We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Desiree
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Del Golfo(Procchio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monnalisa(Procchio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Delfino(Procchio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Edera(Procchio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Cristina(Marina di Campo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
164
90
34
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
90
34
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubsea viewtennis courtslovely beachislanddinnerelbadesireeswisscove
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 313 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We were firstly given a room which over looked the car park , didn't have a balcony nor even had a full size window. It was outdated, small and not in good condition. To be fair to the manager he "upgraded" us to a room with a sea view and a balcony but it still didn't look anything like the photo enclosed within this review.
If you haven't visited Europe since 1980 and still yearn to be an extra on the TV programme "Duty Free" or "Carry on Holiday" this is for you! If the 200 pound plus price tag is not prohibitive for a room worth approximately 40 pounds the bill for the chiropractor when you return home to sort out your back from the hard mattresses and marshmallow pillows should be! Bored of getting good value for money and no stories to return home with....stay here!! It is half board, and you can't choose lunch only dinner! You have your own table sat next to the same guests each evening adding to that "Duty Free" feeling! To be fair the views are fantastic and the staff are very helpful and friendly - it's not their fault the hotel rooms and reception area are substandard! The manager did pay for the pillows that we bought but should we really be spending half a day of our holiday looking for a shop to buy them.
PS the enclosed review is correct - you do have to pay to use the chairs - not sure how the manager doesn't know this as it is added to your bill when you leave!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Londontraveller1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, half board, during our honeymoon in July.

We chose this hotel for the opportunity to chill out for a few days after a few days touring around Pisa and Siena.

The hotel is what I would call a fairly traditional italian hotel - which we love. In other words it's not a sparkling, glass contemporary slick hotel, but it is an immaculately clean, charming hotel with a fantastic sandy private beach, fab pool and simply beautiful setting.

The rooms are fairly basic - but are comfortable and cool with good aircon.

The staff were fantastic - especially in the restaurant. We do speak a very small amount of italian so the staff went out of their way to help and encouraged us too! The restaurant realised we were english and also tailored our evening menu by providing us with an english translation - special touches that meant so much!

The evening meals were stunning - a good choice and different every night - and really, really well cooked and presented food.

Travel around the hotel does require some form of transport so a car might be useful, but we found the buses easy to use and would stop, if you let them know in advance, at the bus stop at the top of the hill near the hotel. A walk into Procchio takes about 15 mins and you go around the road or take a (slightly steep) cut down to the beach and walk along near all the beach bars.l

We were sad to leave...but will definitely return for an anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

It is the perfect hotel for families with young children.

The location is really nice, with the beach and a very nice, clean sea in front of the rooms.

We had two interconnecting rooms and they worked well for us. They were clean and decorum was sauber, but pleasant. The only thin we did not like was that our hotel had a tennis court view more than a sea view. If you can, try to book the rooms in the older part of the hotel, if you prefer a proper sea view.

Food was good and during the day, at the beach and at the pool, there is a really nice menu for light, healthy snacks.

Staff was also always kind and helpful.

A very enjoyable week all in all.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We booked this hotel over the internet and were so disappointed when we arrived. A taxi cost about 40 euros to get there and our hearts sank when we entered reception. It has a real feel of a holiday camp about it and when we were shown the room it had the most dreadful smell. They showed us two more but by then there was no way we were staying. (It's also worth considering that you have to pay to go on the beach and for the tennis courts).
To get a taxi anywhere else on the island you have to send to the port for one, making it very expensive. Instead we left our bags there and walked down the hill to the Hotel del Golfo. It was more expensive but so worth changing and they even took us back up the hill to collect our luggage.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank spareroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Procchio, General Manager at Hotel Desiree, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2009

Are you sure it was the Hotel Désirée that you visited? have a look on our website
and see for yourself if we have the holiday camp look. But let me respond to some incorrect information you are providing:
1) the cost for a taxi from Portoferraio to our hotel is € 25 and not € 40
2) the use of our private beach, umbrellas and chairs is included in the room rate
3) the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus service to/from Procchio which is the nearest urban centre (approx 1 km).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

The Island of Elba is known as a working class paradise. It is very seasonal and mostly frequented by families with small children and, during July / August, by young party animals. The hotels on the island reflect this reality. Most of them are open only six months of the year. All of them are modest, even the ones that pretend to be luxurious. You won't find a Four Seasons Hotel or a trendy W Hotel here. So whatever hotel you choose, it will be more or less similar to the next. Many will share the same outdated decor.
Hotel Desiree is good for a few nights. The room is simple and clean, if a bit sparse. The hotel has many amenities, such as a huge Olympic sized pool, a couple of restaurants and a bar. You can have use to the hotel's bicycles. You can walk to the beach. It is small but the water is extremely clear.
All in all, we found it to be pleasant, and one of the best choices. There are more luxurious and better-looking hotels, but they all have significant drawbacks, (some have no AC, or no beach access, or their beaches are ugly and overpopulated).
The hotel is also located on the north side of the island, where all the best white beaches are located. So if you don't care for the hotel's pebble beach, you can search for a better one.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Sancarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews