We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“ringraziamenti” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Procchio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ringraziamenti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were very impressed with everything about the hotel except, as pointed out above, the menus. All the staff were extremely efficient, helpful and kind. We should love to stay at the hotel in June 2014

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    80
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
101
111
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic setting on a private beach which is kept very clean on a daily base.
The very extended Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the sea, this gives you a real holiday mood from the start. The swimming pool -although salted water- is very large and ideal to make an exercice.A great thanks goes out to the director, Mr.Terranova, who seems to be present all the time :-) and the great staff that is professional & friendly.
We will definately return to this hotel !
For the dutch speaking guests: there is BVN so you don't have to miss the daily news on NOS or Eén.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite: it is really worth it! These rooms are large & designed with high quality f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTLDesiree, Direttore generale at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
On behalf of all our staff, I'm very happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon and we'll have a drink on the terrace admiring the sunset on our beautiful terrace.
Arrivederci!!!
Daniel Terranova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The desirèe hotel is set in a nice, small bay and has a very nice private beach. You can have breakfast on a terrace right above the beach, and dinner with a view. Rooms are easy and tidy, nothing less than you would expect from a 4 star hotel. But the location, the facilities and the friendliness of the staff are well above expectations. A very good choice for a quite stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTLDesiree, Direttore generale at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and on behalf of all our staff, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Désirée.
Daniel Terranova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel set in a 'picture post-card' bay. we have enjoyed our stay very much and would more than likely consider a return visit, probably with friends.We thank the Manager, Mr.Terranova and his very capable and courteous staff; Mrs. M.Mazzei, reception, the Maitre d'Hotel ,the waiters, the bagnini, the waitress at the beach restaurant and the room-maids for doing an excellent job and keeping a smiling face even when stressed by the daily rush.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had some friends that had stayed at the Hotel Desiree in 2007 and recommended the hotel. After reading some of the reviews on here on tripadvisor.com we were a little worried.

Wow... we had absolutely no reason for concern. Daniel Terranova and his staff were great! I asked him today how long he had been at the hotel and the answer was four years and that much of the staff had been switched out since his arrival. We weren't here in 2007, but our friend that were said it was a different hotel and staff by comparison.

Our room was terrific, exactly as billed. The rooms at the end of the building have a view from the bathroom as well as the bedroom, a great surprise. The rooms were well appointed and had awesome views!

The beach was great, but as noted by others, make sure that your reservation includes the beach access. If you buy the discounted cheap room you may not get the reserved beach, so be sure at the time of your reservation.

The tennis court and pool as well as the kids play area looked awesome. The workout area is a small covered, but open building looking at the pool with a few machines...

The internet still has the odd 90 minute coupons. But the staff provided as many as I asked for. In fact we had a little problem with the login and when I went to the front desk I was greeted by the GM. Unlike other situations where I have pointed out a problem and was told it must be me or my computer, they looked at the problem and took action to correct it - and I can write the review.

We would come back. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast included. There are a number of restaurants in the nearby city, but you'll nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveParkerSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Procchio, Direttore at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Dave, thank you for your kind words and just wish to clarify two things:
- the use of our private beach is always included in our room rates no matter what room category or rate plan you wish to enjoy;
- the internet 90 minute coupon limit is due to the fact that unfortunately on the island the max line we have is a 7MB which has to be shared among an average of 20/30 users at the time, but am sure you appreciate the fact that the WI-Fi is available everywhere around the property and rooms and most of all is complimentary.
Thank you again for being with us and please give my regards to your spuse and friends with the hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Daniel Terranova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We book via internet a deluxe room, the pictures and reviews were fine. At the end, we must say that it was one of the worst hotel stays ever. I am a frequent traveller, for business as well as leisure and use to stay in 4 and 5stars hotels. The room was nothing like in the pictures, very old furniture, badly decorated, small, but with a nice view. The evening food was terrible as it was on the mandatory half-board, so did eat once. The maid forgot the room unlocked, the reception staff made me pay for the morning newspaper as if the 450 eur per night for not sufficient - just lack of respect in my opinion. A 4star hotel, a maldives 5 star price and a good 2+ stars really. Be aware.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stefan_Tali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My two weeks at the Hotel Desiree have left an indelible memory: it was wonderful!
What was special? Not just the small bay, beautiful and cozy, but also the room, a luminous spotless “junior suite”, the food (excellent!), the aquagym, the Pilates training... and above all the people in the Hotel: everything was made with care, offered with a smile and special attention for YOU. Just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCIAANGELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Procchio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
8.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
1.9 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#3 of 25 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valle Verde
Hotel Valle Verde
#4 of 10 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Property: Hotel Desiree
Address: Localita Spartaia, 57030 Procchio, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana > Procchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Procchio
#4 Family Hotel in Procchio
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Procchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Desiree 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Désirée was established in 1957 and recently refurbished, is a four star property , placed in the charming and intimate bay of Spartaia with a direct access to the private sandy beach and surrounded by a beautiful Mediterranean vegetation .The Hotel Désiree is 15 minutes away, by car, from the main harbour of Portoferraio, the capital of Elba Island and 5 minutes away from Marciana Marina. Procchio, the nearest urban centre is walking distance at approx 800 meters and a courtesy shuttle service is provided.Classic rooms enjoy either garden or mountain view while all other rooms (Superior, deluxe, Junior Suites and Family Apartments) enjoy a magnificent sea view. All rooms are mediterranean/colonial style with private bathroom facilities and shower box, Most of rooms have a balcony.All our new Suites and Deluxe rooms are overlooking the exclusive Spartaia's Bay; inspired by the colours of the Mediterranean greenery, they are all fitted with balcony, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning, satellite tv and fast internet access.Direct access to private beach (included in the room rate) with lifeguard, swimming pool with lifeguard, fitness room, kid's park with baby sitting,tennis courts, sea sports on the beach (on request), 4 different bars, 2 restaurants, shuttle service, concierge service (ferryboat reservations, excursions, boat rentals, car hire, restaurant reservations), WI-FI connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Marciana
Hotel Desiree Elba Island/Procchio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing