We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, bit weird and scary hotel”
Review of Is Molas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Is Molas Resort
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Pula
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outdated, bit weird and scary hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in a hotel for 1 night, while traveling to Pula, as I booked our hotel in Pula one day short I decided to stay in Is Molas as it was bit cheaper, I do regret saving those euros as it was definetelly not worth it. It's 3km from main road and almost 5 from the Pula, so if you would like to go for a dinner you have to count on driving back on a pretty wavy road. Hotel by itself is in one the furthest corners of Is molas resort where are some nice villas and houses and looks really old and poor comparing to the houses around it. It tooik some time to get to hotel. Staff was friendly, but room smelled from some strong desinfection chemicals. It was facing the garden and anybody could walk in the room as balconies are not separated with a smallest fence. The weird part was that at 4am hotel phone staretd to ring and while there was nobody on the line, you couldn't put down the phone as it kept ringing and only after unplugging from the wall it stopped ringing... Felt like haunted room. Breakfast was very poor as well - I had some eggshells in my omelet, so we were very happy to moove to Marin Hotel in Pula... what a bless comparing to this.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at least ask for a room on the upper floors as the ground floor doesn't fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachloverSardinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    87
    52
    18
    17
See reviews for
32
85
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senago, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is lovely, as already specified by someone else, the decor is a bit dated but that doesn't detract from it. The hotel staff were (mostly) helpful, the pool and terraced area were lovely, even though it was really hot there was always a breeze there.
The only bar open during the day is the pool bar, which was manned off and on by one man who would wander off for 20 minutes at a time, and wasn't particularly helpful - he told an American guest that they didn't serve food while I know they do toasted sandwiches; I went over and helped out and resonably grudgingly he made a sandwich for the guest. The pool bar doesn't seem to have stable hours - in the evening before dinner when it would have been nice to have a drink by the pool it was closed and you had to walk a long way back to the hotel bar for one... at that point you had lost the will to walk all the way back to sit at the pool and drink it.
The wifi connection was terrible. We had organised a meeting in the area and we had more than 50 people in the hotel - what little wifi there was died after about 3 people tried to connect up at the same time. The hotel staff did get a technician in to improve the wifi signal and the way of connecting to it, but it didn't improve that much and there was no wifi connection in the rooms. If you don't mind sitting in the hotel lobby (which is quite comfortable) then it won't be a problem for you.
The hotel is very isolated - though it does offer a shuttle service to the nearby town of Pula and the beach (the beach I was told was lovely and well furnished with towels and loungers, though no bar), though as far as i could tell these shuttles were rather infrequent. If you want to go into town on your own you'll have to order a taxi and it'll cost you €30 round trip. A taxi to the airport (one way) will cost you €70 if you're lucky.
I was also told that there are some nice tracks to run (about a km away from the hotel) in the woods, so that is a plus if you're a jogger/runner.
All in all the area is very pretty, the hotel itself is nice and comfortable, the air conditioning worked fine in the rooms, but unless you want peace and the possibility of playing golf then this isn't the hotel for you.

Room Tip: The nearer to reception the better chance you have of getting a wifi signal in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieB849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I'm surprised by the bad reviews. This hotel might be a little dated, but rooms are big and clean, it's set in a beautiful hilly area away from the crowds, restaurant is outstanding and staff is very helpful. All at half price then other resorts in Chia. I'd go back. PS: you do need a car.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TALENTINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I went on holiday with my partner and 7 year old. The hotel is several miles from Pula down a road towards the mountains...its quite a distance but it's nice that it's so peaceful and quiet outside at night. The walls are quite thin in the rooms and we got keps awake by talking both nights from the rooms either side of us. The food was nice - we had a lovely huge salad bowl at the pool. The pool is nice and quiet, lots of sun beds available which aren't in use so you know you will always get one. Went to the restaurant one night and the food was amazing - had gorgeous lamb chops covered in sesame seeds and the lamb was really tender - delicious. The rooms are quite basic and dated but are functional - its not really four star standard but it's comfortable. Reception are really helpful and if you want to go on an excursion but dont know where to find it they can offer some suggestions and will telephone the provider for you to get details. The most disappointing aspect was that during my stay I had a white linen jacket stolen from my room. It was hanging up in the room with the rest of the clothes and had been unworn during my stay. When I went to pack to go it had disappeared but all the other clothes were there. I contacted the hotel by email to tell them about this and ask them what solution they suggested but was really angry to receive no reply or even acknowledgement! I am unsure if it was a staff member, or someone had a copy of the key and let themselves in - but someone had come into the room and taken it. Thats the reason why I am rating this poor, but not terrible as there were some good aspects while we were there. I expect the rooms to be secure and maybe they should invest in a swipe card system rather than using metal keys.

Room Tip: Ask whether there are any rooms where you can't hear talking next door - see if you can get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pula hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Hotel is set in the hills but still a little difficult to find from airport. Staff during our stay were polite & helpful, although only a few spoke English. Our bedroom was cleaned each day, with clean towels provided, and a nice touch of beds been turned down, ready for bed whilst evening meals were consumed. Hotel does lack the wow factor on arrival, looks tired, but after 5 days, it grew on us. Obviously an older complex with established trees & gardens but improved TLC required. Be careful if going to play golf. On a non playing day, they charge to use the driving range. 15 Euro's. Expressed our thoughts and fee was refunded. Course is challenging but again some greater care & attention required. If you like astronomy, Is Molas is a must. We have never seen so many stars at night. Millions on view. Outstanding. Overall, we did enjoy our stay. Food in restaurent also of a good standard. The greater challenge in Pula/Nora is finding a good restaurent. Local hotel beach is poor. Try Nora or go to Chia.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveessex18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend,
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Just returned from a week in the Is Molas Resort.. Overall experience was great , food was especially good. We opted for half board and enjoyed every 4 course meal. Staff were great. Private beach was wonderful, with free towels and beds on the beach. The staff manning the beach were good and the toilets on the beach really clean.
The hotel rooms were a little soul-less - we opted for a garden view, but a tree obscured any view we may have had. However, the rooms were very clean and the beds were turned down every night while we were at dinner.
Our flight got in after dark and the google directions were useless, we got well and truly lost, despite knowing the area having holidayed there before. The hotel is signed posted off the main SS195, just after Pula, but on the side road we did not see any signs. Look out for a breakdown truck in a car park on the right if you go there.
We had explained that we would arrive quite late and as a result the hotel provided us with a light snack in our room on arrival at no extra charge.
The hotel was very quiet at night, with no entertainment and not many people used the bar, but that suited us as we were looking for a relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We liked out stay here but I would not rate as highly despite a pleasant experience as its the facilities and comfort which count as well. We located ok by car ( in daylight) after spending late night arrival night at Holiday Inn. My wife has disability, there were no obligatory access aids such as slopes or handrails, required by European law. However the room was much better decorarted than some reviews suggested, large, light and airey although dripping roof in bathroom and hard bed. Restaurant failed to post prices, a meal for 2 will rush you £100 a night with wine and water even if it was very nice. A rather dull uninspiring building, friendly enough staff, never found the hotel beach but others said it was good. Pool and hotel in general very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
812 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#9 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
876 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lantana Resort, Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Mare Pineta
Hotel Mare Pineta
#13 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
172 reviews
4.2 mi away
Is Morus Relais
Is Morus Relais
#10 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
224 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baia di Nora
Baia di Nora
#7 of 25 in Pula
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Is Molas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Is Molas Resort

Property: Is Molas Resort
Address: SS 195, Localita Is Molas, 09010, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
#12 Luxury Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Is Molas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Is Molas Resort is located nearby Pula, lively town close to the south western coast of Sardinia, just 33 km from Cagliari. In this unique area you can admire beautiful beaches, natural parks, historical and artistic monuments. Due to the soil fertility and the climate mildness Pula is well renowned for its wine, olive oil and tomatoes production.Is Molas Resort Is Molas Resort is located in a panoramic position with a few equals in this part of Sardinia and enjoys a beautiful view on the sea, the Nora Tower and the Sulcis hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Is Molas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Is Molas Hotel
Is Molas Resort Pula, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing