We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Hotel Giardino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Giardino
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Prato
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here while at a conference in Prato and honestly expected more. The room was spacious and relatively quiet, but the yucky old carpet and dingy walls could use upgrading! The room smelt like smoke. There was a bath, which was nice and the breakfast buffet was nicer than most Italian places. They make you fresh coffee to order.

There is a FABULOUS restaurant around the corner called Aroma di Vino, with great outdoor seating, a wonderful owner, great house wine, and lovely lovely food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here for four nights for a work trip. The bedroom, on the first floor, was spacious, very basic but overlooked the main square and had sound proof windows and shutters. The breakfast was basic (instant coffee a bit grotty). But the staff were very friendly and helpful, the setting was amazing, very central, five minutes from the railway station and it was comfortable and clean. I wavered on a four star rating but couldn't quite bring myself to. Really it's a 3.5 in my book.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarassr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Just few hundreds meter from the Domo, easy to reach and a walking distance from all the features of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrice_VDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We love this hotel. The family make you feel at home. In fact they have become like family to us. My wife and I have stayed here in the past and we couldn't wait to bring our children too. The location is excellent. We were able to walk (with our considerable amount of luggage) from the train station. The rooms were lovely and having breakfast in the beautiful dining area was a pleasurable way to start the day. Hopefully we get to visit Italy and Prato again and we'll be back at Hotel Giardino with Gianni, Roberta and their parents.

Room Tip: We had the 3rd floor rooms and enjoyed them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JosephMilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Gianni and his sister Roberta and their staff run a wonderful hotel. They were friendly,very helpful and most obliging. They also spoke excellent English. Bedrooms and bathrooms were roomy. Buffet breakfast was outstanding and always something to look forward to. Location excellent in relation to Prato Di Porta Al Serragglio Railway Station, Duomo, restaurants and Monash University campus at Prato.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aldo1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

It was October, it was warm, but the air-conditioning was off. The reason: officially it was winter. We kept the windows open, but it was noisy....the loud v-r-o-o-o-m-s of motorcycles audible until midnight. The breakfast spread was less than generous. But with the sheer friendliness of its staff, the Giardino made all those problems seem inconsequential. Wonderfully located, just a few steps away from the Santa Lucia station (the main Terminale station is a couple of kilometers away), and in close proximity to charming shops and restaurants, this hotel is recommended for the traveller who isn't too fussy about details but delights in getting the personal touch. For the record, the room was very well sized. And the bathroom wasn't as cosy as might have given me bruised elbows.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank editorindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here rather than Florence as we had already visited florence on a previous trip.

Prato is a pleasant town to visit in its own right. The hotel is very close to one of the train stations of which we travelled to Florence to make connections.

The hotel in also on the main square and close to amenitied like shops and restaurants.

The hotel was incredibly well priced and included a standard breakfast.

The rooms are no longer modern but are comfortable, large and clean.

The reception and breakfast staff are very friendly.

I would recommend this hotel based upon the fact that at the price tha is paid it provided very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prato hotels
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Milano
Art Hotel Milano
#3 of 17 in Prato
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Il Giglio
Albergo Il Giglio
#2 of 17 in Prato
71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#5 of 17 in Prato
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#1 of 17 in Prato
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wall Art Aparthotel Prato
0.2 mi away
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#9 of 17 in Prato
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino

Address: G. Magnolfi Street, 2/4/6, 59100, Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Prato
Price Range: $87 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giardino 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Giardino is a small, comfortable Bouquet Budget Hotel located in the historical center of Prato, next to the Cathedral in the central square of Prato and offers 28 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms feature city views. 28-Inch flat-screen televisions come with 100 digital channels and free movie channels. Bathrooms include bathtubs with deep soaking bathtubs, or showers (handheld shower heads, and rainfall shower heads). Bathrooms are also outfitted with makeup/shaving mirrors, bidets, and complimentary toiletries. In-room wireless high-speed Internet access is available for a surcharge - 6 euro / day (can also be used in public areas of the hotel). Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include hair dryers and windows that open. Irons/ironing boards and wake-up calls can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily. The Hotel offers room service, elevator, express check-in/out, soundproof no-smoking rooms, luggage storage, safe, and a meeting room. Pets are welcome. During your stay, staff is pleased to give you restaurant recommendations and information about places/museums to visit, or trains/buses. The hotel reception is open 24 hours and the lobby features a wine bar with a flat-screen TV and sofas where customers can sit down to talk. Breakfast buffet is served from 7am to 10am. The Hotel is a no smoking place. The 'Prato Porta al Serraglio' Train Station, along the line that goes, in one direction to Florence (20 minutes) and in the other to Lucca (40 minutes), - Viareggio and Cinque Terre, is less than 5 minutes walking distance. Parking is available nearby (the hotel staff will provide you with a parking permit at no cost). If you need indoor parking, fee (to be paid directly to the garage staff) is Eur 10,00 until 10am, Eur 15,00 until 12am, Eur 20,00 for the day. Founded toward the end of 1800, Hotel Giardino welcomes you with its genuinely cozy atmosphere, its warm hospitality and its friendly and helpful staff. A Customer review: 'Hotel Giardino is the center's most modern hotel, with good sized rooms for the price and location, quality built-in furniture and large, firm beds. Another plus is the Risaliti family who run it: an extremely friendly bunch who have kept their little hotel in great shape since the 1930s'. Wonderful location, as the Hotel is placed at the corner of Duomo Square (with 12th century Dome - St.Stephen Cathedral with frescoes of Filippo and Filippino Lippi), in the historical center of Prato (with medieval walls and buildings), full of art, museums, historical buildings, shops, as well as fine/traditional Tuscan restaurants. Moreover, it is 5 minutes walk from the Monash Centre and about 3km from the business area of Macrolotto. The city and its surrounding area offer interesting and prestigious artistic itineraries, nature and gastronomy. An ideal base for exploring the Tuscany region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Hotel Prato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing