We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant but expensive, there is better around”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zia Leunora

Zia Leunora
Ranked #30 of 81 Restaurants in Pula
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but expensive, there is better around”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I dine here in 2012 and it was amazing. I came back in June 2014 for a bis but I was kind of disappointed. It was not that good and I actually chose a plate that was quite awful (seafood with saffron and some sauce). My girlfriend had pasta with mixed seafood and it was ok but not as fantastic as I expected give my early experiences. Overall, it was a nice dinner but very expensive. I would suggest to look around Pula since there is plenty of restaurant of similar quality but lower prices.

The atmosphere is amazing so if you look for a special occasion probably this is the place to go though! ;)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pier Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    109
    69
    46
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a nightmare! Unfriendly service and rotten fish!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited Zia Leunora in October 2013 and were very deeply disappointed! It was one of the worst restaurant experiences we have ever encountered so far. Not only that the service was terrible, but also the fish they presented to us was rotten. Some details:

1. Service: The service was already from the beginning quite unfriendly. Our question for any food recommendations was answered with something like "look in the menu" and when we asked for a local wine that would go well with our chosen dishes we were told that we had to decide for ourselves. Well, thank you very much! Retrospectively, this would have been the right time to go...unfortunately we did not...

2. First Course Pulpo con Patate: The pulpo was something between slimy and absolutely not chewable, such that we ended up only eating the potatoes (which were ok). However, since it is admittedly not easy to prepare a pulpo nicely, we thought that things would get better for the main course...but they did not...

3. Main Course "Fresh" Grilled Fish: Not much a cook can do wrong IF the fish is fresh...it turned out that this was a big IF. Let me say that the fish at Zia Leunora is presented on a tray at the entrance such that customers can pick the fish for themselves. Nice idea, IF the chosen fish is also prepared...another big IF. When the over-grilled fish was brought to our table we were already somewhat suspicious because the size did not exactly match...however, also a bit hard to tell... such that we took a first (and only) bite. After that, it was vey clear that this was not the fresh fish from the tray but something that must have been left over from the weekend. The smell and the taste were unbearable such that we immediately put everything down.

4. Reaction: When we complained to the waitress, the owner basically said that "fish from the ocean tastes different than industrial fish"...thanks again...having had nice food and fresh fish for the last couple of days, we only tasted rotten fish here. There was not even the slightest form of apology, such that this rather looked like a business model (let's try to get rid of the left overs and hope that nobody notices).

Overall, a nightmare and as I said already, retrospectively, this was somewhat already clear from the beginning...unfortunately we did not follow our instincts, but I hope that this review helps at least others to avoid the same mistake.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ItaliaFan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we tried in Pula”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

If you adore fish you should go there!!! The quality is very good, very fresh! Full of locals, not so many tourists as elsewhere. The ladies in service really experienced and friendly. The ambiente could be a little bit more cosy, but it is ok. The price meassured on the quality and quantity is ok, although you might spend here more money but you know what for. Next time we will be in Pula we will go there regularly, for sure, hopefully they will keep the level.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PRAGerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Returned a second time”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having had some pretty ordinary fare at slightly inexpensive places this was a delight. Away from the touristy main square we were very nicely welcomed (or both occasions) but very helpful staff and had two excellent meals. A starter for EU 10 which we shared of prawns and excellent vegetables and then both of us a fish cooked in various herbs and otehr ingredients and then on the second occasion I had a most delicious grilled fresh calamari which was excellent. Best meals in Pula at c eu 35 per head including a bottle of wine, sitting in a lovely courtyard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKES56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Victim of its success ?”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Services was really good, fishes very fresh.- However, food was really not worth the try : most of the meals were swimming in olive oil, Pasta a la Vongole didn t have any taste and the fish dishes were insignificant. Clearly overrated restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntoineFromG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Leunora also viewed

Pula, Province of Cagliari
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 
Pula, Province of Cagliari
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Zia Leunora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing