We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Rucellai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Giocosa(Prato)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Art Hotel Milano(Prato)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
25
11
7
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
11
7
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 44 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband was there on business and I there for R & R... It was so nice to take a step back in time and relax. We had just spent 4 days in Rome and we were ready to have some down time. Great areas to walk and explore the grounds, Olive trees as far as the eye can see... I'd love to go back during the busy season and see how the olive oil is made... Fantastic place to stay, would love to return...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The place is an old Renaissance villa with some more recent addictions (however, the main area for guests is the oldest). Said so, you understand that rooms and halls have that incredibly romantic appeal that you can find only in places like Tuscany, Spain and so on. At the same time, if you are looking for all the comforts of modern age you will not find them here. I gave 5 stars because it responded exactly at my soul’s dreams: peace, romanticism, beautiful garden and a formidable old men as guest. The breakfast is typical Italian standard, but, again, if you consider the murals on the dining room or sit outside in the old terrace staring out at the countryside while sipping your coffee, you’ll understand that food and drinks loose their importance and gain a wonderful flavour.
Be careful to get very good directions, because it’s not an easy place to find; better if you arrive with daylight, the street is very narrow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annamariaeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

9 years ago we were here with a 1 year old baby. We came back this time with 2 young children, stayed for 4 nights. We got 2 rooms at the ground floor - both connected through the bathroom. Due to the location and the structure of the villa, it was a bit cold at night but there are sufficient blankets provided. As the kids are older, we can relax and enjoy a bit more compare to the previous trip. My elder one kept checking on the magazines @ lobby and the collections of its guestbooks. The facility is very basic : no TV in rooms and for those who might want to know, no shampoo provided (I forgot to pack this with us and work on the soap for the kids @ first night). But these are minor stuff which can be ignore :-) On the plus side, there is free WIFI which helps us getting our next days' route planned out. The villa is in the middle of the olive grove which is wonderful - you parked your car among them and can see some ripe olives just hanging out @ windscreens.

Room Tip: If travelling with Family, ground floor rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubugala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

For a quiet retreat in a grand old mansion amongst the olive trees in the hills outside Prato we recommend VIlla Rucellai. Our room was quiet and spacious with basic room services. There was no aircon but the room did cool sufficiently at night for sleeping. We loved the natural spring swimming pool which was a delight in the extreme summer heat. The breakfast was adequate but not expansive, the Villa does not serve any other meals and there is no tea/coffee facility. If you do not have a car then it is a one and half kilometre walk to the nearest restaurant, or E15 taxi each way to Prato city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank maggies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Villa Rucellai was one of the highlights of our 16-day trip to Italy, and our best accommodations. We spent 6 nights there. We attended as students in a college class studying Art Appreciation and Environmental Biology in Italy, and the hosts made extra accommodations for us since our group filled up all the rooms. They invited local college professors to give us lectures in the evenings, and took us on tours through the lower floors where the olives were pressed into oil, and the grapes turned into wine. We got to go on a tour through the olive groves, and had a lecture on the olive industry, the wine industry, and the cheese industry, getting to sample all those things in the process. Frank, our host, told us all about the history of the family, the house, the Medici , and famous guests, such as Robert Browning.

Our room was a lvery arge room on the first floor off the main corridor. It had no air conditioning, but the windows are kept closed during the day, and opened at night, and the foot-thick walls are insulated enough to keep the heat out.

The brick and stone floors were gorgeous. If you visit, please pick up your suitcases and carry them, don't pull them, even with wheels, across these centuries-old floors.

Breakfast was sweet breads, boiled eggs, coffee, juice, yogurts, cheeses, and warm sweet milk., which could be eaten in the large dining room, or on the balcony overlooking the formal gardens and the city of Prato in the distance.

We also had dinners by special arrangement, but I understand that is not usually offered. Our dinners were delicious four-course meals, and were representative of a different part of Italy each night. Even our meals were a learning experience, and Frank, an interesting teacher.

The villa has three families living there, all related. The rest of the villa is the bed and breakfast and farming operations. The structure itself, is a fortress-turned hotel, with a maze of floors and additions added through the centuries. There are no elevators. Handrails to the upper floors are ropes mounted into the stone walls. The rooms are huge, clean, picturesque, and comfortable, if a bit of an adventure to get to. The tower room, which has a loft, a fireplace, and it's own kitchenette, has a milliion dollar view. No air conditioning needed there. The open windows have enough wind coming through to power a small sailboat.

The grounds are beautiful, and worth taking the time to explore. The pool was a former ancient fish breeding pond, turned swimming pool in the 1970's, with cobblestone patio.

The villa is a ten minute drive from the Prato train station, but the road is a real adventure. It is a single, narrow lane, but two-way. Often, one car, or another has to back up to let the other pass. If you rent a car, be sure it is a very small one.

From the Prato train station, Florence is a quick trip with many trains a day. We stayed at the Villa and went on day trips to other cities, all within an hour by van or train: Pisa, Florence, Lucca, Carrara. The town of Prato, itself, has an impressive cathedral, and a local outdoor market every Monday where one can shop at non-tourist prices.

Frank, Francesca, and Vanessa will make your stay wonderful.

Room Tip: First floor room has a king bed, view of pool, some echo noise from lobby, but not bad. Tower room has 3 beds, fireplace and view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank actressteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews