We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well below the star rating and the price”
Review of Baia di Nora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baia di Nora
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here for ten days on half-board. Plenty of fresh produce at breakfast and dinner, but cooked food generally bland; also over-cooked pasta (in Italy!) one night and seriously over-cooked fish twice. Markups on even modest wines 500+% by comparison with Pula supermarket. Ground-floor room spacious; mattress past its best. Bathroom: sink, toilet, bidet and mini shower stall. Plumbing noise and footsteps from surrounding rooms. Minimal hotel information in room. Inquiry to front desk about absence of an allegedly available TV channel - we speak good Italian, a decided asset - led to 24 hours of assurances that the channel would be restored, culminating in an admission that the hotel satellite dish could not in fact receive it. No one on front desk at all when we returned to the hotel one night at midnight. Room well cleaned, although at times varying from during breakfast to late afternoon; maid left it unlocked one day. Bed linen changed twice, bath and beach towels daily. Three-section pool, feeble jacuzzi; no spa. Hotel fronts on narrowest part of the very clean beach; sunbeds on its patch are crowded together in three rows, not the two shown on the website, and cost 6 euros per day each. Check-out was slow: we had to ask for the bill to be altered because no account had been taken of the substantial deposit paid on booking and then two tries were needed to find a credit-card machine that worked. Oh, and the hotel offered, on booking, a taxi transfer from Cagliari at 70 euros each way, compared with "the 100 euros you will be charged at the airport"; we found, after a two-minute Web search, a transfer at 60 euros each way by a firm that the hotel itself advertises! The gardens are indeed beautifully kept, but overall the hotel shows insufficient concern for its guests and offers poor value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ch0irman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 367 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Myself and my husband had a fabulous honeymoon week here early June. The evening food was fantastic and the wine, lovely. If the italians holiday, here, then its a good sign and the food must be good!. We had a lovely waiter that looked after us every evening and attended to anything we wanted.
I liked it that no-body rushed to put towels down and there was no urgency to do anything. You have to pay for the bed and umbrella on the beach each day if you want to, but you can also just take your towel down any lie on the sand for nothing.
Our room was nice, overlooking the west side of the island. There were loads of housemartins making nests on the hotel building and are protected during this particular time, but they were entertainment! We had a look at another room to see if we could get a sea or garden view but there was only 1 other room vacant and that had loads of birds nests in the ceiling above the balcony, not to mention the bird mess on the floor. We decided that we had a really nice room anyway and stayed put.
We also walked along the beach to the archaeological site of Nora and tour round this. That was fabulous but restrictive as you had to wait for a guide to take you round however it would nice to go where you wanted. Still worth the visit.
Overall the staff were very accommodating, friendly and eager to help. We are certainly going to go back next year. Bravo!
.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salberti74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed a week in June, with settled weather consistently in 30s. Don't be put off by Sarroch - the location on the beach at Nora is terrific. Grounds are beautiful, room was very nice on ground floor with terrace opening onto gardens, 20 metres to restaurant & bar; 40 metres to pool and 60 metres to private beach. Service was great and staff unobtrusive but couldn't be more helpful. We did half board but also took a leisurely lunch in the bar every day too. Food was fabulous - typical Italian/Sardinian with excellent service from friendly staff. The Roman settlement at Nora is 5 mins walk away and well worth visiting. We had intended touring around the area but in the end just enjoyed the beautiful relaxing surroundings. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday where good service, good food and cleanliness are important to you then Hotel Baia de Nora is the place for you.
I have just returned after my second visit in a year and it was brilliant both times. The management and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful in every way. The hotel is set in wonderful gardens which lead you down to the beautiful sandy beach with free deckchairs and towels. The standard rooms are ideal - very spacious, overlooking the gardens, furnished in typical Sardinian simplicity and very clean.
Breakfast is an extensive buffet including hot food such as bacon and scrambled egg. Dinner is of a very high quality and varied to suit all tastes. The hotel attracts many nationalities and many people return year after year. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jilly080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We had 5 nights here, had a reasonably enjoyable stay. Room was comfortable but not a very good view from the balcony, balcony nicely furnished though. Pool area very nice, there was a swim up pool bar but never saw it staffed very often. We were half board, breakfast was typically Italian, no hot food apart from boiled eggs and toast, but as we are very familiar with italy this was no suprise. Nice beach area, but not much around the hotel to walk to apart from obviously the archealogical site at Nora. Evening meals I found quite nice, fair choice & good service. The thing I was most disappointed in was the food available at lunchtime at the bar, was only really a choice of various salads, which i don't mind but my husband is not much of a salad fan, he mainly ate the sardinian bread which is very addictive, was not cheap either for what I would consider to be a snack at lunchtime. My biggest complaint is the price of the drinks in the bar. We just charged things to the room for ease, we has been paying about 4 euros for a small beer, which although not cheap was about what was expected, but at night I had vodka & diet coke, imagine my suprise when we checked out to find that we had been charged 10 euros? I know the exchange rate has suffered but this is ridiculous and a complete rip off! Would not go back again for this very reason.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Generally acceptable standard of hotel for 4 star. Disappointing that there are no sea views despite being within 200 metres of the sea. Staff friendly and helpful. However food not 4 star, not even 3 star, barely 2 star. Despite paying for half board we chose to eat out for the second half of our holiday. "Salad Buffet" consisted of lettuce, tomatoe and grated carrot EVERY NIGHT. Unable to even provide a decent pasta or risotto. Despite hotel being ok would never return as good food is such a vital part of our holiday. The rooms reaked of smoke which despite their best efforts were unable to resolve. Patio had birds nests and therefore bird droppings redering it virtually unusable. One evening we came home and had an ant invasion in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

This hotel is listed as " 4* Superior " in the brochures. In our opinion it hardly reaches the lower end of the 4 * rating.
Our room,161, was small and dark with a tiny bathroom. The Terrace was oppressive being overshadowed by the planting.
My wife and I are vegetarians , which was supposed to be no problem for the hotel. However all they could offer us other than salad and pasta with tomatoe sauce was over cooked ommelettes. There is no cooked food for breakfast. The salad bar for dinner frequently ran out and the guests had to ask for it to be replenished. he food was uninspired, poorly presented and badly served. I have had better choice,quality,service and value from my local Pizza Hut.
The pool area is good but the sun loungers are very close together on the paved area. The beach is narrow and scruffy away from the hotel area. There is a charge for the beach sun loungers and for the towels.
The bar charges are high a cocktail ranges from 10 to 15 euros beer at 6 euros. The bar lunches are also expensive , a toasted cheese sandwich, with no garnish cost us 6 euros each.
I get the feeling that they are cutting cost in the catering area and ground maintenance and charging as much as they can for drinks, towels sun loungers and other "extras"
This hotel has potential. It's in a good location just outside of Pula and half way between Gagliari and the great beach at Chia. However it is let down in the areas detailed above and deffinately not in the 4* Superior class.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mak45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lantana Resort, Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#10 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,505 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Il Castello
Hotel Il Castello
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
618 reviews
5.2 mi away
Is Morus Relais
Is Morus Relais
#9 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia di Nora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia di Nora

Address: Localita su Guventeddu SS 195 | Nora, 09010, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
#7 Family Hotel in Pula
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pula
Price Range: $161 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia di Nora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baia di Nora is a 4 star hotel that lies along the south coast of Sardinia, one of this island’s most fascinating and unusual areas, only a few minutes away from the ancient Phoenician city of Nora. You will feel at home at Hotel Baia di Nora, thanks to its elegant 120 rooms tucked away in nature, its private white-sand beach and the clear blue waters of the sea, that will make your holiday very relaxing,far away from the city lifestyle and surrounded only by the nature of the Mediterranean. At Hotel Baia di Nora’s Restaurant you can enjoy the many dishes of Sardinian tradition along with an excellent selection of local and international wines. At the Snack Bar you can taste a quick snack, a salad or a sandwich for lunch and you may also have an aperitif or sip a cocktail.Whether you come here with your partner or family, you will have everything you need to rest and relax to the full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Baia di Nora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Di Nora Pula, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing