so good (I put on 2.5 Kgs in my short stay!). Service was efficient and the dining room staff were absolutely charmimg and helpful. The Hotel was immaculately run and. thanks in part to it's wonderful, quirky, design and use of local timber throughout, had a senase of being on a very comfortable boat parked under the pine trees on a Tuscan beach.

Room Tip: The Beach is a little remote so you really need a car in Punta Ala
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for La Bussola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Frankies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: la camera piu' grande
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank profpellegrinetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank fb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank nicolettasav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ala
0.7 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baglioni Resort Cala del Porto
0.7 mi away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
342 reviews
3.7 mi away
Roccamare Resort
Roccamare Resort
#13 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
404 reviews
5.7 mi away
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
#4 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bussola

Address: Via della Dogana, 58043 Punta Ala, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia > Punta Ala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Punta Ala
Price Range: $151 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is La Bussola : the privilege of feeling authentic emotions in the context of absolute freedom! We proudly present you La Bussola Hotel "La Bussola" :a four-star hotel with a sea-view which is situated in the heart of Toscana, the land of the Etruscans. In the charming bay of Punta Ala facing a limpid (repeatedly awarded with the "Bandiera Blu" ) and tranquil sea, you'll be the guests of our hotel and our splendid private beach equipped with all the necessary services. From there you'll be able to see all the isles of the Tuscan Archipelago - from Elba to Gorgona - seven pearls which fell from Venus's necklace, according to the legend, while she was swimming in the transparent water of the Mediterranean sea. There'll always be our attentive and gentile staff at your disposal who will provide you with soft and strong drinks and cold dished directly under your sun-umbrella in order to satisfy any of your needs. Behind our hotel there're a green pine-forest and the mediterranean scrub, four fields for five-a-side football and tennis, a minigolf area, a bar and a big safeguarded parking. All of it is on the territory of our property of 70.000 mq. Within a 200 m distance there're a polo and a horse-riding fields, a sailing school and a bit farther there's a golf-club, our good business partner, which will invite you to admire one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world. Even our dishes that are served in our restaurant with a panoramic sea view, are prepared with an excellent accuracy in order to provide our guests with variety and quality united with the tradition and abundance of tastes. Our chef selects daily fresh genuine ingredients to prepare the dishes according to the tradition of Maremma, the Mediterranean area and the whole world, and combines them with a wide range of quality wines, Italian and foreign ones, which are being stored in our incredible subterranean wine cellar where you can choose out of 200 labels and 2000 bottles. Not only in summer but also in spring, in autumn and in winter can you appretiate the cordiality of the Damiani family and their staff who will make your vacation become a true bloom of emotions. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Punta Ala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing