We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giardino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giardino
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Prato
Warsaw - Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

very welcoming and friendly atmosphere, close to the station and in the center of Prato. Clean and comfortable room. Good breakfast and friendly staff. When we arrived they could not find our reservation because they misspelled our name but then they carefully checked and found the hotel reservation, they are very nice. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
28
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent 4 nights or so here - hotel seemed a little bit tired, but then again, Prato is probably a bit overshadowed by Florence in terms of tourism. The price wasn't exorbitant for what you got, and the room was actually quite spacious, with a window that opened fully to overlook the street and town square. Location is great for exploring Prato, with the square and restaurants all within close walking distance - however, it can be noisy at night with people carrying on in the streets outside. Staff don't speak much English, but speak enough and are very friendly and helpful. Very enjoyable stay here, would recommend it if you're looking for a cute, tradtional Italian place away from the madness of Florence.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have repeatedly either stayed at Hotel Giardino or had groups of university students stay here. The location is second to none with Prato Porta al Serraglio train station a 2 minute walk from the doorstop offering a 20 minute train trip to Florence. Prato is a sane alternative to the tourist trodden capital of Tuscany. Hotel Giardino is right on the main piazza and offers good accommodation, a quality breakfast and family hospitality. Definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matjabsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days.

The dated decor did not bother me as much as the "mineral" smell that came from the bathroom.

In addition, I asked to change rooms because my room smelled like stale cigarettes, and this change was a big deal for the desk staff who require a note expressly requiring so if you are booking from Expedia.

The included breakfast was good though, and seemed more varied than other similar hotels.

The good thing about this place is the location. You could not be more downtown.

The restaurant across the street was a breath of fresh air. If you stay here, don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla-Rustica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in this delightful family hotel for 5 nights in mid October. It was very clean, rooms basic but comfortable. The hotel's location was one of the best things about it. Very conveniently situated. The station only a few minutes walk, and its right in the middle of Prato. The very impressive Prato Cathedral is a stone's throw. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ertanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a lovely friendly family-run hotel in the quiet historic centre of Prato, more with the personal feel of a guesthouse. I was impressed even before leaving Australia - they dealt promptly with my email queries in English and gave helpful advice. I arrived early and got into my room within 15mins. My room was clean, spacious, warm, with double-glazed windows opening to the street; shutters and curtains made it nice and dark for a good sleep. Rooms have own heat/cool control. Super hot strong shower and bidet. Very quiet small fridge in room, but no kettle (bring flask or travel mug). Wifi in room (EU2 for 1 hr, up to EU25 for 7 days). Lovely filling continental breakfast and hot creamy cappucino. Lots of small places to eat nearby, and fruit&veg shop opposite; 15 min walk to Co-op supermarket (sells Twinings tea). All food in Prato seemed very reasonably priced (eg 3 course meals for EU10-15). Streets around hotel felt safe (female travelling alone) but was told to wear handbag on front for safety. Hotel is excellent base to walk to all historic sites in town, and 14th century frescoes were only 2 buildings away in the Cathedral! Lots to see but few tourists and no cheapy souvenir shops. Was also a good location for attending my conference at the Monash Uni Centre. In this lovely medieval walled town the Giardino would be a good base to visit Pisa, Rome, Florence etc; train station and buses nearby. Taxi to/from airport about EU30-35.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to open onto the street. Was very quiet even with many locals strolling until 9pm or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussiegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel Giardino is a family run hotel in the centre of Prato. It is a 5 minute walk from a smaller train station "Prato Porta al Serraglio" (trains to Florence also stop at this station). The owners themselves work in the Hotel Giardino, they are all very helpful and very nice people and they all have good command in English. The rooms are very big and all have street view. However, be prepared that these rooms were last refurbished approximately 30 years ago and cleanness is not their strength. There are still smoking rooms! They put me into a smoking room (changing rooms was not possible). My room had lots of carpets, long curtains and bed covers and all of those smelled smoke. I had to sleep with open windows. Remember that in Italy street life is relevant also after midnight so I did not get that much sleep with my open windows because of the noise. I was also very attractive for local mosquitoes during the night. Bathroom was well equipped, but again, the smell of smoke was terrible, in the morning after showering it was like a cigarette sauna. The breakfast was the very typical Italian breakfast with sweet things like muesli, yogurt, croissants, chocolate cream, which I like a lot, but note that there were very few salty things to eat. They made excellent cappuccino.
I think this is a wonderful little hotel and the thing that it is run by a family makes it even more attractive. However, if I was the owner, I'd consider washing the curtains and stop having smoking rooms forever because this takes a lot away from the charm of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a strictly non-smoking room if you do not like the smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prato hotels
0.3 mi away
Albergo Il Giglio
Albergo Il Giglio
#4 of 18 in Prato
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Milano
Art Hotel Milano
#2 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#1 of 18 in Prato
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#3 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toscana
Hotel Toscana
#16 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wall Art Aparthotel Prato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino

Property: Hotel Giardino
Address: G. Magnolfi Street, 2/4/6, 59100, Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giardino 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Giardino is a small, comfortable Bouquet Budget Hotel located in the historical center of Prato, next to the Cathedral in the central square of Prato and offers 28 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms feature city views. 28-Inch flat-screen televisions come with 100 digital channels and free movie channels. Bathrooms include bathtubs with deep soaking bathtubs, or showers (handheld shower heads, and rainfall shower heads). Bathrooms are also outfitted with makeup/shaving mirrors, bidets, and complimentary toiletries. In-room wireless high-speed Internet access is available for a surcharge - 6 euro / day (can also be used in public areas of the hotel). Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include hair dryers and windows that open. Irons/ironing boards and wake-up calls can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily. The Hotel offers room service, elevator, express check-in/out, soundproof no-smoking rooms, luggage storage, safe, and a meeting room. Pets are welcome. During your stay, staff is pleased to give you restaurant recommendations and information about places/museums to visit, or trains/buses. The hotel reception is open 24 hours and the lobby features a wine bar with a flat-screen TV and sofas where customers can sit down to talk. Breakfast buffet is served from 7am to 10am. The Hotel is a no smoking place. The 'Prato Porta al Serraglio' Train Station, along the line that goes, in one direction to Florence (20 minutes) and in the other to Lucca (40 minutes), - Viareggio and Cinque Terre, is less than 5 minutes walking distance. Parking is available nearby (the hotel staff will provide you with a parking permit at no cost). If you need indoor parking, fee (to be paid directly to the garage staff) is Eur 10,00 until 10am, Eur 15,00 until 12am, Eur 20,00 for the day. Founded toward the end of 1800, Hotel Giardino welcomes you with its genuinely cozy atmosphere, its warm hospitality and its friendly and helpful staff. A Customer review: 'Hotel Giardino is the center's most modern hotel, with good sized rooms for the price and location, quality built-in furniture and large, firm beds. Another plus is the Risaliti family who run it: an extremely friendly bunch who have kept their little hotel in great shape since the 1930s'. Wonderful location, as the Hotel is placed at the corner of Duomo Square (with 12th century Dome - St.Stephen Cathedral with frescoes of Filippo and Filippino Lippi), in the historical center of Prato (with medieval walls and buildings), full of art, museums, historical buildings, shops, as well as fine/traditional Tuscan restaurants. Moreover, it is 5 minutes walk from the Monash Centre and about 3km from the business area of Macrolotto. The city and its surrounding area offer interesting and prestigious artistic itineraries, nature and gastronomy. An ideal base for exploring the Tuscany region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Hotel Prato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing