We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A average hotel and a little out of the way”
Review of Datini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Datini Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Prato
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A average hotel and a little out of the way”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrived for a conference and found the hotel well out of town. The reception was very good and we were made to feel welcome.

The restaurant is not open on weekends and when it is open the food is a choice of 2 pastas and 2 mains. Give this a miss. Breakfast was stale pastries, cheese, cakes, fruit and cereal and very average at best.

It is a 50 minute walk to the centre of town or up to €15 each way, so that adds to the cost of staying here. If you had a car it would suit better.

The rooms are dated and hard to cool, although not overly noisy. Bed hard and not comfortable, in fact the rooms just need an overhaul.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel due to it location and cost.

Room Tip: High facing away from main road to have a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Mckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo T, Direttore vendite at Datini Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Mr. McKie,

first of all I would like to thank you for your review.

Then I need to advise you that on our website is well described where our Hotel is, 3 km far from city center.

Our Restaurant, as you've been advised about, is normally closed on weekends, but we anyway provided you typical fresh tuscan food.

As we offer everyday in our well reviewed breakfast buffet.

Please note that you reserved a standard room, but you could with a little supplement reserve our freshly renewed superior double rooms.

I hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you again in the future, maybe in a superior room.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    56
    53
    26
    9
See reviews for
30
24
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms are good but in need of an update (which staff says is coming in 2013), breakfast was good, location was perfect if you have a car and are exploring
area west and north of Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCool18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datini, Direttore vendite at Datini Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

it was a real pleasure to welcome you at Datini.

Hope we can see you again soon in Prato, so you could try our new "Atmosfera" rooms

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

stayed for 1 nite and share the bed with my 14 months, the bed is amazingly huge, the room is spacious, clean and modern. People are friendly and welcoming.
it is far from the the town centre but with car its not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IO_OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datini, Direttore vendite at Datini Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.
I hope to welcome you again at Datini in Prato.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Service good, decor rather worn in rooms, and if your room is in front of hotel, you'll hear road noise all night. Rooms too warm and staff could not regulate, so had to leave window open a crack to move air... More road noise and cigarette smoke rising from below...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marande11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have been staying here for four nights.
The rooms are big and clean.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
I booked a double room but eventually I needed it as a double room used as a single room (and the fare is lower) and they did not charged me according to my booking but according to the use I had of the room.
It is very close to the highway and 5 minute ride from the Prato city center.
The breakfast is very good (quantity and quality).
The only two problems: the rooms have thin walls (so you hear very well the other guests and they might wake you up in the morning) and the hotel surroundings are quite ugly. Furthermore you definitely need a car to get to the hotel. Getting there by public transport could be difficult.
The staff can speak fluently Japanese.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeGenoa_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datini, Direttore vendite at Datini Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Sir,

first of all I would like to thank you for your review. It's very important for us to know our clients' opinions.
I would like to let you also know that behind our Hotel there's a bus stop that easily connects Prato Central Station with Firenze Central Station (Santa Maria Novella).
Furthermore our rooms are totally sound proofed and we never had a complaint for this before.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Datini Hotel, and thank you again very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We have just returned from 4 days at Datini hotel near Prato. The hotel is magnificent and we got an incredible service from July , the deputy manager of this hotel. The hotel is 5 k'meter from the city center but is a bus that stop in the back of the hotel. The breakfast was very good and the rate was was very low.

  • Liked — July the deputy director
  • Disliked — The timetable of the buses from Prato to hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2005

Datini is a new Hotel, placed just out from the Highway.. it has a private parking and the rooms are "old style", with wood floors.. they were clean and warm, perfect for a businnes stop..
The desk help me in find some Outlet mall and also a Golf course (they printed for me the map to reach it!!).. they were very professional and usefull.. the hotel is loacted 10 minutes by car from the heart of the city..
Probably the street in front of the hotel is a little bit noised, but the new windows make their work in a good way during the night..

A good choice for the businness traveller who doesn't want to enter the city looking for a room to sleep..

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prato hotels
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#4 of 18 in Prato
350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Milano
Art Hotel Milano
#2 of 18 in Prato
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wall Art Aparthotel Prato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Charme Hotel
Charme Hotel
#9 of 18 in Prato
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Albergo Il Giglio
Albergo Il Giglio
#3 of 18 in Prato
65 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#8 of 18 in Prato
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Datini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Datini Hotel

Property: Datini Hotel
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 80, 59100, Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Datini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern comforts and amenities, warm ambience, meeting facilities, restaurant serving Tuscan specialties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Datini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Datini Hotel Prato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing