We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Relais Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Punta Ala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Criteria to be a Relais Chateau is the basic 5C's. Comfort, Calm, Courtesy, Cuisine and Charm. I am sorry to say that it had only Cuisine and Courtesy as its major pluses . It was extremely noisy. The rooms lacked charm and had a hard bed. It was not comfortable. I expected so much more than what was offered. This hotel has extremely competent staff who are very polite. The food was good but it's so old fashioned. Serious money has to be thrown at this place to bring it up to speed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RMAN2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

why fly hours and hours if one of the most beautiful, finest beaches at 6hours by car from home (switzerland). The hotel is located in the very Italian town of Punta Ala where a lot of Italians are on holidays too. Some call Punta Ala the St.Moritz of the beaches. The nearby porto - 10' from the hotel spreads a bit of Italian glamour. its the home of luna rossa the Prada sailboat. The hotel - at first glance not that impressive- the with the front dating from the seventies reveals its charm very quickly with the excellent standard in rooms and the superiority of service. Long term employees (some are here for the last 8 years we regularly come here) and a very charming terrace -overlooking the bay of punta ala and a nice pool area just in front of the hotel. The 'pagoda' the beach club offers a great lunch buffet incl. grill. Top notch standard even in Tuscany where food is generally very good. the classical Galadinner (splendid starter buffet and Desserts, mains are average) on saturdays features good food tradition to a very high standard. another highlight is the wednesday beach dinner directly at the beach - again excellent standard. These guys know about food ! The aperitivo just tastes better 2m in front of the coastline !
No, its not cheap and the extras can indeed add up but the standard is simply excellent - also tbe climate in july and august is great - never much warmer than 30 degrees and always a gentle breeze. Mild evenings at 25 degrees. Family owned and very family friendly. Our 3 kids were genuinely welcome at all times. also great are the swimming lesson for kids at the pool. No kidsclub but a huge lawn and plenty of kids to lark about.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godofgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely hotel and grounds. the private beach is beautiful. food amazing (but then what do you expect, you are in tuscany). service is very personal and attentive. highly recommended, especially for families

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been to Gallia Palace early in June with our 1 year-old daughter.

It is ideally located in the Maremma and important touristic towns and villages are easily reachable provided you have a car.

The hotel is a nice place to spend holidays in family. The rooms are rather big with a nice terrace. The food is really good and the buffet on Saturday evenings is really impressive.

The real strong point of the hotel is the service. You are feeling at home, part of a big family and you really forget you are in a hotel.

The beach and its restaurants are also great.

The hotel is actually different from other Relais&Chateaux we have been to. But we would go back again to Gallia Palace without any doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for 28 years!!!
I think that says it all.
The Family run hotel is unique - it is our 2nd home.
The staff are so welcoming and friendly nothing is too much trouble
down to the last detail.
The beach and beach restaurant is amazing - great food and wines of the region.
and going to dinner in the evening is a delight.
Looking forward already for our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is really amazing! The friendly staff, the relaxed atmosphere and the fantastic service make this a place where you want to spend your holiday! Amazing restaurant at the beach, top beach chairs and great food! I would really recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: De appartementen die bij het hotel horen zijn super wanneer je met kinderen bent. Je hebt je eigen r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielle1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

You feel the good service immediately when you are greeted in reception by Alessandro, the concierge. Rooms are not huge but have good facilities and are serviced twice a day. Pool area is delightful and quiet as most guests go the beach restaurant. Bar service and piano entertainment excellent. Only reservation is food generally good but not exceptional and breakfast was the same each morning. A very pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank freshmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ala
0.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
668 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baglioni Resort Cala del Porto
10.5 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
#3 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Bussola
La Bussola
#4 of 5 in Punta Ala
132 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roccamare Resort
Roccamare Resort
#12 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux

Address: Via delle Sughere, 58040 Punta Ala, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia > Punta Ala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Punta Ala
Price Range: $376 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant property that was the first Italian hotel to joint the Relais & Chateaux Association in 1973, and the Gallia-Ansaldi family has been welcoming guests here for three generations. Fall in love with the private,fine sandy beach in front of the island of Elba, where La Pagoda restaurant reigns supreme, thanks to its unique architecture and spectacular sea view. Completely relax in the Turkish baths, pool or wellness centre and gym. Golfer will enjoy the 18-hole golf course, set in a pine forest that is over hundred years old. A private yacht awaits for memorable excursions to the Tuscan archipelago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallia Palace Punta Ala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing